We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the Best Tour Guide in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caput Regni Tours

Caput Regni Tours
Ranked #19 of 481 Tours in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Private guided tours run by Caput Regni team of fully-licensed, enthusiastic, friendly and knowledgeable Czech guides. Apart of General sightseeing tours around the city to discover the most famous Prague sights, we also specialize on popular Off-the-beaten track tours (Zizkov quarter, Vysehrad fortress, Troja chateau) and/or tours focused on a special topic (Jewish Museum tour, Architecture and contemporary street art tour, Communist legacy tour, Czech culture and Czech cuisine tour...etc). We focus on Tailor-made entertaining tours for families with children and young adults, too. We also arrange: Private day trips outside Prague. Private car/minivan transfers to European cities. Languages of tours: English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Probably the Best Tour Guide in Prague”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I did two specialized tours with Marketa. The first day we did the 20th Century Art Tour for 5 hours and the second day we did the Barogue Palace Troja Tour for 4 hours.
Marketa is an excellent tour guide. She is very Professional and I think it was the best decision that I made and I chose her as my tour guide.
Her English skills are excellent and her knowledge on everything that she is touring is outstanding. Marketa is not only an outstanding tour guide but she is also a very enjoyable person to spend time with and she is very enthousiastic about her job.
If I was going to rank her on the scale of 1-10 I will definitely give her a big 10.
If you need guide services for your trip in or around Prague Marketa should be your first choise. You cannot go wrong hiring Marketa I will definitely do next time that I'm in Prague.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_P_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
319 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this tour guide!!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We did a private tour of the Jewish sites of Prague with Marketa. It was one of the best decisions we made on our trip. She is an excellent tour guide! Her English skills are great and her knowledge of Prague's history, both Jewish and in general, are exceptional. Not to mention the fact that she is just an all around enjoyable person to spend time with. I can't believe that for just a small amount more than we would have paid for a group tour, we got Marketa's undivided attention for 4 hours. It was so well worth it.
In order to be a registered Tour guide of the Jewish museum, a person has to learn a huge amount of information and pass a rigorous test. We were impressed by how many very specific, small details she knew about so many subjects. She was also so generous in providing us with pamphlets/maps/etc.. to help us discover more about Prague.
You cannot go wrong hiring this guide. If we had known how good she was, we would have hired her for our first day in Prague, so we could have learned more about the history of the city and its people. Great city, great guide. We hold such fond memories of our visit!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bloomcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
“Review of Caput Regni Tour Services”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We recently had the priviledge of spending three days, in and around Prague, under the guiding services of Marketa. Needless to say, it was the highlight of our two week European expedition. Without getting into details of all the places we visited, whether it was the highlights of Prague or the dark depths of Kutna Hora, our family of four was kept fully engrossed and engaged by Marketa's vast array of knowledge and sincere desire to ensure even the youngest of our family (9yrs) was hungrily immersed. Above all, it is important to reflect that from a personal level, Marketa is honest, sincere, friendly, lively (I could go on and on)....just a truly warm individual in all manners of respect.

If you need guide services for your trip in or around Prague, Marketa should be your first choice.....period. But a friendly word of advice....be prepared to walk....Marketa loves to walk. Then again, walking is really the best way to appreciate the true character of Prague.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank bunnyrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Zizkov is much more than the eye can see.”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I have been in Praha several times and with out a guide. The guidebooks have been doing it well I thought. But it's just taking the top of the iceberg and will never go under your skin. This tour in Zizkov we had ended on top of Vitkov hill where there's an exhibition from world war 1 and forward. If we had to do it alone it wouldn't be the same. I highly recommend Marketa as your guide. She is very personal and her enthusiasm is great and will grow on you. After this you will hunger for more. Caput Regni is must for a guided tour and so are Zizkov area. Just have a ball.

Helpful?
Thank Toldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best decision we made in Prague!!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My husband, parents in law and I spent two days touring Prague with Marketa. The first day we did a 6 hour general Prague overview and the second day we focused on the Jewish Quarter. Having Marketa take us through the sites on our first day gave us a fantastic foundation for our 5 day stay.

Marketa did an amazing job on both days sharing information, history, stories about what we were seeing and giving us insight into every day life in Prague. She answered all of our questions and pointed out things that we'd missed. Her stories and pleasant style brought the city alive! We were able to relate to the sites and the history of Prague that would never have been possible were we touring on our own.

Marketa went above and beyond by sharing with us maps, guides and brochures which she tailored to our interests. This information and the discounts she shared were fantastic for helping us navigate the city during our remaining 3 days. She also built the tour based on information she gleaned from our conversations. I really appreciated her pointing out so many art nouveau elements in buildings as well as giving us more insight into the 30 Years War.

On day two we spent two hours in the Jewish Quarter, and again, gained insight and perspective into the exhibits in a way that would have been impossible without Marketa's knowledge and wonderful stories.

Do yourself the favour and engage Marketa to share Prague with you. You will walk away from the experience with an appreciation for this beautiful and magical city that you can't possibly get from guide books alone.

Thank you so much Marketa for making our first two days in Prague so much deeper than we could ever have had without you!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank veneziagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caput Regni Tours also viewed

 

Been to Caput Regni Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing