We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hostel in Prague!”
Review of Hostel Orange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Orange
Ranked #66 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Favorite hostel in Prague!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at 4 different hostels in Prague! hostel Orange wins hands down! The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, bathrooms are nice, the common area and kitchen are really nice. The rooftop area is awesome. Location is right in Wenceslas Square and couldn't be any better. Great value for what you pay! LOVED IT!

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelorange20, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Orange, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Dear Ryan D,
I think we can not even express how much this review means to us.
Especially, when you really can compare.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully also due to our central position! We are glad you liked the bed, your room, the common areas...
We hope you will visit us again soon in future!
Have a very nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    93
    30
    14
    5
See reviews for
3
23
57
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel Orange is in a PERFECT location right in Wenceslas Square; honestly could not have asked for a better spot. It is extremely well priced for what you get! The only complaints that I have is that it was very difficult to locate upon arrival as there is not a large/visible sign. The rooms are a little on the smaller side but there are large lockers available with locks and keys provided as well as a small towel. Would recommend staying here to friends looking for a perfect central location in Prague.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We were planning to take a cheap hostel (Arnd 4-6 Eur) in Prague when we were suggested by many friends to instead opt for Hostel Orange. Although it cost more (Around 10 Eur per person per night), it was totally worth it. The hostel has a phenomenal location, right in the center of Wenceslas Square (The main center of Prague) and is the only hostel in that location if I am not mistaken. There are infinite money changers, eateries and tourist attractions nearby. You can get to the Volta river (Charles Bridge / Prague Castle) in no time too. Praha Hlavni Nadrazi (The main train station) is a 5 minute walk.

The hostel has good bunk beds with quite soft linen. They have a decent kitchen with sofas where you can relax and enjoy the hostel atmosphere. They even have a computer which you can use for free in case you do not like working on WiFi on your smartphone.

The staff was extremely curteous and was one of the best we encountered in Europe. The Asian looking girl was quite cute :P

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerendipityIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelorange20, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Orange, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Dear SerendipityIndia,
thank you very much for your review.
We are most glad that your friends recommended you our hostel, and we are so happy you were satisfied!
I hope you could enjoy all the facilities, like the common area, common computer, the free wifi. Great to hear the staff were helpful and nice.
Hopefully, when you are in Prague again, we will welcome you at the check in desk for the second time!
Have a very nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Good hostel! Very clean and the girls at the reception are very nice and friendly. The restaurant downstairs is great, they give you a discount for staying at the orange hostel. The location is one of the best things because it's in the middle of Wenceslas Square.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gonz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostelorange20, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Orange, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Dear Gonz A,
thank you for your review!
We are glad you spent some time writing it.
Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness and our friendly staff. We are happy you used the discount at the restaurant downstairs and that you enjoyed our central location!
We hope to see you again soon at Hostel Orange!
Have a lovely day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Well the location its really good. But that´s the only thing good that thye have. The staff is really boring and they werent helpfull at any point. The rooms are very small and there are only one bathroom per floor, so everyone can imagine how much time someone needs to take to get a shower. Worst hostel I´ve ever been.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernardo Pancho A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

A friend and I arrived at hostel orange with no where to stay and luckily managed to get 2 beds for 3 nights without having to move rooms. It took is forever to try and find the place as it wasn't very well sign posted however once we got settled in it was probably one of my favourite places to stay!! It was so cheap and clean however the 16 bed dorms where very hot even in October.... 24 hr staff who were always happy to help and a small yet effective common room made it great for meeting new people. The hostel couldn't be anymore central with amazing links for sightseeing, bars, guided tours and so much more!! I would definitely go back to Hostel Orange for many reasons!! (Also our room smelled like orange.. Coincidence??)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Pros:
Excellent value
Excellent location

Cons:
Difficult to find (in a car)
Showers do not have a bar or rack in them

I stayed at the Hostel Orange for 3 nights - the first two in a 6-person mixed dorm and the third in a 12-person mixed dorm. Despite the foot traffic I was able to sleep fine with earplugs, however, if you draw a top bunk (beds are assigned at check-in) you will feel every twitch, squirm, and wiggle of the person below you.

The location is EXCELLENT - right on Wenceslas Square next to many 5-star places. The restaurant Balouna below is amazing and you get a 10% discount on the already-cheap prices just for being a hostel guest. Tram and subway lines are a 2-minute walk, and it's probably a 10-minute walk to the Old Town square. Just be advised that if you're driving, it's not right on the curb and the signage is easy to miss, especially at night. There is a parking garage about a 10-minute walk away that we used, and the price for that was 900 crowns/24 hours.

For the price I don't think you could beat it.

Room Tip: The 12-person dorms were actually more spacious and "homey" than the 6-persons, which were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Ananas
Hostel Ananas
#23 of 656 in Prague
314 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#74 of 656 in Prague
178 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#21 of 656 in Prague
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hostel Mango
Hostel Mango
#36 of 656 in Prague
294 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Miles
Hostel Miles
#158 of 656 in Prague
84 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#27 of 656 in Prague
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Orange

Property: Hostel Orange
Address: Vaclavske namesti 781/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Orange 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a qiute comfortable, cheap and just cool hostel right in the center of Prague - Hostel Orange is the right one place. It's the only hostel located right on a Wenceslas square in a beautiful historical house, so you won't need to use ANY public transportation and spend your money on that. Staying in Hostel Orange , you will be in the center of the commercial, cultural and historical area. All places of any kind of interest you can find around the hostel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing