We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Misleading Description”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malostranska Residence
Ranked #3 of 369 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Location, Misleading Description”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed here for my wife's 50th Birthday weekend - like another reviewer here we were taken in by the description on the website we booked through (booking.com) which states "All rooms enjoy views of Charles Bridge and Prague Castle." - well as you will see from the photo, no such jewels for us, and our "luxury apartment for two" was nothing of the sort - a small room (double bed and small table), kitchenette (3m x 1m max) and a standard shower room.

I complained at the hotel about the view - an internal brick wall not quite having the same architectural attraction of the promised Prague Castle - and was told that it was booking.com who had made this error - so I wrote to booking.com who say the description is supplied by the hotel! Both washed their hands of the whole thing and pointed squarely at each other. We also had no water one evening and there's nobody working after 6pm, and the satellite tv didn't work for our entire stay (no biggie but many promises to sort it and nobody did).

I wrote quite a favourable review on booking.com but mentioned the internal wall view and mysteriously my review disappeared after about a week.

On the plus side the location is good for the attractions you are supposed to be able to see from your "apartment" (small room) and the staff are friendly. People staying in much more expensive apartments seemed happy enough - so if you pay big money you seem to be looked after.

Room Tip: Pay more if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScunnerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    50
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
137
71
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

What can one add to the positive reviews of others who have had the pleasure of staying at this superb residence? We stayed 3 nights in the very spacious "Presidential" apartment and were highly impressed by the spotless modern renovation, the perfect location and the excellent staff (the receptionist, driver and maids were all extremely friendly and helpful). If you visit Prague and do not need an in-house restaurant, you could hardly do better than to stay in this absolutely faultless residence.

Room Tip: Choose a corner suite, as they have superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

The location is wonderful, situated near Charles Bridge. The views are of the Old Town where there is St. Nicholas Church. There is a tram station just across the road. The apartment had plenty of living space and was extremely clean. Most of our days were spent looking at the sites but it was nice to come in of an evening and just relax. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Beaware though that on a Friday night lots of youngsters go out so there is a fair bit of noise.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Absolutely faultless, fantastic location, 2mins from the Charles Bridge, spotlessly clean, large modern apartment and very helpful staff - would definitely recommend for any visit to Prague.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murdo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

This apartment was recently renovated and offers huge living space. Very clean and a good kitchen on offer. The receptionists are very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect and the views of the town were nice. I would suggest they need darker / thicker curtains to block out light and noise as it is very noisy at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegItAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

the location of the place is as excellent u can ask for . the aprtments are pretty big . the residence is just near all the old town attractions including the chapel bridge and is looking just opposite the famous clock tower.

there are plenty of cafes in the sarrounding area .the tram station is just across the area and the metro just atram station away.

Negatives: 1. the lift is very small and it needs at least two trips to get your luggage in place
2. the main supermarket Tesco is al liitle far by walking .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We booked well in advance (2 months) through Booking.com and 10 days before our departure (scheduled for Easter time) we got a call telling us that they were overbooked and had to cancel our reservation without giving us any another solution.
Booking.com also did not help us. They told us to wait for the hotel to do something about it but nothing happened. Finally 2 days before our departure Booking.com suggested an hotel. It was far from the city center and cheaper, so neither Booking.com nor Malostranska Residence would lose money. A very disappoining experience.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Piero S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malostranska Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malostranska Residence

Property: Malostranska Residence
Address: Malostranske Namesti 24/38, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 369 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malostranska Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation in Prague at Residence Malostranska offers the highest accommodation standard in the very heart of historic Prague. The Residence is located close to the river Vltava, Charles Bridge and other beautiful bridges at the distance of 5-10 mins walk. We have three types of suites available: Presidential Suite (160m2) for your absolute comfort, the smaller Executive Suite (55 – 120m2) and our cosy Deluxe Suite (25 – 30m2). You will not find more luxurious accommodation in all of Prague. All of our suites are equipped with luxurious stylish furniture, kitchen and accessories, Jacuzzi and LCD TVs.The suites look out onto the quiet streets of the historic centre of Prague. The Deluxe suite looks out onto the Charles Bridge, and the Executive suite offers a view of the St. Nicholas Cathedral, Lesser Town Square and the beautifully-lit Prague Castle. The Presidential Suite offers a view from two balconies, one of which you can sit on and sip a glass of wine and enjoy the magnificence of Prague Castle, on the second balcony you can watch the busy traffic on the Charles Bridge.We are pleased to serve even the most demanding guests and offer them home-like atmospthere in the heart of Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malostranska Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malostranska Residence Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing