We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst tours I've ever taken - I would give it a 0 rating if I could!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Gray Line Prague

Gray Line Prague
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.52*
and up
Full-Day Prague Tour with Vltava River Cruise, Prague Castle and Lunch
Ranked #152 of 481 Tours in Prague
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With Gray Line Prague you have an excellent opportunity to learn something about Prague, its history, monuments and the most famous places in the Czech Republic. Our professional guides are able to perform all of our Prague tours in 6 languages (English, French, Spanish, German, Italian and Russian). We can also offer you tickets to boat cruises along the Vltava River. Don't miss the opportunity to visit one of the most beautiful cities in Europe through our Prague tours! We also offer Prague airport transfers and group transportation services.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst tours I've ever taken - I would give it a 0 rating if I could!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We did two tours and wasted 1.5 days of our time in Prague, not to mention the money. Unprofessional tour guides - poor grooming, rude, uninformative, questionable English proficiency. The tours were bilingual - 15 English speakers and 2 Italians, the other 8 English and 2 Spanish. The Italians/Spanish basically got a private tour, most of the English speakers didn't hear what was said (The guides' Italian and Spanish were better than their English). One guide told us when and where to meet and then disappeared. The other nothing more than this-is-this-building, this-is-that-building. The only building we entered was St. Vitus Cathedral where we stood in the entrance for about 3 minutes. Most of the tour was walking, though this was not advertised for the tour we booked. Didn't even get to everything advertised on the tour - the guide stopped for a ½ hour coffee and cake break while about 10 of us waited. Save your money and take the ALL INCLUSIVE tours. We cancelled Gray Line and went with them - best decision of our trip after the worst decision!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MurrayFromEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLinePrague, Director of PR at Gray Line Prague, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Customer,
It´s very tough to write something what could be calm down your disappointment from your visit in the Czech Republic. From our side there is no excuses because it was absolutely unprofessional behavior from our guide and we are responsible for them. I do not want to argue against your sentences step by step because globally your review is very unpleasant for us but what I would like to say that we have terminated our cooperation with guides who are not able to work on the professional level and spread a good name of our company. Wish you all the best and hope we will have other opportunities to show you our better and higher level of our business. Kind regards, Karel / Gray Line Czech Republic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    65
    33
    64
    157
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
137 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Grey Line Ghost Tour”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Took the Grey Line tour with Peter. Only 1 other couple with us. He followed the legends written in the "77 Legends of Prague" book that we later bought and enjoyed reading. Peter was very knowledgeable and loved his city, Prague. He took us all over Old Town, the Charles Bridge, Mala Strana, The John Lennon Wall, and back. All from 7-10pm at night. Not scary, per se, but more historical legends. Our 10 year old daughter wasn't scared at all and liked it. Not for those under 9 or 10, I'd say, as there is about 4-5k of walking at night.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryLeeStenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLinePrague, Director of PR at Gray Line Prague, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your very positive review. We very appreciative that you found a time and write a couple lines about your experience in Prague. I wish you all the best in new year and looking forward to seeing you in Prague again. Kind regards, Karel / Gray Line Czech Republic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worst tour ever”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Booked the golden city tour . Spent hours stuck in traffic looking at sides of trams and bigger buses. Guide was awful. Garbled commentary entirely out of synch with where we were. Kept complaining about other drivers and saying we should pray. Said we had to rush around cathedral as we were out of time. Didn't see inside anything. Then she stopped and had a cup of tea while we all stood there. Young guy on boat gave much better commentary but canal was closed so we missed out on part of tour. Not their fault bit we should have been told ahead of time or given a discount .

Walk around by yourself with a guidebook. This tour is a total waste of time and money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AvrilN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLinePrague, Director of PR at Gray Line Prague, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Customer, thank you for your review. Unfortunately, it wasn't positive for us but on the other hand it gives us a real feedback of our work. We have to do a maximum for our clients´ satisfaction . Wish you all the best. Kind regards / Gray Line Czech Republic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“rude, non-informative and terrible”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband was participating in a conference in Prague and we had to be flexible planning our tours. Therefore, when the knew our schedules, we went the easy way and let the hotel call at the last minute to arrange the tour. They picked a company that would pick us up at the hotel, which was nice. But the guide on this tour was terrible. Her English was bad, but she also did not observe general tour guide etiquette, like getting the group together before giving her spiel and pausing between the English and German versions. And the spiel was nothing more than I could have gotten from a pamphlet. The 'three course lunch' was awful...some sort of really red, uncooked meat, followed by mystery meat and lumpy mashed potatoes, and a tiny, tiny scoop of chocolate ice cream. The highlight was the boat tour where she stayed on land and the guide for the boat company was in charge. He was very good. Then it was back to her. I asked a German in the party and he said her German was a bad as her English. Soured my whole opinion of Prague.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLinePrague, Director of PR at Gray Line Prague, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Customer, thank you for your review on this portal. It was really unpleasant to read these lines but I really appreciate every honor review. Well, I will contact the hotel and deal with them about the quality of lunch. Due to a reason that there is no mentioned date of tour, I will try to recognize our guide and check all your complaints regarding languages. Dear Customer, I deeply apologize you that you were not enough satisfied and I hope that we will have other opportunity to show you our profession level. Kind regards, Karel / Gray Line Czech Republic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I booked a return hotel transfer from the airport to Prague's Old Town via Expedia. I was very pleased with the service in both directions. The drivers were friendly and the transport was comfortable. At the airport I had to wait 15 minutes and then I had a private car that took me directly to my hotel. On the way back the driver was there only 5 minutes after the time I'd requested and again I was taken to the airport quickly and arrived there in plenty of time. I would use this service again next time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DawnEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLinePrague, Director of PR at Gray Line Prague, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Customer, thank you very much for your review. It was our pleasure to provide this service and we very glad that you were satisfied with our car and driver. Wish you all the best. Kind regards, Karel / Gray Line Czech Republic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gray Line Prague also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing