We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Ranked #4 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Very wonderful hotel with exquisite rooms with old world charm. Staff was genuinely everhelpful and friendly. I stayed for 5 nights with my wife. Was indeed a lovely stay. In the middle of old Prague. Close to to most attractions yet quiet.. Highly recommend it...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chetan_Abhivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am truly glad to read it, as it always brings me joy to know that our guests have enjoyed their vacation to the fullest.
I hope we will get to welcome you at our hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
265
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 755 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

TA HOTEL REVIEW # 227

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences.

LOCATION: Excellent location on a very quiet street (probably difficult to find a quiet street in Prague). A little removed from the main tourist area as we were constantly walking 15-20 minutes to ‘old town’ every day for dinner/sites. It was nice to come back to a quiet place in the evening.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: We took a 4 hour train from Bratislava and then used the hotels free transportation for a 15 minute ride to the hotel.

TYPE OF ROOM: Standard.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed was comfortable but not as good as a ‘heavenly bed’. Linens were of high quality.

LIGHTING: Very good lighting in bedroom and bathroom. Elegant chandelier in the bedroom was a great touch.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Bathroom was a bit small (and we were told we had at the largest standard room in the hotel. Shower was also small and water temperature was a bit inconsistent.

TOILETRIES: Very high quality.

CLEANLINESS: Hotel is spotless except around the breakfast area where dirty plates were not picked up at many tables.

A/C: Worked very well and was quiet.

STYLE OF ROOM: Great! Very charming although the colors used were not my preference (but they restored the hotel to all the original details of the house).

COMMON AREA: Beautiful common area that is better than the pictures on line but not really a place that I would choose to hang out as it’s a bit formal. Couches don’t look very inviting. Breakfast balcony is nice to eat outside but the view is only of rooftops that are higher than your vantage point so not much to see (the castle is visable in the distance but I wouldn’t say it is a good view).

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room is very quiet and all morning light could be blocked with curtains.

FOOD: Breakfast was OK and I would have expected better from an 8 room hotel. Items were left out all day (fruit in the windowsill with the sunlight directly on them). Why have a buffet when there are only 8 rooms? How about menus or just tell them what you want. They would prepare pancakes (crepes), eggs, and oatmeal if desired. There were dirty plates everywhere both days and it was under staffed. We would wait sometimes a very long time for staff to come, clean a table, and take our order. Wine and cheese at night is a nice touch but if you come near closing time, expect the items to be picked through and no one around to provide any service.

TV/INTERNET: TV is of good size (we didn’t use). Internet is free and of good speed.

SERVICE: Very mixed feelings here. All staff were incredibly nice but just don’t know how to provide excellent service. From dirty plates on the table and staff not around at breakfast or at the wine/cheese, it was disappointing. Staff also told us some wrong information that cost us 130 euros and they did nothing other than provide an extended checkout. Service here is really bad for such a small hotel… good thing the people are nice. In addition our room was not cleaned one entire day and there is no turn down service at night.

SUMMARY: Great location, very nice rooms (although probably not the right style for a younger couple) with friendly staff that don’t know how to provide good service. Would get a 5th star on TA if the service was good. With so many great hotels in Prague at a much lower price, I would suggest exploring options prior to booking a room at this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the room that is next to the breakfast area so it will be more quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write this evaluation of your stay with us.
We appreciate your feedback and are grateful for pointing out some of the shortcomings and omissions you encountered during your stay with us. We are always willing to address any issue a client points out or feels like needs attention.

We hope to welcome you back at the hotel on your next visit, and I’m very positive that your next stay will be to your expectations.

Warm regards,
Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hidden jewel tucked between Parliment and the Prague Castle is now considered a top three hotel stay of my life. We spent three amazing days and nights with our two children 11 and 17 at this seven suite hotel that opened in early 2012. I hesitate to write this review as we intend to return and could be ruining one of Europe's new hidden secrets and future availability. Our two middle floor suites with full baths, amazing linens, great natural lighting, fresco wood beam ceilings, were adjoined by a common living room available to all guests. Each suite included amazing antiques, art and meticulous details. The mansion was renovated over the past few years by an Italian gentleman as a private residence, however his relationship with the Alchymist Hotel led to it's conversion to this ideally located hotel. From the wonderful reception by Lucie each day, the entire staff was ready and eager to assist with making our stay so special. Our stay was so comfortable. Located on a quiet street a block from the castle front steps and 5 to 7 minutes from the St. Charles Bridge your couldn't ask for more! thank you for the wonderful couple days and look forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: all seven rooms are unique and special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review, I and the staff appreciate it very much. It was a pleasure having you at our hotel and we truly hope to see you back soon. I am truly glad to hear that Alchymist Prague Castle Suites made it to the "top 3 Hotel of your life", this is what makes all the hard work worth it.

Warm regards,

Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We spent in this hotel two weeks and feeled ourselves like at home. Brilliant location (near the famous Cathedral, Karlov Bridge and one of the best restaurant in the city), friendly staff, comfortable rooms, excellent bathrooms. We hope to visit Prague next time and will definitly stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms in the Hotel and all of them are very comfortable, all of them are suites (se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria_Moscow_Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I was so pleased that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. I have passed on your very kind words to the great team I have here and do hope that you visit us once again very soon.

Kind regards,
Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The location (near the castle) was great, and the service was excellent. It's located in a quiet neighborhood below the castle and would definitely stay at the Alchymist Castle Suites again. The room as large and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uncvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am truly glad to read it that our guests have enjoyed their vacation to the fullest.
I hope we will get to welcome you at our hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Having stayed in many hotels in many countries , every so often you find a gem. The Alchymist Castle Suites Hotel is certainly one. There are many outstanding features, from the beautiful, painstakingly restored rooms with a wonderful bathroom and comfortable bed to terrific period furniture . However the stand out feature is the staff.
Unfailingly pleasant and attentive, they clearly know what ultimately defines the great experience. They really do care about you and how you enjoy your visit. That i can mention Lucie , Vito, Joseph, Tye and George easily tells you a lot about the involvement and impact they have on your stay. ( Note to the owner Mr Bonelli, impressive staff selection process ).
The location is ideal as it is the quieter area amongst the embassies but just a 10 minute walk to anywhere significant.
For the standard of the suites and the staff it is excellent value. I rarely do reviews but i can recommend this hotel to you without reservation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grantlee-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review. I am very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us as much as you did, and it was our pleasure having you at our hotel. We will be more than happy to welcome you back on your next trip to Prague. Thank you for having mentioned the name of the hotel owner, the head of all the ideas, the creator of the whole concept, and it is truly rewarding to hear so many positive comments towards the hotel itself and the staff. Thank you for mentioning also other team member names, my dearest colleagues, and it is a pleasure to hear that they were so kind and helpful to you during your trip. We always try to create a friendly home from home atmosphere in the hotel and I was delighted that we met your expectations in all departments with our service and attention to details. As always I have passed on your kind comments on to my great team here at the hotel.


Warm regards,
Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I had very nice time in this hotel,every thing was great ,staff tried their best to make our stay wonderful .
We hope to visit Prague again & stat in same hotel or other hotel which belonge to same group.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliraqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 649 in Prague
1,745 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,635 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,093 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Prague Castle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Prague Castle Suites

Property: Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Address: Snemovni 164/8, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Prague Castle Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, located in a sensational historical mansion in the Malá Strana (Lesser Quarter) in Prague, provides you with the possibility of experiencing something truly unique and exclusive. This privately owned historical mansion, with the intriguing name of "At the Turk's Head," has been lovingly restored to suit a brand new concept of luxury accommodation in Prague. It is therefore with the utmost pleasure that we present you with the following invitation: You are hereby invited to become personal guests of the owner, Giorgio Bonelli, and to enjoy a stay in this magnificent 15th-century mansion, featuring 8 suites, a music room, library, fireplace room, spa and enjoying the services of a private butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Alchymist Prague Castle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing