We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and priceworthy hotel”
Review of Hotel Otakar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Otakar
Ranked #472 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Elegant and priceworthy hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Otakar in July, 2013.
Overall our impression was that this was a very nice hotel considering the price: 3 nights in a double room including breakfast for 93€.

We found the hotel to be elegantly styled in a nice and genuinely local area, which was nice to come back to after a day in the "touristy" centre of the city.
It is easily accessible by tram and it is possible but slightly time consuming to walk there (30-40 minutes).
The reception was open around the clock and the staff was very service-minded and knowledgeable of the city.
The breakfast was simple but sufficient.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanna_Pejer_Hedlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    78
    74
    35
    21
See reviews for
34
92
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Booked a stag weekend for 12 guys. We was allocated this hotel through our travel company and was worried what we would find based on others reviews. On arrival we was greeted by a multilingual receptionist, booked in very fast considering there was 12 of us in 5 different rooms.

Whenever we had any enquiries with anything from, booking a taxi, organising a Go-Karting day, recommended bars and restaurants and eating at 4am after a drinking session, the hotel staff was able to go above and beyond.

At reception, you are able to get food and drinks 24 hours a day. We did not use the tram service as it only worked out to 200CK to get a taxi into Downtown or the Old Town, even in the early hours of the morning we only paid 350CK, this was for the cab, not each person.

Some parts of the building may have seen better days, but when you're visiting such a beautiful city, even on a stag do, you only really need the room to change, sleep and shower.

As previously mentioned, I cannot praise the staff high enough. They really made organising activities and transport so easy for myself (group leader).

Yes the lift is a bit slow, Yes the railing on the stairs is a bit wobbly, BUT it is safe and secure with no curfew and 24 hour manned reception to control access.

We all had a brilliant time in Prague and we are all very grateful the way we was looked after from the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear of the hotel are not facing the road or tram stops. Although I stayed in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jump-n-Spin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for three nights and found the hotel clean, tidy and convenient for the tram into the city. The reception staff were more helpful and friendly than most. Breakfast was somewhat basic but edible and overall the stay was good value for money

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and had no issues with temperature or noise other reviews have ment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Noise from the tram required some time to get over or adjust to.
I stayed here for three nights thinking it was art deco and very near to the city.
This is not true.
There were a lot of youngsters watching football on the first night I stayed. Noisy buy fun.
It's not that bad, really, for it's price. But a little small.
But if you can get better rates nearer to the touristy spots, do that instead. Not a business hotel.

Room Tip: You can get A/C for EUR10 a night. It can be quite hot depending on the season. Rmbr this bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didieshuhaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We got sent to this hotel as our holiday supplier made a cock up with our original hotel and it was awful! It looks nice from the outside and the reception but we were given a room at the top floor which was facing the main road so it was very hot (particularly at night) and noisy. It also had a perculiar smell every time you walked in you would get a whiff of it.

When we first arrived and was given our key the room was very basic and it had 2 single beds pushed together (even though had requested a double) and the furniture was pretty wrecked (I could pick up a whole table with one hand, felt was made out of cardboard!) and paint peeling off the walls. The bathroom and the light by the door was not working and as there was no window in the bathroom it was pitch black. We went down to reception to tell them it was not working and they said would fix it the next day (which they did) but still had to use our phones as torches the first night. There was a bed side lamp which looked like was falling apart and the lamp also stopped working after 2 nights.

Most the staff were friendly and helpful except for one lady which we had asked for extra pillows was not happy to give us the extra pillows as she said they were meant for someone else! I also requested a hair dryer which when I went to use it didn't work so I had to wait until people checked out to use a hairdryer.

The breakfast was the worst! I wouldn't serve it to prisoners! They had a selection of meats & cheese which looked like been out for ages and baskets full of very hard stale bread! The first morning they had no toaster but luckily they had put one in for the rest of the stay, was a bit of a queue to using it as only a 2 piece toaster and a lot of guests. The only thing that was remotely edible was the cheap versions of cereal which they had (a selection of nesquik and what looked like bran flakes). The coffee was horrible and from a machine and the 'fruit juice' was like very weak squash. The tables weren't cleaned after other people using them so you wouldn't sit to a clean table.

Luckily we had great weather most the week but the last night it rained and when we were walking to the breakfast area in the morning there was buckets and wet patches and towels everywhere left to soak up water but was so drenched there was puddles around them. Luckily our room didn't leak!

The only good thing I'd say about the hotel is the rooms were fairly clean and the tram stops were very local. But I definately recommend spending a bit more and stay somewhere better!

Room Tip: If you decide to stay at this hotel then make sure you request a room at the back of the hotel so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

As in previous reviews it states of problems with sewage, unfortunately true!
Happened twice in two nights!!
Location - 15/20 mins outside Centre of Prague by #24 tram.
Accomodation - our bedroom #5 was biggest out of 4 other rooms, beds were tired wooden.
I would presume a cheap place to stay but i didnt make the reservation.
Receptionist were all helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieranpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for one night and it was very nice & comfertable we had a good stat there. The service staff are really nice friendly. So i can recommend anyone when they go there that's really nice and straight to the hotel there is a Tram which takes only 10 Minutes to get to the center of the prague.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roman-barekzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#346 of 649 in Prague
327 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#318 of 649 in Prague
729 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Wertheim
Hotel Wertheim
#438 of 649 in Prague
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 6
Hotel Marketa
Hotel Marketa
#371 of 649 in Prague
111 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#347 of 649 in Prague
185 reviews
Praha 8
Residence Casa Italia
Residence Casa Italia
#395 of 649 in Prague
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Otakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Otakar

Property: Hotel Otakar
Address: Otakarova 287/3, Prague 140 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #472 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Otakar 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Otakar (formerly The Merlin) is a lovely, cosy, family hotel close to the historical centre of Prague. The architecture is beautiful, a typical local character style building situated in the centre zone of Prague and walking distance of Vysehrad, the Congress Centre, and 4 tram stations to the Museum and Wenceslav square. This charming hotel offers elegant decor, a restaurant& bar, sauna, friendly staff and spacious modern bedrooms. Nearby there are plenty of local restaurants, an internet-cafe and entertainment venues. Booking into the Otakar Hotel gives you a great location and comfort in style. Free WIFI, Lobby bar open 24 hours, Internet corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Otakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing