We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Foodie MUST!”
Review of Sansho

Sansho
Ranked #61 of 5,422 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Foodie MUST!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

As a wine importer in the US, I have traveled and eaten all over the world. This was one of the best restaurants I've been to. The decor is minimalist but tasteful and charming in its own rite. The food was carefully crafted and executed and the service was fantastic. The prices were reasonable and the wine list was great! Make a reservation in advance!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rp426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    115
    29
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing meal with a difference”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This lived up to everything other reviews had made it to be. Slightly off the beaten track in the Jewish Quarter, but a pleasant walk from the Old Town. The restaurant was fully booked but we got to our table on time. Staff were really helpful in moving 2 tables together to give our party of 4 the room they felt we needed for the banquet to follow. Although you eat whatever is on the menu for the day, there was chance to request dislikes or allergies.
6 sharing starters one after the other were all made to make taste buds explode. we tried things we wouldn't normally have done, namely whole soft shell crab; it was amazing, as was the main course of beef and venison and the sharing dessert.
Lovely staff and ambience. We would all definitely recommend this place on a trip to Prague.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newcyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow... Must try”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We picked this restaurant based on reviews on trip advisor and I have to say we weren't disappointed. The food was amazing. When we walked in first we were a bit surprised by the venue as it's quiet bare. However the good speaks for itself. Worth a visit if your in Prague... We'll be back again.

Helpful?
Thank Trixieire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
141 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Second visit, different opinion”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

After exactly one year I visited Sansho for the second time. First time I was super excited about every dish, second time I was a bit disappointed: 4 out of 6 dishes + dessert were the same as one year ago. I still enjoyed them (loved them), but I was hoping for more creativity of the chef. Isn't that what great cooking is all about? Inventing new, different dishes, surprising the guests with new tastes? I will go back, but only if they change their menu. Restaurant attract lots of 'foodies' now: many people were taking pictures and wanted to shake hands with the owner. Made me laugh.

Helpful?
Thank Femmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Nice place in Prague 1, we managed to walk in without a reservation but if you want to try it, it's a good idea to book a table as we had previously been turned away when we wanted to try it. The crab sliders are incredible!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank homesicklessness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sansho also viewed

 

Been to Sansho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing