We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tastes But Limited”
Review of Sansho

Sansho
Ranked #53 of 5,507 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Tastes But Limited”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The fusion food here is very interesting and makes dining at Sansho more of an experience. There are a number of courses, but the menu is set and the price is fair if not a little high. Great to try though if you are in Prague for a little while, but maybe not worth rushing to on your first day.

Helpful?
Thank MarioK92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    121
    29
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Unforgettable experience"”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Everything was just awsome. We went there to celebrate my birthday and we really enjoyed it. The taste of the all courses what we had, just amazing. We tried the degust menu and we could not believe how everything was so tasty and in harmony.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique Asian Fusion”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Went here with my wife in June in our first night in Prague and had a very interesting dining experience. The food is Asian fusion and each of the courses we had were very tasty and had unique flavor combinations - citrus and spice with asian flair. Food pictures are attached but in summary we had both fish and meat courses.

We also met the owner and he was extremely friendly. I happen to order a beer i didnt like (not a huge beer person overall) and he it took away from me right away, no charge, and had the waiter ask me what i would like instead, which to me shows EXCELLENT service. Overall, I would say it was definitely a break from traditional Czech food and would recommend this restaurant for those that appreciate interesting flavor combinations.



Overall we thought the First off they have an open kitchen concept with large pieces of the cow hanging in the windows which adds to the decor of the restaurant. They also give you a diagram of a cow and the descriptions of each part and their characteristics (tenderness, flavor, etc)

As for the food - real solid. We ordered two appetizers and two entrees (pictures attached) and everything was very solid. The tartar was fantastic and our steaks were cooked perfectly medium rare. Overall would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moogie822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“London in Prague via the East”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

An ex butcher come to Prague and puts in place something new. Growing his own meat, butchering it and preparing it in an asian fusion way. Getting the details right and charging a high price for it, but a price that is worth paying. Something that cannot be said for many of the upmarket restaurants in Prague. Friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. Limited menu of things that can do well but always a few surprise additions to keep us coming back.
Even his beer is sourced wisely

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strunkovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant with so many surprises”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I went here with a few friends, one of which informed me she was "fussy" on the way to the restaurant, so with the 6 course set menu, I was a little worried.

However, Sansho served surprise after surprise of dishes and combinations we would never have chosen alone but were each absolutely stunning!

Be brave and try Sansho for yourself and you won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sansho also viewed

 

Been to Sansho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing