We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evening classical concerts also held here - VERY GOOD!”
Review of Artbanka Museum of Young Art - CLOSED

Artbanka Museum of Young Art
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tue - Sun 9 am - 7 pmA Museum dedicated to young contemporary art with its presentation of the most leading figures of Czech art from the generation starting '68, as well as prominent representatives of the youngest generation of Czech and Slovak artists. The art is exhibited in the baroque palace, Colloredo-Mansfeld, with its space that offers astounding evidence of the construction work performed under the Communist regime on the historic monuments.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Evening classical concerts also held here - VERY GOOD!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

A wonderful location for a classical concert by the Royal Czech Orchestra ...being the historic dance hall of the Colloredo Mansfeld palace with the famous ceiling, where Milos Forman filmed in 1980 Oscar winning Amadeus and where Mozart performed himsel

OK - not actually a full orchestra, but a string group (5 guys + a soloist for Vivaldi's Four Seasons) presumably all from an official Orchestra (?) played a solid 70 mins of excellent quality Bach, Mozart, Vivaldiy, Beethoven, Bizet, Smetana and Dvorak - they clearly knew these pieces inside out and cared about the way it was played!

The sound filled the room thanks to good acoustics and the lighting in the hall made it an ethereal event - though the seating was a touch spartan and would be harsh if you dont have much padding!

A really great night - but book the day before to get between 100 and 200 Kc off the official price!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrSibbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    6
    2
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a breath of fresh air !!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Wandering down the lane way just off the Charles bridge , immersed in everything fabulously old, look to your right through an arch and you might see , four massively over scaled firearms pointed at each other. Welcome to a genuine Museum of Modern Art beautifully juxtaposed in a crumbling Hapsburg Mansion. This is what the youth of Czech Republic want to say to their elders "stuff you and you're old , we are the future ".

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindbern2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
253 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Edgy art in an old dilapidated palace.”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This is definitely not for everyone. There are a few large pieces in the courtyard that you can see without paying the admission fee. My husband found this very interesting. Most of the works seemed to be by students, a few pieces by faculty. I found only a few pieces of interest, and the rest to be pretty much amateurish (probably not the right word, but I just don't consider piles of trash to be art, sorry). The building as falling apart, and you wander and up three very long flights of stairs (twice as it isn't possible to walk between the two halves of the old palace except at ground level). If you like to see what students are doing, this is worth going to. Otherwise, skip it. Entry is through the passageway just across the street from the Charles Bridge.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank metaligenics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent to visit but dont make it your Highlight”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I went there like many others when Part C of the exhibit was under construction so we could only visit A & B. The building is not in excellent condition but the whole point of the Museum is that it is used as an oppertunity for young unkown and unpaid artists to have a space to present their works without having to pay to exhibit their work.

The entrance fee isnt much and its for a good cause. Its not very long and some pieces are better than others. I wouldnt say it was the highlight of my trip nor would i go out of the way to visit it but it was entertaining for the time we were there. For the price, it deserved 4 stars.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Avoid avoid avoid!”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Save your money. The best part of this exhibition are David Cerny's Handguns outside, which is free to see. Pretty much every other piece in this gallery (if you can call a disued squat of a building a gallery) is poorly displayed, poorly signed, dreadfully executed and sparse to say the least. As one other reviewer put it, this is not a matter if taste, but a matter of awful skills and dated context and subject matter. At least half of the exhibiton was shut 'for technical reasons', which we were not told when buying our tickets. In addition, when we offered some friendly advice to staff, we were treated with hostility (including swearing) and disinterest. I would suggest going ANYWHERE ELSE in Prague rather than here. And this seems to be the opinion consistent with the other reviewers too.

Helpful?
Thank docemmettbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Artbanka Museum of Young Art also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing