We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charles Bridge Economic Hostel
Ranked #4 of 691 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here for four nights.We booked the Deluxe, ensuite 3 bed attic apartment. It is a lovely place to stay, as it is freshly decorated, and with a window over the street almost onto Charles Bridge. The murmur of voices from the street was pleasant. The ensuite and kitchen were well laid out, roomy and clean.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and served up free teas and coffees whenever asked to do so, as well as information about the city.
We would definitely recommend this hostel, (which was also very reasonably priced).

Room Tip: The attic private room is lovely. Our friend was in a 6 bed dorm, and was happy with his accomodatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

The hostel staff couldn't be more helpful! They were all lovely and couldn't do enough to help. They also offered a range of benefits for people staying with them from free coffee to tours.

The hostel is in the perfect location to get to all of the major sites in Prague 1; not only this but the hostel was extremely well decorated, with beautiful ceilings and open plan bedrooms.

My only bad thing to say is that the walls aren't very sound proof and therefore the rooms can be very noisy if you're sharing an apartment, or if your room faces the main road, this can affect sleeping conditions for those who are light sleepers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachaelVLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

This is a hostel which is affordable and has many perks such as the location, friendly staff always willing to help us, free bottled water, coffee tea, hot choc and clean facilities.

It is located at the castle side of charles brisge which makes the castle (15 mins), old town (~15 mins stroll) new town and jewish quarter extremely accesible! We didnt have to take the metro at all! When I wanted to take pictures of charles bridge at dawn, I simply popped out of the hostel, took lots of photos on the bridge and went back to the hostel and continued sleeping, it was so convenient!

The staff was very friendly and accomodating of us. We had a briefing and one guy showed us the good money changer near the hostel with good rates and bohemian bagel (the hostel provides 6euro vouchers for the breakfast set at this cafe which is a good deal!). We could also buy from the nearby bakery in the supermart and go back to the hostel to drink free tea, coffee or hot choc. They also offer free walking tours at 6pm and they also recommended the sandemann free walking tour at 2pm which we joined. The ghost and legend tour (which cost 150czk i think?) is also free for the hostel guests!

We stayed in the deluxe 4 bed room which was awesome! We had our own toilet, a sofa, our own kitchen with cooking equipment, toaster, boiler, tv with a dvd player as well as 4 single beds (yay to no more bunk beds!) in a spacious room. The toilet drainage system was a little noisy and the temperature of the shower tends to fluctuate but this was not much of a problem we enjoyed our stay very much! There is also no lift so we struggled a little with our luggages but my friends who went earlier had the staff help them with the luggages so this is not a problem either!

Overall a great hostel, would recommend it to my friends for sure when they travel to prague!

3  Thank boonyuru
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

I've made several trips to Europe and stayed in multiple hostels and this is by far the best hostel i've stayed in. The hostel reception's wall was adorned with multiple awards the hostel had gathered over the years.

The hostel ppl were extremely helpful and friendly. The hostel location was unbeatable. And there were many perks to boot: free walking tours (they hired really experienced tour guides to do this for us); free ghost walking tour; discounts off many attractions and day trip tours; free coffee, tea, hot chocolate and bottled water; you can borrow their guidebooks and locks for free as well.

We stayed in a 7 bed girls dorm. The rooms were simple, clean and heated. Each bed came with a cupboard and a lock and 2 drawers at the foot of your bed. Came with a bathroom with 2 showers that were spacious.

And you've gotta meet Wifi, the first cat that i actually adore.

Will def recommend this place.

2  Thank Joliehwee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 April 2013

FAB fab fab! Some of the nicest, helpful staff I've ever come across - definately in hostels! Super central location, everything on hand, rooms etc to a really high standard, lots of discounts/freebies (who knew segways were so much fun!?) Will definately be staying again - what are you waiting for!? Book it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKelly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I do not usually use hostels, but looking to save money I booked in for two days here after reading the reviews.

Very glad I did - the staff were genuinely warm, welcoming & helpful, the rooms were great (I stayed in a mixed dorm of six) and the other residents quiet & respectful.

I will definitely return with some other friends from England & book a private dorm - this place is the best!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalirious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I would totally recommend this hostal. The location is perfect, 20 steps away (literally) from Charles Bridge, many nice places to eat around and the best part is that the hostel is also a tourist information center, so you have discounts in almost every activity if you book it there, and they offer free tours trough the city that are really good.
The staff is the nicest i have ever known, they really want you to feel comfortable and they offered coffee, tea, bottled water every time they see you.

I went with other 2 persons, and every tour we took from the hostal was really personal and fun, specially the seway tour, which was incredibly fun and the tour guide (i think his name was Mark) took us in a route that stopped twice for drinks, it was really really fun, i would totally recommend it.

The rooms are very comfortable, the bathrooms very clean, and you even have a common room that you share with other room where you can see movies, read, etc.

5/5, excellent hostal, best i've ever been.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fasfura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#3 of 691 in Prague
432 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#10 of 691 in Prague
793 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#6 of 691 in Prague
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Sophie's Hostel
Sophie's Hostel
#12 of 691 in Prague
200 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Post Hostel Prague
Post Hostel Prague
#8 of 691 in Prague
186 reviews
Praha 7
Sir Toby's Hostel
Sir Toby's Hostel
#13 of 691 in Prague
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Bridge Economic Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Bridge Economic Hostel

Address: Mostecka 4/53 | 118 00 Praha 1 - Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 691 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £18 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small charming hostel right in the very heart of historic centre of Prague, located literally right at the Charles Bridge, you can't stay more central. We offer tourist accommodation in recently remodeled and fully furnished apartments. All the rooms are equipped with a kitchen, TV and everything you should need during your stay. Tourist Information Centre in the lobby serves as a reception. We have great LAVAZZA coffee free for our guests and unlimited! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Charles Bridge Economic Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing