We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great City Centre Boozer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of U Hrocha

U Hrocha
Ranked #588 of 5,367 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Czech, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Hradcany & Letna
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Great City Centre Boozer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a great little city centre, basic, old-fashioned, boozy, locals, type pub, not set up for tourists or for smart food or posing or messing about in. As being British we (wife, 18 yr old son + self) loved it. Got beers from the bar using as much Czech as I could, which raised a smile, not least from the beer-drinking off-work British Embassy staff next to me . Found 3 seats to squeeze into by some locals who immediately started chatting to us. Several cheap beers (mostly passed to us over heads after merely waving at the barman) laughs and broken English/Cz sign language chats, later, we left - me reluctantly - promising them we'd return - which we will be doing next month.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2andsombris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    56
    6
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Specific place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Small but usually crowded place. Prices are average, choice of food is not very wide, but food is really tasty. I believe that this place is preferably for locals, and staff don't like tourists very much, but if you want to try local bar - it's the best choice

Helpful?
2 Thank Slava S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
beckenham,kent,UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Well it was an experience. We were staying round the corner so this was our local. It really is a small local pub. We went in at lunchtime and the place was crowded and there was nowhere to sit - and we tried to order a couple of coffees. The waitress who didn't smile all the time we were there just looked past us as if we didn't exist. At the second time of trying the barman took our order and we found a couple of stalls to sit on.
Not to be put off we ventured back the following day in the evening with someone who spoke Czech. There were different staff on duty and the service was slightly better.
Clearly they don't want tourists and they want to preserve it solely for the locals and there were plenty of them all the time.
Don't go there for customer service - but if you want to brave it and watch the locals in their natural habitat then this is the place to go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brian581951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worst place in Prague”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We were recommended this place by some friends as something local and off the beaten path. I am still wondering what they found in the establishment...

First of all, the waiter, bartender and the cook eyed us rather unfriendly from the very moment we went in - even though at that point we were cheerful and optimistic. They probably don't like tourists too much in "their own" place.

Secondly, it is for dedicated smokers only. And there is no privacy whatsoever - the place is tiny and there's no such thing as a private table - you will end up sitting across strangers puffing unfiltered cigarette smoke into your face.

The food quality is terrible - we ordered a roasted pork knee. It was huge, but looked more like a piece of a bloated corpse judging by its color and texture, and it was COLD inside. I am surprised how can one screw up such a simple dish!

The beer was OK (light, one kind), however my soft drink was poured from the bottle of almost empty 2l bottle and didn't even have a trace of carbonation - I keep wondering how long did they have it waiting for someone to finish?

However, the most surprising part was the bill which turned out about 50% more than what the menu board said on top of the bar. When we politely inquired why such a difference, the personnel happened to "forget" how to speak English.

After reading some reviews here on TripAdvisor I am surprised at how many people actually liked it. Maybe if you only come for the beer (though I am sure there are better places) and "authentic" experience (which in my book isn't equal to BAD). Maybe we were there on a bad day. However, I will never go there again as I never felt so strongly opposed to a particular place before. Prague has so many other beer pubs/restaurants including "U krále Brabantského" on the same street which has a really nice atmosphere, food, drinks and general value for money.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Shaarila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gharghur, Malta
Level Contributor
247 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Unpretentious good local pub type food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

If you visit the castle or happen to be in the area this unpretentious restaurant is great for a simple meal with no frills but excellent beer. The menu is not varied and the place is small but is obviously frequented by locals. It is inexpensive and well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank OscarWilde1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed U Hrocha also viewed

 

Been to U Hrocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing