We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving experience”

St Cyril and St Methodius Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.89*
and up
Prague Welcome Card
More Info
US$14.95*
and up
Prague Private World War II and Heydrich History Walking Tour
More Info
US$26.32*
and up
Small-Group World War II Historical Tour in Prague
Ranked #21 of 962 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This museum tells the story of brave Czech paratroopers who killed SS-Obergrupenführer Reinhard Heydrich in the Operation Anthropoid. Jan Kubiš and Josef Gabčík escaped to this church and the crypt under the church together with five more paratroopers and 20 days later they died here during fight against 700 Nazi soldiers.
Clane, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Moving experience”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We went on our last morning, before heading off to the airport. We ran out of time so did not see the church, having spent an hour and a half or more in the crypt. It is a very thorough telling of the story of the assassination of Heydrich and the horrendous consequences it engendered. The section of the crypt which is memorial to the men who died there is extremely touching- I defy anyone not to be moved by the whole experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank blaenboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    197
    35
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“You must visit!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The crypt is located towards the back of the church, close to the dancing building structure, and not far from the Vltava river.
There's a small charge to enter, and a series of boards giving information of how the Germans came to occupy Prague and Bohemia.
There are some very harrowing stories, much if what is not common knowledge in the west.
On entering the Crypt there are a series of bronze busts, alongside the gunshot holes within the walls.
People leave coins in the bullet holes, as if to leave a memory, or try to cover the horror - very moving.
There is also a sealed glass box- showing the silent witness...
All in all, very moving.

Helpful?
Thank Kirsword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Historical importance”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Anytime you have an opportunity to see a historical monument, you should. Sad but certainly important. Puts the Nazi occupation of the Czech Republic in perspective. Gives you first hand experience of the lives of the people and the challenges they faced.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PragueLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, East Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A war memorial or a church.?”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A place to worship in both sences.This was the last stand for the two who assassinated Reinhard Heydrick on 27th May 1942,(later died 4th May 1942 through his injuries).
Here is visible the bullet holes around the crypt window.A plaque to Jan Kubis and Jozef Gabcik of their heroics is above the window.
The interior is a sight to be hold well worth the visit.Yellow metro line to Karlovo Namesti.Walk 200m down Resslova(towards the river) St Cyril is on the right side of the road, corner of Zderaze street.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MARK2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“This should be a mandatory visit”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I first visited this memorial last year and was so moved by it that I felt I should take my wife there during a short break in Prague.
The small museum is well laid out and during both of my visits there was an air of calm and reflectiveness. It was interesting to note that in the past 12 months a simple gate to the crypt has been replaced with a far more impressive entrance which only adds to the sombre atmosphere inside the catacombs.
The only downside to our visit was that we had earlier been to the Pinkus synagogue and the Jewish cemetery. Not the most uplifting of days but memorable all the same.

Helpful?
Thank alannsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to St Cyril and St Methodius Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing