We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel Taurus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Taurus
Ranked #261 of 651 Hotels in Prague
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel as part of our trip to Prague.

Its certainly not a 4* hotel, but its great value for money, provided you can get a good deal.

The hotel is clean, staff were helpful when we asked them for anything, they pre-booked us a taxi to the train station which was great.

Breakfast buffet was great, plenty of things to choose from, toast, cereal, tea, juice, eggs etc. although not to great for a fussy vegetarian like myself (but that's not their fault)!

It is close to a fairly busy road so at times is very noisy. Its very basic, but we just wanted somewhere comfortable to sleep as we didn't plan on spending a lot of time there.

Reasonably close to the centre. 30 minute taxi ride from Prague airport. 10/15 minute taxi ride from train station. Small supermarket opposite.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't look over the road as it is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    197
    84
    60
    31
See reviews for
70
189
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

When I booked the place I has high expectations since it was listed as 4 star through the website I booked. It is definitely not a 4 star hotel. However when you consider that you are paying about $30 for a private room, I think it is worth it. When I travel I usually don't spend a whole lot of time on my hotel room so I prefer something safe, simple and inexpensive. The hotel offers free wifi and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the breakfast. Staff isn't the friendliest but so far I haven't found a whole lot of overly friendly people in Prague. The walls are paper thin and you can hear a lot of noise from your room. I booked another night mainly because of the low price and I wouldn't have to move my bags. If you get a good deal on a room I would stay, otherwise try somewhere else.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gilster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I have just spent three days at this hotel I would like to say it was shabby chic unfortunately it was just shabby. The two male staff were very helpful but all the female staff looked like someone had just told them their dog had died. I would only give this a two star.

Room Tip: Building works, sorry no pool and no restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glynis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

From the first minute when we came across the grumpiest receptionist ever ( no good morning , good day or a smile) it was a sub-standard stay. A room that had window cleaners working through the day, a leaky bathroom and inconsistent housekeeping, the only pluses were the size of the room, the hotel's proximity to the metro and a neat bathroom. The breakfast personified the inconsistent and indifferent attitude that we experienced during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank herb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rawalpindi
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Deutsche Bahn booked this hotel for us (two couples) and rated it as 4-stars. When we arrived there, the reception was a little cold but okay. And the rooms allocated were on 5th floor where the lift did not go. So we had to carry our heavy suitcases up one flight of stairs. And the rooms (501 and 502) were like a converted attic. No fan. No Air conditioner. No refrigerator. No tea-bags, although the towels and linen was clean. Breakfast was, however, good. We would not rate this above 2 stars. Location is a little far from the Metro Station, and not walkable to any famous landmark. You have to take a Metro to Old Town, Wenceslaw Square and Prague Castle/Charles Bridge. No guide map of Prague was available at the Hotel. I would not recommend this to any weary traveller unless his arm was twisted.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here on May 2013. Hotel have a good location - in 10 minutes you can reach the city center by metro or tram.
Staff is very friendly.
Our room was quiet, clean and big (we had a triple room). Towels changed every day. Also I liked breakfasts.
I can reccomend this hotel to travelers who are looking for a quite place near the city center.
And finally WiFi in the room it's great))

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlgaSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Hi everybody, my name is Yagub,
I was in Praga last week, Praga is the most beautiful city of Europe. We have been in this hotel Taurus, it was really beautiful place in old style and it s closer to city center , with clean rooms, with very kindly reseption stuff , greatest thanks to Lenka ( reception stuff) She was very kindly, and very positive girl, She helped us in every situation, and explained everything correctly, easy. And Thomas (also reception stuff) was very kindly too.

Value you deserve ,
Great regards,

Yagub Najafli - Lala Najafova.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yagub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#108 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Seifert
Hotel Seifert
#228 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Praha 8
Hotel Mucha
Hotel Mucha
#204 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Praha 3
Bily Lev
Bily Lev
#291 of 651 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#190 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taurus

Property: Hotel Taurus
Address: Vinohradska 105, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Taurus 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel TAURUS * * * * is situated in the centre of the city right in the METRO underground station, just a few minutes from the Wenceslas Square, the National Museum and the Old Town, in the superb quarter of Royal Vinohrady.There are many shops and restaurants and a modern Flora shopping centre near the hotel or the New Jewish Cemetery, where also the world-famous writer Franz Kafka has been buried.Do not miss the view of Prague from the nearby Zizkov TV Tower, either from the restaurant (66m) or from the observation cabin (93m).The hotel provides accommodation in 57 rooms. Most rooms are equipped with antique furniture from the turn of the 19th century and some rooms are equipped with modern furniture. Each room provides a bathroom with a shower and toilet, an LCD TV set with a satellite receiver, mini bar, wifi connection, direct phone, safe deposit box, hair dryer, toiletries and aids for making tea and coffee (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Taurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing