We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Homer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homer
Ranked #79 of 662 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The strongest point about this place is its location. Located in an old house in the heart of Prag's old town, you're in walking distance from the main things to see in this amazing city. More bathrooms would be nicer. I stayed in a 6-bed room with my friends and I think the security would be weaker if I was traveling alone or with we did not have a room just for us, the lockers are quite small and fragile.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starla1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    40
    24
    7
    14
See reviews for
5
14
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Recently stayed in the 6 bed mixed dorm for 2 nights. Perfect location (couple of minutes walk from the Old Town Square), good facilities: large and clean kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamuscob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Location is smack in the middle of downtown Prague. There's the best smoothie place right outside the entrance. Awesome organic store right next door with a restaurant too! The rooms are nice you share an apartment with everyone stayed in the big room with 20 people but the room is huge so it's totally fine. Also lockers are super practical.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrizia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The hostel is located no more than 2 mins from the main square. The hostel was very clean with excellent bathroom and kitchen facilities. The 12 bed room was quite small in comparison to other hostels we had stayed in however the large kitchen area made up for this. Staff were helpful and friendly. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieKlein15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

One of our bags was stolen during the night in the 16-bed room. The manager arrived 2-hour late and solved nothing. Although there is CCTV but it does not record anything - just a paper tiger. Moreover, the staff there turned a blind eye on our problem. She didn't even help us contact the police nor ask a maid who walked through that room frequently very early in that morning. The staff in the next day told us burglary happens many times in that room which contradicts to the first helpless staff who said this has just happened for the first time.

The location is perfect, the facility is ok but we gave the weight on the security and the service mind of staff. That's why I can't recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siamnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hostel is just 2 mins of walk away from old town square which is very convenient. The facilities inside hostel are nice.I specially like the common room which gives you opportunity to meet new people. There is nice Italian restaurant downstairs which is an added advantage if you don't to go too far for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pulkit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trento, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I have been to several hostels all around Europe but this one was really the best I have ever been to. The prices are considerably low, especially if you consider the quality of the services provided by this hostel. The staff are really kind and they help you in everything. The rooms are really clean and comfortable!The location is just perfect, you are in the very heart of the city, one minute walk from the old town square and you can go around all the city without having to take any public transport. I d definitely come back here if I have to come back to Prague and I would recommend it to every person!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARAOSTI89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#31 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ritchie's Hostel
Ritchie's Hostel
#131 of 662 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Franz Kafka
Hostel Franz Kafka
#97 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#26 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Ananas
Hostel Ananas
#21 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#5 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homer

Property: Homer
Address: Melantrichova 465/11 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 662 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Homer 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We totally have the best location ever!! Our hostel is located in a historic building from the 16th century with renaissance ceilings. It's perfectly located walking distance from most of the greatest hot spots around Prague. We're 150 meters from the Old Town Square. Damn right, it's literally a stone's throw away. We're about 400m from CHARLES BRIDGE, and less than that from Wencelas square. The hostel is surrounded by some cafes, restaurants, bars, clubs, pubs and great shops.***Hostel Homer is all about chillaxing all cool. Come and meet backpackers from around the world over a nice cup of tea or wine. We have a communal kitchen that is fully stocked with all the amenities you need to prepare your food along with simple spices and pasta gratis. Our common room is furnished with a fine cinemascope for your viewing pleasure. As for getting about town our friendly staff is always willing to point you in the right direction, or give you suggestions on what places to visit. We also provide private tours about town by car, and work in tandem with guided pub crawls to the hottest bars and clubs in town.***WE OFFER:- 24h reception- FREE wi-fi, FREE lockers, FREE towels, FREE tea, FREE linens, FREE city maps, FREE slippers hire, FREE day storage after check out, FREE hairdryer hire, FREE spice and pasta- 12bed, 6bed and 5bed mix dorms- luxorious double room- 4bed deluxe female dorm with own fully equipped kitchen- Clean and spacious rooms- Immaculate bathrooms with spacious shower or bathtube- Hang out areas, common room, terrace- In cinema scope: hostel cinema- Supermarket 2 mins from the hostel- Large modern equipped kitchen- Hot shower nonstop- Book swap- Many discounts, pub crawl tickets etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing