We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice. And different”
Review of Gopal - CLOSED

Gopal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Neighbourhood: Hradcany & Letna
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice. And different”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We are not vegetarians but found this place trying to avoid pizza an pasta places for lunch.
I would say if you don't like vegetarian don't go.
The food was fine. We ordered a spinach pancake with pine nuts which had a very Indian spice overtone. The other dish was eggplant,and chick peas done in a very pleasant sauce and cheese. This we were told takes 45 minutes to be baked etc and it was worth the wait. We were certainly were not hungry afterwards.
We also had a Greek salad which was different in that all the ingredients normally found in a Greek salad were diced and no lettuce but lots of other greens. Again nice but different.
Prices were more than reasonable and very cheap for quality food in a very clean and comfortable setting.
I would go again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dinkumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    8
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
914 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“simple food - all you can eat - nothing special”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A Prague friend took us here, because he knew we liked vegetarian food. He got vouchers for 'all you can eat' and we expected to find a buffet. But - on the contrary - 'all you can eat' is the most basic and simple Indian dish, containing Dhal, white rice, cooked vegetable, deepfried eggplant and some beetroot salad, all served on a metal plate that my Thai friend called 'school food' (or rather 'prison food').
Anyway, of this plate/dish you can eat as much as you like, re-order as many times you like: 235 Czk. Definitely not cooked with love, canteen food.
The regular menu offers a variety of Indian, European and Czech cuisine, a really strange mix!
The interior designs were partly inspired by Thai buddhism.
The waitress didn't speak any English.
The only positive thing was a homemade raspberry lemonade (60 Czk)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jobst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“vegetarian restaurant in a good location...”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Located in the castle district, in the quiet courtyard, on the main road was ideal for escaping the bustle of tourists outside.
Typical “Hare Rama Hare Krishna” restaurant. The food is good – simple vegetarian home-type food (which you relish if you are regularly eating out). We had lunch-plate, which had lentil-soup, salad, pickle, curry, veggies, rice, dessert and a beetroot-nut snack, and all you can eat. The location is excellent and the ambiance is also ok with a nice Indian feel to it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank golujain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty average. ”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Pretty standard meal. Tastes like something I would make at home if I wanted something simple to make. That said, was happy to find a nice, healthy vegetarian meal in Prague after passing the various meat heavy restaurants in the street.

Helpful?
Thank Linkj1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I wouldn't say taste of the food is bad, but nothing great to write about - simple, bland vegetarian food. We are an Indian family and had lunch-plate, which had rice, soup, salad, pickle, curry, dessert and a snack. The location is excellent and the ambiance is very good with a nice Indian feel to it. They charge half price for the kid meal, otherwise it is really expensive, partly due to the tourist location. I may not go there again simply because of the prohibitive prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonVenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gopal also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing