We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kocar Z Vidne

Kocar Z Vidne
Ranked #523 of 5,365 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Good service, excellent value for money. Nice lunch time meal. In quiet courtyard away from crowds... ... ... ... ... ...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    70
    22
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great ambience and service”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

It was a warm summer evening and we were drawn in by the carriage in the courtyard. The waitress was charming and lovely. The salad with veal was very good. The grilled perch was very average with bones and the beef top was satisfactory (slightly bland for my Indian palette). We had the chocolate cake which was good. Overall recommended since the price for the entire deal is good. Even the wine by the glass is decent.

Helpful?
Thank indianlady
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very good meal at good prices (with good service)”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This hotel was difficult to get directions for (if you come over Charles Bridge from Old Town Square and take the last set of steps on left at end of bridge and turn left at bottom of stairs and then veer to the right it is in courtyard there) but when we got there it was clean, welcoming and had good food! We had snails and spaizle to start (the latter a bit too much but nice) which were v good. We both had weiner schnitzel which were huge with potato salad. Even as big eaters, we struggled and on reflection, we should have ordered 2 different things and shared. We had a cocktail each (not great but not expensive) and had a beer each and for all of that we paid around £25 and had a lovely evening. The next night we went to Casanova just round the corner and had an entirely more negative experience both in terms of cost and quality of overall service and (some) poor food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neillands18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Best Goulash inTown (Prague)”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This restaurant was a few steps away from our hotel Rezidence Lundborg. No one recommended this restaurant to us, but since it was freezing cold that evening, we decided to eat close to our hotel. To our delight, we were received warmly, we ordered some red wine to start with. I ordered Goulash, and my friend ordered soup with liver dumpling , and shared a huge piece of apple strudel! The food was excellent (although the Goulash in Hungary had more paprika)..this was once was as good. We enjoyed the meal on our first evening and decided to go back and try the famous schnitzel. It was a huge portion and it was very good!
The price was very reasonable, and the staff and owner was very "chalereux".

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adelaida Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Man sized Schnitzel”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We had lunch there on 30 December on the recommendation of our guide. Its apparently her favourite eating place in Prague and for good reason. The food was very good and reasonably priced. The highlight was the schnitzel. The 3 schnitzel pieces were probably the largest serving Ive ever seen and just fit onto a large dinner plate and was tasty and crisp (ie. not soggy). The photo on the entry does'nt do it justice. Recommended. I would go to the trouble of eating there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacko1niner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kocar Z Vidne also viewed

 

Been to Kocar Z Vidne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing