We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value, not in a scenic location”
Review of Hotel Abito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Abito
Ranked #480 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We arrived quite late in the evening in Prague and took a taxi to the hotel. Although the taxi was extremely pricey, I am not sure we would have found the hotel without it, as it seemed to be down a unmarked path on the side of a desolate road; the taxi driver himself said he had had trouble finding it the first time he went there because, unless you look up, you don´t see any signs! Going inside, the reception was lined with guests using the WiFi only available in reception.

However, after that point, our experience improved tremendously. Reception was fast, friendly and helpful. We were paying 24 Euros a night including breakfast, which seemed unbelievable. I was therefore not surprised to find, having read reviews on here, that we were on the dreaded 7th floor. Not only that but I had The Room Directly Opposite the Breakfast Room...

The Room Opposite the Breakfast Room turns out to be very spacious, given that it was just me. With the door closed between the bedroom and the vestibule area - as it has a second bedroom that was locked off when I was there - I didn´t hear any of the breakfast noise, nor smell the breakfast smells. Probably if you are a light sleeper, you should avoid this room, however, for someone used to city noises, no problem.

Because we were so late, we wandered up to the local supermarket (up the hill, past the garage, around the back of the shopping complex on the left before the big crossroads), which is a lot bigger than I expected and open until midnight. We then took advantage of the kitchens available to guests to have a make shift picnic, washed down with a bottle of wine (corkscrew available at reception). The kitchen is not well equipped, so one has to be prepared to make do a little, however, it was sufficient.

My bed was not uncomfortable, however, the sheet was not comfortable. Luckily, being one person in a two bed room, I could make use of the second duvet. Not a place I would recommend watching television unless you speak Czech. There was useful information in the room regarding trams and night trams. Bathroom is small but functional.

I think breakfast is all cooked ahead of breakfast time, so, if you do want sausages or eggs, one should get their early before they start to look less than appetising. However, there is a decent spread of other foods for breakfast at the buffet.

And, given the price we were paying, it was amazing.

20 minutes into town on the tram, tram tickets available at reception - so it wouldn´t be convenient if one wanted to be in the centre of things. However, for a sight seeing/shopping trip, it was fine.

Really, this is an average hotel, bizarrely plonked in the most unlikely and hardly salubrious position. However, the price makes this somewhere I would certainly stay again if I just wanted a base with a good breakfast rather than, say, a luxury weekend. If you want a bargain hotel and don´t mind being out of the centre, definitely consider here.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, avoid the 7th floor. Better if you can get one of the suite rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mad194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed for a weekend in the Abito hotel. It was fairly clean, the room was spacious enough and it had a very good shower in the bathroom. My critisism is with the beds. They have thin foam matresses on top of solid wooden frames and so are more than firm - I like a firm matress but it needs to be supportive, not to sink through to the frame below. Breakfast included a few types of sausages, hard poached eggs, fruit and some cereal/bread options. More than adequate if not overly inspiring. The tram stops just outside and its 20 min to the centre. It runs every 10 mins through til about midnight then there is a less frequest night tram.

Overall, good value for 36 euros a room a night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairedevereux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

If you want a cheap and good hotel in Prague,Hotel Abito is the best choice.Is in Prague 04 area,the tram's station number 11 is out of the entrance and the time from and to the center is about 15min.I stayed for 5 nights in a single room and i payed only 126 euros.The room was in the 7th floor,was comfortable,clean and has view in a train's depo.If you like the trains is good!Every day has a rich breakfast in a buffet.The only disavantages are the deficiency wi-fi internet in the rooms and the english chanels on tv.Has free wi-fi on the reception area and a public pc.In addition,the room has refrigator,and there is a Kitchen for the guest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airtickets4alleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

A little far away from the city center but there is a tram right in front that will bring you to one of the subway station. I arrived at night and my gps did not find the number and there is no sign at the Hotel that you can see at night (maybe the light was broken). The parking space is far from the main entrance, actually you can't even drive to the main entrace and the parking space is a dirty road, but save and secure at night. The price was great for that night (25 € single room)

Room Tip: Avoid only the7th floor, that is also the location for the breakfast room, very noise at 7:00 am - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Good, modern and very clean hotel. They also have a locked baggage room if you need to leave something there after check out. However the bed mattress was a bit hard. Also the breakfast is very good.

Also you need about 30 minutes to go to the city centre, especially in weekends when transport is less frequent and another 30 minutes for the main bus/train station. Also the night buses to there do not go through the centre but you have quite a walk to Pavlova station. I would only recommend it for someone who comes with a car.

Also the location set is not very nice, in an ugly and noisy part of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Melodi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Предпочитайте "семейные" номера номерам "бизнес-класса", не пожалеете!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stark_tw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolana K, Manager at Hotel Abito, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Globus
Globus
#553 of 646 in Prague
420 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#523 of 646 in Prague
188 reviews
Praha 10
Astra
Astra
#339 of 646 in Prague
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mars
#446 of 646 in Prague
147 reviews
Praha 3
EA Hotel Populus
EA Hotel Populus
#451 of 646 in Prague
151 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#477 of 646 in Prague
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abito

Address: Chodovska 1430/3a, Prague 141 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #480 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £19 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abito 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City center can be reached by public transport in 20 minutes without changing a line, stop is situated in front of the hotel. (stop name - Teplarna Michle) City center is easilly accesible even during the night, for example hotel can be reached from Wenceslas square are midnight in 30 minutes. Our reception is ready to help with directions and timetables and also sell tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Abito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing