We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All that glitters........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charles Bridge Palace
Ranked #203 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“All that glitters........”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We are just back from a trip to Prague and Budapest and stayed in this hotel in Prague. The professional pictures show a beautiful ornate hotel with chandeliers ,ornate furniture and fabulous surroundings. Facts!! It isn't. FACT 1 it is across the road from Europe's largest night club and has a strip club on the ground floor.FACT 2 room 418 has no windows ( it has skylights) no showers and baths for leprechaun,s .FACT 3 the staff don't want you there nor do they want to speak to you ,smile at you or help you in any way. They do quite like your money so leave plenty of that behind you.FACT 4 they don't want to clean your room,serve you breakfast( it's a buffet anyway) or get you anything which may they may have run out of in the buffet. FACT. 5 it's location is perfect being walking distance to everything. Prague is a beautiful ornate city with lovely weather and plenty to do unfortunately the Czech personalities don't match. Everyone complained on checking out so it obviously wasn't just us.My husband suggested getting the Kerry Tourist Board over to teach them a few tricks!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor which had skylights but no windows and was very noisy from night club and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ednanorthernireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Charles Bridge Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Ednanorth,
Thank you for choosing the Charles Bridge Palace for your most recent accommodation needs. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the feedback provided through Tripadvisor.com.
It is extremely disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy any aspect of the hotel and it saddens me that we were unable to rectify this for you during your stay. The hotel does operate a 24 hour reception desk to where our friendly team of staff including the Management Team are more than happy to assist with any concerns that you may have and resolve them to the best of their ability to ensure your stay is a good one. Our aim is to ensure that all guests are comfortable and relaxed during their time with us so they can concentrate on enjoying themselves.
I would also like to add how sorry we are for the external street noise that you experienced during your stay; such issues are something that sometimes comes with being in a vibrant part of the city and Nové Město precinct to which we endeavour to manage to the best of our ability.
Regarding the night life please note that we are not responsible for choosing who is our neighbour.
It is disappointing that management were unable to ensure your stay was more comfortable. Our reception desk is open 24hours and we encourage our guests to come and speak to us should they have any concerns throughout their stay. The staff are always more than happy to assist with any concerns to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Regarding the breakfast we have a good team in the kitchen who take a great deal of pride in their work and as such we would encourage any guest who does not feel their expectations have been met to alert our restaurant staff at the time for there is only a limited amount reception will be able to do after the event
.We would hate for this to prevent you from returning to us in the future and should you wish to do so please don't hesitate to contact me as I would love to personally organise your next visit and ensure that it is a comfortable one.

Warm regards
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    307
    116
    49
    28
See reviews for
175
325
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great location - ideal to Old Town, Jewish Ghetto, Charles Bridge and Prague Castle.
Even though we booked a Duplex - 2 floor apartment, what they do not tell you is that only the 2nd floor bedroom has A/C. It did have 2 bathrooms - lower with shower; upper with tub. Fine for winter - not summer. We took a voluntary downgrade to a Junior Suite - still had a King bed and lots of cool air. breakfast buffet was above average with fresh cooked fried eggs, Hotel is maybe understaffed but just changed management July 15, 2014.

Room Tip: Check your room's A/C before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstonV1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed eight nights in this hotel. Traveling solo for the first time. I felt very secure. Everything was perfect: room and bathroom very clean, breakfast plentiful, safe in the room, really good restaurants near by and and money exchange offices across the street, side of the Charles Bridge, where you get the best rates. They even give you a VIP card to guarantee you the rate. The only complaint about this hotel was the noise. Even though my room was in the back, I could still hear the people in the bars. Location is the best! Can walk to all attractions.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank elenaore2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Charles Bridge Palace, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear client, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Charles Bridge Palace. I am delighted that you have enjoyed the overall experience but was sorry to read about the noise issue . I can fully understand that it must have been very upsetting and would like to apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused .The hotel as you mention is located in the centre of Nové Město and allowing us to provide our guests with an excellent location for accessing all the main attractions however it ‘s provide us with the challenge of some street noise from the surrounding area, which we endeavour to control to the best of our ability.We look forward to welcoming you back to Charles Bridge Palace. Best regards- Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We loved this hotel for what it represented and what we thought Prague was about. It was once a Grand Dame, displaying solid classic architecture from a bygone era.

Positives: Brilliant location at Charles Bridge and a 5 minute walk to the Old Town Square. Huge room, great river view, good size bathroom, walk in robe with fridge, good big bed, high ceilings, A/C, good wifi, safe, tv for Wimbledon and World Cup soccer, breakfast included. Friendly staff.

Negatives: Noise, noise and more noise. Windows were double glazed but the street noise ( human ) was insane. People singing and chanting at the top of their voices virtually all night and the relentless Doof Doof of thumping music from the club across the street, morning until the next morning was tedious and MUST be addressed ( I believe ) for this hotel to survive in the ever growing tourist market that is Prague. Unless Prague wants to be known merely as a party hub for youths and yobs.
Breakfast was plentiful but quality and freshness needs to be stepped up a level or two

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river have great views and lovely natural light but are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeleine671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Charles Bridge Palace, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Madeleine, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Princes Street Suites. I am delighted that you have enjoyed the overall experience I would also like to say sorry for the external street noise that you experienced during your stay, such issues are something that comes with being in a vibrant part of the city . It is unfortunate that our 24 hour reception were not notified of your dissatisfaction during your stay as we would have been more than happy to supply you with a sleep well pack, complete with ear plugs, or have tried to relocate you to another quieter area of the hotel if available to ensure that this did not impact on your visit to Prague.
I would be interested in hearing from you to find out what room you were in and also the dates of your stay so that I can somehow look into your complaints further. Please do not hesitate in contacting me directly at the Hotel.

Kind regards,Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights for mums up coming 80 th birthday along with my daughter and niece .We said the location was perfect , lovely old building with some ornate features and would have liked some info in the room on it's history . We booked a junior suite and expected a bit more than we got ......2 bedrooms with a double in each ( we had one of them split into 2 singles the next morning .We asked for a better suite and was told 50 euro extra per night .....we decided to put up with it because we would be out every day .The noise was dreadful and we faced the night club that boomed out loud music and groups of people shouting well into the early hours .The breakfast was poor quality food although quite a varied choice .We had coffee in the small coffee across from the hotel .Although we had a kettle and cups there was nothing to make a drink with , when we asked we were told to take some in the mornings from the dining room .There was only fruit teas in the dining room ....no coffee .The staff are lovely and friendly it seems a shame when all it would take is a little improvement to bring up the standards .I asked for an iron and a pillow and the staff brought these straight away ......the guy who brought the pillow was so kind and helpful .I am sure the improvements that are needed are easily achievable .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Charles Bridge Palace, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Julie, We appreciate that you post a review though were naturally sorry that you had cause to write about the breakfast. We have a good team in the kitchen who take a great deal of pride in their work and as such we would encourage any guest who does not feel their expectations have been met to alert our restaurant staff at the time for there is only a limited amount reception will be able to do after the event.in our hotel we welcome guests from all the world with different culinary traditions and tastes we try our best to satisfy all of them but you must understand that is not possible.Otherwise . I am delighted that the apartment and the facilities met with your expectations.We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Charles Bridge Palace in a not too distant future . Best regards - Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erbil, Iraq
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Let me start by saying that you need to know what you are getting with any hotel. That is the same here. The hotel is very old Europe with creaky floors and really cool high ceilings. The staff is outstanding and very willing to help with anything we could come up with. The beds were comfortable and the AC worked great. It was really hot 30c+ when we visited. The location is outstanding, very close to just about everything. Breakfast was perfect to start the day, but I do hate those coffee machines. A pot of actual coffee would have been nice. OK, now what I really didn't like. You can hear EVERYTHING in that hotel. And I do mean everything. That was a bit of an issue, there is also a school and a few bars near by that like to start singing very loudly at around 0400. I saw a few complaints about the WIFI, but we had no issue with that at all. I also suggest using their airport/train station transfer. Nice car and less expensive than the taxi. Bottom line? I would be happy to stay here again and probably will.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Charles Bridge Palace, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear client, a very big thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review . I am glad that you feel that this is the perfect place to stay . Our very central location is quite unique . Most attractions and shopping areas are situated within walking distance We look forward to welcoming you back to Charles Bridge Palace. Best regards- Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The location cannot be denied, however the service, access to wifi and the fact that you will have to endure the bass pulses from "central Europe's largest night club" makes it a place I would never recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: River view room equal a restless sleep due to the noise from the night clubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Charles Bridge Palace, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear client, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us . I am glad you have found the Charles Bridge Palace very well located .I would also like to say sorry for the external street noise that you experienced during your stay, such issues are something that comes with being in a vibrant part of the city.Regarding the WIFI i take this opportunity to let you know that we are in the process of upgrading our WIFI system which should be fully operational within the next few weeks unffortunately major works such as structural changes to corridors in the building are a little more challenging as the building is listed with the National Trust as a Heritage Listed Building, therefore any work undertaken, must be approved through government bodies.Please do not hesitate in contacting me directly at the Hotel.

Kind regards,
ERIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#179 of 670 in Prague
475 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#90 of 670 in Prague
1,444 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pachtuv Palace
Pachtuv Palace
#91 of 670 in Prague
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#98 of 670 in Prague
595 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Smetana Hotel
Smetana Hotel
#222 of 670 in Prague
77 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 670 in Prague
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Bridge Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Bridge Palace

Property: Charles Bridge Palace
Address: Anenska 203/2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Bridge Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charles Bridge Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing