We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charles Bridge Palace
Ranked #212 of 649 Hotels in Prague
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

CBP is in a brilliant location, just opposite Charles Bridge, around the corner from Old Town Square and lots of shops, restaurants and bars close by. A friend and I stayed for two nights and could not fault a room as far as cleanliness was concerned. The bathroom was impeccable, not a hair, scratch or mark in sight and the shower worked really well! As far as hotel rooms go, I can deal with a less than comfortable bed or a not so great view as long as it is very clean and this place was! To be fair, the view from our room was of a brick wall and the windows were obviously thin because we were awake most of the night due to the noise outside (i think this is the most common complaint for this hotel) but we weren't in town for rest and relaxation so i'm not really complaining! Breakfast was included in our package and there was a small but very tasty buffet every morning. Over all I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are just staying a couple of nights for some sight seeing/general merriment. P.s The wifi wasn't amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyprusfanatic10491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelli H, Manažer at Charles Bridge Palace, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Valued Client,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. All of us are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards from Prague
Ondrej Uhlik
Pinelli hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    318
    120
    56
    34
See reviews for
187
343
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great location, we were walking everywhere we wanted to go! The hotel is a bit old which is understandable but kept in good shape. When arrived were given a room on the fourth floor where the air condition was hardly working on 30 degrees outside, when complained to reception personnel the room was changed immediately to a first floor room. The problem was the street noise, specially during the weekend, sleeping without earplugs was impossible, maybe because of the hotel age the isolation is not good.
Despite of the management defense I agree that the quality of breakfast can be upgraded a notch, quantity is there but quality you need to look hard to find, the selection of cheese, cold cuts and jams need to be upgraded.
Enjoyed our stay despite of above, rooms are well kept and housekeeping is very good.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHamdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelli H, Manažer at Charles Bridge Palace, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear MHamdan,
thank you for your kind review. Our hotel is situated in the proper centre close to the most romantic attractions with a long history, but a little disadvantage of this beautiful location is occasional noise. Therefore is our team always trying to find the best room for each client immediately, if it's possible. We know there could be a problem with the intensity of the air condition in case of fully used capacity and therefore we are constantly improving all our services including the breakfast. We are looking forward to welcome you back and let you feel all our improvements.
All the best
Pinelli hotels team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Helpful staff booking taxi to airport, holding bags no cost if you arrive early or leave late. Very great food selection for the complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel is ideally situated at the footsteps of Charles Bridge.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious so no worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bswammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelli H, Manažer at Charles Bridge Palace, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Bswami,
thank you very much for your kind review. We highly appreciate it and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the beautiful city Prague.
Best wishes
Pinelli hotels team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We are just back from a trip to Prague and Budapest and stayed in this hotel in Prague. The professional pictures show a beautiful ornate hotel with chandeliers ,ornate furniture and fabulous surroundings. Facts!! It isn't. FACT 1 it is across the road from Europe's largest night club and has a strip club on the ground floor.FACT 2 room 418 has no windows ( it has skylights) no showers and baths for leprechaun,s .FACT 3 the staff don't want you there nor do they want to speak to you ,smile at you or help you in any way. They do quite like your money so leave plenty of that behind you.FACT 4 they don't want to clean your room,serve you breakfast( it's a buffet anyway) or get you anything which may they may have run out of in the buffet. FACT. 5 it's location is perfect being walking distance to everything. Prague is a beautiful ornate city with lovely weather and plenty to do unfortunately the Czech personalities don't match. Everyone complained on checking out so it obviously wasn't just us.My husband suggested getting the Kerry Tourist Board over to teach them a few tricks!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor which had skylights but no windows and was very noisy from night club and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ednanorthernireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Charles Bridge Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Ednanorth,
Thank you for choosing the Charles Bridge Palace for your most recent accommodation needs. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the feedback provided through Tripadvisor.com.
It is extremely disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy any aspect of the hotel and it saddens me that we were unable to rectify this for you during your stay. The hotel does operate a 24 hour reception desk to where our friendly team of staff including the Management Team are more than happy to assist with any concerns that you may have and resolve them to the best of their ability to ensure your stay is a good one. Our aim is to ensure that all guests are comfortable and relaxed during their time with us so they can concentrate on enjoying themselves.
I would also like to add how sorry we are for the external street noise that you experienced during your stay; such issues are something that sometimes comes with being in a vibrant part of the city and Nové Město precinct to which we endeavour to manage to the best of our ability.
Regarding the night life please note that we are not responsible for choosing who is our neighbour.
It is disappointing that management were unable to ensure your stay was more comfortable. Our reception desk is open 24hours and we encourage our guests to come and speak to us should they have any concerns throughout their stay. The staff are always more than happy to assist with any concerns to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Regarding the breakfast we have a good team in the kitchen who take a great deal of pride in their work and as such we would encourage any guest who does not feel their expectations have been met to alert our restaurant staff at the time for there is only a limited amount reception will be able to do after the event
.We would hate for this to prevent you from returning to us in the future and should you wish to do so please don't hesitate to contact me as I would love to personally organise your next visit and ensure that it is a comfortable one.

Warm regards
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great location - ideal to Old Town, Jewish Ghetto, Charles Bridge and Prague Castle.
Even though we booked a Duplex - 2 floor apartment, what they do not tell you is that only the 2nd floor bedroom has A/C. It did have 2 bathrooms - lower with shower; upper with tub. Fine for winter - not summer. We took a voluntary downgrade to a Junior Suite - still had a King bed and lots of cool air. breakfast buffet was above average with fresh cooked fried eggs, Hotel is maybe understaffed but just changed management July 15, 2014.

Room Tip: Check your room's A/C before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstonV1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed eight nights in this hotel. Traveling solo for the first time. I felt very secure. Everything was perfect: room and bathroom very clean, breakfast plentiful, safe in the room, really good restaurants near by and and money exchange offices across the street, side of the Charles Bridge, where you get the best rates. They even give you a VIP card to guarantee you the rate. The only complaint about this hotel was the noise. Even though my room was in the back, I could still hear the people in the bars. Location is the best! Can walk to all attractions.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank elenaore2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Charles Bridge Palace, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear client, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Charles Bridge Palace. I am delighted that you have enjoyed the overall experience but was sorry to read about the noise issue . I can fully understand that it must have been very upsetting and would like to apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused .The hotel as you mention is located in the centre of Nové Město and allowing us to provide our guests with an excellent location for accessing all the main attractions however it ‘s provide us with the challenge of some street noise from the surrounding area, which we endeavour to control to the best of our ability.We look forward to welcoming you back to Charles Bridge Palace. Best regards- Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We loved this hotel for what it represented and what we thought Prague was about. It was once a Grand Dame, displaying solid classic architecture from a bygone era.

Positives: Brilliant location at Charles Bridge and a 5 minute walk to the Old Town Square. Huge room, great river view, good size bathroom, walk in robe with fridge, good big bed, high ceilings, A/C, good wifi, safe, tv for Wimbledon and World Cup soccer, breakfast included. Friendly staff.

Negatives: Noise, noise and more noise. Windows were double glazed but the street noise ( human ) was insane. People singing and chanting at the top of their voices virtually all night and the relentless Doof Doof of thumping music from the club across the street, morning until the next morning was tedious and MUST be addressed ( I believe ) for this hotel to survive in the ever growing tourist market that is Prague. Unless Prague wants to be known merely as a party hub for youths and yobs.
Breakfast was plentiful but quality and freshness needs to be stepped up a level or two

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river have great views and lovely natural light but are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeleine671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Charles Bridge Palace, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Madeleine, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Princes Street Suites. I am delighted that you have enjoyed the overall experience I would also like to say sorry for the external street noise that you experienced during your stay, such issues are something that comes with being in a vibrant part of the city . It is unfortunate that our 24 hour reception were not notified of your dissatisfaction during your stay as we would have been more than happy to supply you with a sleep well pack, complete with ear plugs, or have tried to relocate you to another quieter area of the hotel if available to ensure that this did not impact on your visit to Prague.
I would be interested in hearing from you to find out what room you were in and also the dates of your stay so that I can somehow look into your complaints further. Please do not hesitate in contacting me directly at the Hotel.

Kind regards,Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#207 of 649 in Prague
513 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#78 of 649 in Prague
1,515 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#59 of 649 in Prague
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Smetana Hotel
Smetana Hotel
#188 of 649 in Prague
110 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Aurus
Aurus
#137 of 649 in Prague
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Bridge Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Bridge Palace

Property: Charles Bridge Palace
Address: Anenska 203/2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Bridge Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Charles Bridge Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing