We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in the heart of Prague!”
Review of Jungmann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jungmann
Ranked #30 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here July 4-7, 2013. After doing a ton of research on where to stay and the best location to stay in, I landed on Hotel Jungmann. I must say, I was blown away by this boutique hotel. The modern and elegant lofted ceiling rooms were absolutely stunning. The lobby when you walk in has the look and feel of a wine cellar, and the front patio sprawls out into the square in front of the hotel making for a great spot to have a cocktail and people watch. The location is about a 3-5 minute walk from old town and the Charles Bridge. The hotel staff was superb and extremely accommodating. We ended up having drinks with a few of them one night on the front patio making us feel even more at home and relaxed. There is a loft in the building and the breakfast is served downstairs in a cave like room that amazing.

For those that are not traveling as a couple, our room had the shower and sink in the same room as the bed, just separated by a curtain that separates the bedroom from the bathroom/changing area.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here next time I am in Prague.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antikhotels, Front Office Manager at Jungmann, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear clients,
thanks a lot for your most kind evaluation, it is always so nice and satisfying to hear that. It was very nice to have you and we enjoyed the opportunity to share a nice moment with you. Looking forward to see you soon again!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

We arrived at our pre-booked hotel in Prague to be told that we could not stay there fit the first night since our room had been wrecked by previous "Italian" guests but that we could stay in another hotel nearby. We were relocated to the Jungmann Hotel which I would not have considered otherwise.

The first impression of the hotel from the outside is that it is small and rather old but how wrong this turned out to be.

To get to reception you walk through a small cafe/bar which exudes a studied but effective shabby chic with distressed wooden floors and genuine period decor.

The friendliness of the reception and greeting from the manager is quite disarming and our unsettled feeling from having an unexpected transfer soon dissipated.

The luxurious lift was a further clue that here was a hidden gem. The great surprise was our beautiful, modern, room. Immaculately presented with a lovely shower room directly off bedroom. (Room 204) This is superb accommodation at a very good price.

Breakfast is probably best termed as OK self service in an interestingly converted cellar.

Late night friendly service for coffee and pear schnapps capped a great experience.

The problem was that when we returned to our booked hotel the following day we preferred the Jungmann.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antikhotels, Public Relations Manager at Jungmann, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear client, Thank you very much for your generous evaluation. We are glad that the stay in our hotel helped to make your visit of Prague very special and hope sincerely to welcome you soon again !!! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at this hotel. The staff are a credit to the hotel, so friendly and helpful. The room was huge and spotlessly clean with a large shower in a glassed in cubicle within the bedroom. Bed very comfortable with lovely crisp linen changed after 3 nights. . . The location is ideal, round the corner from Wenceslas square and right by the Metro. They serve coffee and cake in a small area in reception or you can sit outside. Much better, in my opinion than a large anonymous chain. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antikhotels, Public Relations Manager at Jungmann, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear client,
Thank you very much for your generous evaluation. We are glad that the stay in our hotel helped to make your visit of Prague very special and hope sincerely to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Jungmann hotel is a cosy hotel in the heart of Prague. The rooms are very spacy and always clean. They change towels every day, needed or not.
They serve breakfast in basement (7am - 10am). It is simple, but everything are fresh.
The rooms have double beds, but are made for one person or for a couple who are comfortable with going to the bathroom together, because the shower cabinet and mirror is inside the room.
There is only one chair good in the room (beside the one by the desk), so there is no place to sit down for a couple, or if you have a visitor. The room is spacy so the owner can easily make a small sitting group in the room.
There is not much space in the reception area, so you don't sit there for long.
I give this hotel 4 "points" because of location, cleanliness and spacy rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John3322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I booked a room at Jungmann hotel, received a confirmation and even spoke to staff members a couple of days before our arrival about where to park etc. One day (!) before our arrival the hotel sent us an email saying they made a mistake, we do not have a booking for a room at this hotel any longer. It should not be too hard for staff members of a hotel to organise bookings. They offered 25% discount on our next stay with them. Sure they know this is not going to happen. Very sad, we were so looking forward to our trip to Prague.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank TravelsFromAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I stayed at the Jungmann Hotel for 4 nights last week and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is quite small and cozy with only 12 rooms, two to a floor. But those rooms are lovely. They are very well-designed and full of light, impeccably clean and comfortable. The entire property was renovated in the last year or two with all modern amenities included marble showers and a glass-front lift. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast is ample and appealing. Add to that an absolutely wonderful location for walking everywhere in Prague and you have a top-notch experience. There was some late night noise from the nearby metro entrance (my room was at the back) but you have to expect that in a lively city. I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We travel abroad a lot but we havent been in such a good hotel for a long time. It is a botique hotel with studio room well decorated and equipped. The manager of the hotel was very friendly and made our stay even more pleasent. The location is superb., close to everywhere in Prague. Cant recommend it more than that.

Thank Oded V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Golden Crown Hotel
Golden Crown Hotel
#40 of 646 in Prague
469 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#41 of 646 in Prague
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#7 of 646 in Prague
1,797 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#26 of 646 in Prague
1,760 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 646 in Prague
2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungmann

Address: Jungmannovo Namesti 2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £70 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jungmann 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel Jungmann - before reconstruction 2011 called Gold Cross is located in the historic heart of Prague. Within walking distance of all the major attractions, Jungmann hotel offers affordable hotel accommodation in the heart of Prague. Centrally located and just steps away from the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, the Powder Tower, Wenceslas Square and the National Theatre, it provides the ideal base for a convenient stay in the capital city. Hotel Jungmann is equipped with elevator and breakfast is included in the price.Step from bustling streets full of shops and restaurants and into the restful ambience of this friendly and compact property. Guests will be greeted by pleasant staff who are happy to arrange sightseeing tours around Prague, along with trips to other areas of the Czech Republic if desired. Other handy services include reservation of tickets to theatres and concerts, transfers to Prague International Airport (PRG).Rooms ( 12 ) are charmingly furnished in this intimate 8-room central hotel, ideal for an occupancy of one, two or three guests. All rooms boast spacious beds, stylish furniture.Bathrooms are modern and immaculate, with hair dryer, shower and WC. Guests will also find accommodation includes direct dial telephone, minibar and satellite TV, hairdryer, radio, and personal safe - laptop size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jungmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing