We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”

Old Jewish Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.99*
and up
Prague Jewish Quarter And Synagogue Walking Tour With Admission Tickets
Ranked #59 of 935 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: There are about 12,000 tombstones in the cemetery, many decorated with animal and plant motifs. The most important figures buried here: the scholar and teacher, Rabbi Judah Loew Ben Bezalel, known as the Maharal (d. 1609) the scholar and poet Avigdor Kara (d. 1439) the founder of the Pinkas Synagogue, Aaron Meshulam Horowitz (d. 1545) the mayor and developer of the Prague Jewish Town, Mordecai Maisel (d. 1601) the Renaissance scholar, historian, mathematicians and astronomer, David Gans (d. 1613) the collector of Hebrew manuscripts and books, Rabbi David Oppenheim (d. 1736) The Old Jewish Cemetery is part of Jewish museum in Prague. The Old Jewish Cemetery is among the oldest surviving Jewish burial grounds in the world and along with the Old-New Synagogue, it is the most important site in the Prague Jewish Town. It was founded in the first half of the 15th century. The earliest tombstone dates back to 1439; the last burial took place 348 years later. Although the cemetery was expanded several times over the centuries, it was still not big enough to meet the needs of the Jewish Town. As space was scarce, bodies were buried on top of each other, with graves layered up to 10 deep.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I truly appreciate the historical significance of the cemetary having read about it prior to my visitor. My chief complaint is the organization the runs it could do a better job of sharing its history. There were absolutely no markers anywhere explaining what you were looking at or any of the notable grave sites. I also had the audio tour which added very little. Thank goodness for the Prague Eyewitness Tour Book I had with me.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hansfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jewishmuseminprague, Tým podpory webu TripAdvisorFront Office Manager at Old Jewish Cemetery, responded to this review, 9 October 2015
Thank you for your review. JMP does not operate the audioguide services, any complaint should be addressed to: info@audioguide.cz. The reactions of the majority of visitors, however, clearly indicates satisfaction with the service.
We do recommend to do a guided tour in case you are interested in more detailed visit. More information about guided tours can be found on our website. Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    395
    200
    85
    74
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Starý zidovský hrbitov is the most evocative site in Prague, you reach the cemetary after visiting the synagogue dedicated to victims of Shoah. The cemetery is in a small area which houses many tombstones and many trees, I suggest you visiting it at the sunset.

Helpful?
Thank lderqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jewishmuseminprague, Manažer at Old Jewish Cemetery, responded to this review, 7 September 2015
Thank you for your review. We´ll be pleased to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Interesting but obviously similar to British cemetery”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I visited this place with a few friends from college, we found it interesting seeing all the different size gravestones and couldn't believe how close they were put together. It was an intense experience and I would definitely say it evoked a powerful emotion being in there. We didn't have a guide or an audio tape so we probably missed a lot of the historical side of the visit. We only spent about 10 mins here looking around overall. Our tickets were included with the Spanish Synagogue and the Pinkas Synagogue which cost 200CZK for us as we're students. On a side note, the staff there were very rude and unhelpful, for a good 20 minutes we didn't know where we were going and none of them were willing to help us even though they could speak some English!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TasminMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jewishmuseminprague, Tým podpory webu TripAdvisorFront Office Manager at Old Jewish Cemetery, responded to this review, 9 October 2015
Thank you for your review. Regarding our staff, each unfriendly conduct of our employees is a violation of internal regulations. We regret you felt uncomfortable and apologize on behalf of our staff. We welcome specific description of your unpleasant experience so we could deduce concrete conclusions and prevent its recurrence.
Thank you for your visit, we will be happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just a quick round”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was a bit curious about this famous cemetery, but it was the last in my list to see in Prague. However, the ticket to go to Spanish Synagogue was a combined ticket for Old Jewish Cemetery and Pinkas Synagogue (200 czk for student) so I visited the cemetery. Well it was intense, to know thousands of Jews were buried in this area. Not to mention, this is a huge cemetery with tombs on top of each other. Probably will be better if I had audio guide, so that I can learn about the history. If you were just walking through the cemetery, there is nothing much to see than endless of tombs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank loraharriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jewishmuseminprague, Tým podpory webu TripAdvisorFront Office Manager at Old Jewish Cemetery, responded to this review, 9 October 2015
Thank you for your review. We´ll be pleased to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1,212 reviews
393 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Experience with a Local Guide”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The cemetery is interesting as part of the whole Jewish Quarter experience. We enjoyed a guided tour which enabled us to find out detailed info and we were able to ask clarifying questions. The cemetery was used for several centuries which is clearly documented. The grave stones in many cases were very impressive. It was evident that there were extremely wealthy people and poor people buried here. You could easily spend an hour here but half an hour would suffice.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jewishmuseminprague, Manažer at Old Jewish Cemetery, responded to this review, 7 September 2015
Thank you for your review. We´ll be pleased to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Old Jewish Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing