We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Prague Loreto

The Prague Loreto
Book In Advance
More Info
US$304.77*
and up
Musical Prague Private Tour
Ranked #53 of 928 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Baroque-style shrine housing liturgical treasures including the famous star-shaped "Sun of Prague," which is studded with 6,222 diamonds. Place of pilgrimage, Loreto Treasure, baroque carillon, 3D model of newly discovered Crypt with special macabre fresco paintings.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
469 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Not really worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The small cloisters and courtyard are pretty, but nothing special. The strange little chapel plopped in the middle of the courtyard is remarkable for the black Madonna statue, but that's the best part of the whole place. There's a small treasury upstairs with some church objects, but it's small.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank slsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    186
    60
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Interesting visit, not just a church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Not put off by reviews that seemed to imply this was just another church we went along and really enjoyed our visit. First of all after leaving behind the two art museums with the rudest guards on the planet we were greeted by a ticket seller who was really pleasant and even laughed with us when we joked about her trying to sell us a program. Inside it was an interesting lay out with cloisters to wander around as well as the small church. The Treasury upstairs was small but packed with more jewels than you could possibly need.
Please go. A lot of people seem to moan about admission prices but compared to charges for sights in London we think Prague is a bargain.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderous treasury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This monastery is not on the usual list of Prague visits, but it is definitely worth half a day Take your time to see the monastery and the treasury.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would Skip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We walked to Loreta from the old town. As a guide book told us that it was a great place to visit. Well we was shocked that went we got to loreta. The placed looked so run down. Its not due to lack of money the place is turning over. As a visit inside is more than any other church in the area. They was plenty of visitors as well.

Would advise going and looking around the outside (at a distance) as its falling apart. But the rest of the area around is lovely. So take that in while your there.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The High Baroque just doesn't do it for me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I have well and truly now had my fill of gilded Rococco cherubs and ornate paintings of saints with their boobs cut off and/or pierced by arrows. This church was a bit over rated I think- just not pretty enough.The bells rang out and that was nice. The monstrances were Very Liberace.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Prague Loreto also viewed

 

Been to The Prague Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing