We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baby Angels are obnoxious”
Review of The Prague Loreto

The Prague Loreto
Book In Advance
More Info
US$325.99*
and up
Musical Prague Private Tour
More Info
US$71.13*
and up
Private Photography Tour of Prague by Night
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
3-hours Combi E-Scooter and Segway Tour
Ranked #53 of 956 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Baroque-style shrine housing liturgical treasures including the famous star-shaped "Sun of Prague," which is studded with 6,222 diamonds. Place of pilgrimage, Loreto Treasure, baroque carillon, 3D model of newly discovered Crypt with special macabre fresco paintings.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Baby Angels are obnoxious”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Loreto Church in the Lesser Town has many attractively unique features. There is a courtyard with a massive bas relief mausoleum-looking monument covered with exquisite carvings of saints and enclosing a chapel with a black Madonna and infant Jesus; and a priceless treasury includes a monstrance with over 6000 diamonds.

The opulently adorned interior of the church is also unique in at least one aspect, but we didn’t find it attractive at all. We found it hideous. Hundreds of ugly baby angels, small and large, hover over or hug many of the statues, paintings, and the organ. They have bulging eyes, red-smeared lips, bloated bellies, and perhaps their most obnoxious quality, self-satisfied grins. These angels take away from the overall grandeur of the church. If you are in the area, it is a nice quick visit, but not worth great effort to find it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieandStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    199
    63
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“underwhelming after seeing ST. Vitus/Miculas”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I visited this weekend with visitors. This was a first for me even though I live in the Prague area.
This was something we didn't do on the original day of site seeing coming down from the castle area..so, on their last day we specfically decided to go to Loreta from from the opposite of the river to get there and then pay admission. I wasn't planning to enter but my guests offered to pay and since I had never been, I decided to check it out.

I guess you could say I just wasn't really so excited about this. Nothing negative but it is something that I would not put high on my list/probably exclude from my list when future visitors come.

After visiting St. Vitus and St. Mikulas churches, this was sort of an afterthought. If you are short on time, I would skip it as there are lots of other things to look at/explore and spend your time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank tejashombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
1,432 reviews
951 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Amazing Monestary”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a must see in Prague, there is a courtyard surrounded with a hallway containing incredible works of art and at the back is a very beautiful and ornate chapel on the second floor is some of the most incredible church art you can imagine.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful set of buildings on castle Hill”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is it in the main part of Castle Hill but a little ways off to the west. Nonetheless it's worth trying to make time to go here. The chapel and grounds are very beautiful and serene, and they even have some more unusual stuff such as a treasury of over-the-top diamond studded monstrances.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichelleI_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Loreto Prague is worth a look for an insight into the architecture and religious influence on the city.
Advantages:
- Lots to look at both inside and outside in the court yard.
- Interesting collection of "treasures"

Needs Improvement:
- Charging for the right to take photos on top of the entrance fee
- Layout of the upstairs rooms is tricky
- Admitting large tour groups in one group, who take up whole rooms or sections together inconveniencing other visitors.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CailineRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Prague Loreto also viewed

 

Been to The Prague Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing