We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly romantic birthday treat hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Palais Art Hotel Prague
Ranked #37 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly romantic birthday treat hotel”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay at Le Palais and are still commenting on what a lovely hotel it was. We thought the location was perfectly situated in what appeared to be an affluent residential area - lots of hairdresser salons and ladies in fur coats walking little dogs! Arriving in the evening I would definately recommend booking the hotel's BMW pick up service from airport.
On arrival the charming Receptionist gave us a brief guided tour of the Hotel and facilities in our lovely room. My husband had emailed in advance that it was my birthday and I believe we were upgraded and a complimentary bottle of champagne on ice was awaiting us. Since it was fairly late we opted for a bar meal - I had the most delicious goats cheese quiche with a lovely crisp white wine. My husband had a beef burger which he said was homemade and very good but was more delighted to find a comprehensive selection of excellent quality whiskys!
Saturday morning we were presented with a birthday glass of champagne at breakfast. Saturday evening our dining table was beautifully decorated with a red silk heart, red petals and candles. The fire in the dining room was lit and the table inbetween was moved to one side so we could appreciate it. The attentive service was second to none, the food and wine delicious. It was so good in fact we didn't bother to go and find another restaurant or bar, we preferred to stay put in this lovely hotel.
Prague centre was easy to get to, the first day we walked a brisk downhill (realistic) 15 - 20 minutes. The second day we wanted to get straight to the Old Town, a 10 minute walk to the metro (located in a pretty square, which at the time had a Christmas market) then 3 stops on the train. I believe the hotel does a drop off and pick up service as well.
Whilst looking for my birthday gift what we didn't appreciate is that there is a garnet mine about 2 hours from Prague so the jewellery shops sell mostly garnet set items. Not a problem! I chose a lovely pair of unique gold and garnet earrings from a shop in the old town Jewish area.
All in all a wonderful visit to Prague made special by the hotel's unique service, thank you.

ps. If you go in winter please don't under estimate the cold! You must must have good boots, coats, scarfs, gloves and especially hats. If you dress accordingly you will have a lovely time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripperBinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    151
    28
    7
    1
See reviews for
101
487
41
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newport Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

we have just returned from a week end in Prague. On reading reviews stayed at this hotel....it was wonderful. The staff are friendly & helpful, food was good.....room comfortable. My husband & l had a wonderful week end & next December we will return, so many amazing places to visit.....& a hotel definately worth returning to....Thank you Le alais for a wonderful week end .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Le Palais is the setting of a superb thriller, travel novel called The God Complex. My wife packed it in my carry on as a surprise for my flight from NYC. I finished it by the time the plane touched down. It was riveting, and I had no desire to sleep until I found out what happened to Steve Benson. It turned my stay into a unique experience by painting a complete picture of the city, right down to the cafe a stone's throw away from the hotel. I highly recommend it. At the end of the book, there was a link to view story line images - http://godcomplexbook.com. In addition to pictures, there was a map you can download and take a one-day tour based upon the book. If you are heading to Prague, definitely get the book and print out the map. It's worth the money, even if you plan to take a guided tour.

Regarding the hotel, no expense was spared on the facilities. The view was magnificent, and the concierge staff was exceptionally helpful in recommending restaurants, planning transportation and meeting rooms, as well as catering. The location was not the most central, but it's only a metro stop from the city's center. However, I felt like I was getting a local flavor, which I enjoyed tremendously. I admit that my experience was partly influenced by having read a book set in the location. With that said, I would prefer this location again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed with another couple for 5 days towards the end of Nov.As previously mentioned by other reviewers it is a little way from the centre,but the hotel shuttle service(up market BMW cars!) is perfectly suited to take you into town.The advantage is that you stay in a nice suburb of Prague which is a nice change after the hubble and bubble of the centre.
An extremely attractive hotel very friendly,excellent service ,the rooms are very comfortable the cleaning staff very attentive and did a great job.Didnt actually eat in the main restaurant but the breakfast was great covered most peoples needs.
The hotel has an excellent spa and a very well equiped(if very underused) gym.
Prague is a beautiful city,dont go there for the gastronomy...but as a base to visit it I cannot recomend Le Palais highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel is a treasure - beautifully decorated, spacious rooms, great dining room and library with WiFi. Although it is not located in the heart of the historic area, it offers free shuttle services several times per day to its sister property which is located in the historic center. You have the best of both worlds - a quiet residential setting for a great value and convenient and free transportation to the historic sites and shopping. I would highly recommend a stay in this fine hotel where they pay attention to detail and friendly service. My marble bathroom floor was even heated!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janacorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed three nights at Le Palais and we have no really complaints.

Pros:
- Beautiful architecture, situated in a real neighborhood with local people live next door.
- Delicious breakfast - whole grain bread never tasted better. I'm quite pleased with the food at the hotel.
- Use of spa facility is free of charge for hotel guests. Gorgeous and huge Jacuzzi pool, sauna room and steam room are also very good. Very clean. The time we visited, which was usually mid morning after breakfast, we always had the whole place by ourselves, so it was nice and quiet.
- Good service, with welcome drinks and individual tour of the property, etc.

Cons:
- Near zero storage space in the room. The room was quite small (at least the one we stayed in), but small was not the problem. The problem was the room design really did not provide sufficient space for us to take things out of the luggage.
- 2 metro stations all about 5 blocks away. There is a tram station that is even closer. Prague's public transportation is great, just buy a 1 day or 3 day unlimited ticket and you can go anywhere. But since we visited in November, 5-blocks is a lot in sub zero weather, especially coming back from a day of touring. I guess I wanted to say that the hotel location is still inconvenient compare with other hotels, even though the hotel does offer a shuttle.

But overall, I'm glad that I chose La Palais.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzwy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePalaisPrague, General Manager at Le Palais Art Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences of your recent stay at the Hotel Le Palais Prague with us and other travelers.
It is a pleasure for us to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and relaxation in our Health Club.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely Yours,

Petr Marek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend and had a wonderful experience. Staff were very friendly, rooms were spacious with elegant decor and breakfast was served in a lovely room overlooking the city. The hotel even provides a town car to the main square. I recommend getting the refreshing facial at the spa! Great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 649 in Prague
601 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#41 of 649 in Prague
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,403 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
Cosmopolitan Hotel Prague
#32 of 649 in Prague
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palais Art Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palais Art Hotel Prague

Property: Le Palais Art Hotel Prague
Address: U Zvonarky 65/1, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Palais Art Hotel Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1841, restored from 1888 until 1897, the luxury Le Palais Art Hotel is a striking example of Belle Epoque architecture. The historic ornamental stucco and magnificent wall paintings help to create an unforgettable impression. A special atmosphere can be found in the spacious rooms and suites at our luxury hotel in Prague. The intimate size of le Palais (72 rooms) guarantees a different approach to our guests, a personal, refined approach in every single detail. This attention to the details, the personal touches and guest oriented assistance distils in a uniquely Italian artistic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Palais Art Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing