We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel for a honeymoon stay but beware of expensive extras” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Palais Art Hotel Prague

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Le Palais Art Hotel Prague
Ranked #38 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel for a honeymoon stay but beware of expensive extras”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at this beautiful hotel in December 2008 for 4 days on our honeymoon. Even before we got there, I had emailed the hotel with some queries and I received very quick answers, advice and information from Petra who could not have been more helpful!
The hotel arranged for our pickup from the airport and on arrival we were greeted by name and with an upgrade to the Balcon Suite! The room was the best I had stayed in, 2 rooms, a bedroom and seperate lounge. Everything in the room was complimentary (mini bar, Nesspresso machine etc) and was supremely comfortable. The bathroom was also excellent, big bath and big shower.
The restaurant was very good, breakfasts were well cooked and there was a good choice. We had one evening meal there which was also good (this meal was included with our stay) but would have otherwise been very expensive.
The spa facilites were good, steam room and sauna were hot and the jacuzzi was also up to standard. The downside was the huge cost of the spa treatments. Even for a regular massage you were looking at nearly £100, a similar massage in a good quality UK spa would be under half of that.
That brings me onto the minor problems with the hotel. The 'extras' such as laundry, pressing, spa and room service were horrendously expensive. Room service in particular, where you had to pay a charge of £13 to have the food delivered to your room BEFORE you actually ordered anything, was unforgivable. I have stayed at some of the best hotels around the world and this was the first that charged anywhere near that amount. Laundry was charged at an extra 50% if heaven forbid you wanted it done on a weekend, and as the hotel refused to supply an ironing board in room, I would have expected the pressing to either be cheap or complimentary. It was neither. If you do not normally use these services then fine, but we wanted a massage and one evening a cosy night in with some food, but would not pay these over inflated prices.
However, do not let this put you off. We had a wonderful time here, and the staff were excellent, very polite, friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again.
ps: Location wise, it was only a 10 minute gentle stroll from the top of Wencelas Square and not as some would have you believe miles and miles from the centre of Prague.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    144
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
98
474
40
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

After considering The Four Seasons, The Mandarin Oriental, The Palace Hotel, The Savoy and The Intercontinental, I finally decided on Le Palais - and what a fortunate choice it was, one on the Leading Hotels. Lucky to get an upgrade without asking ( embarrassing) and the "room" took my breath away. Excellent manager, wonderful attentive staff, wonderful sauna and steam room, excellent cuisine - what more can one say.
Thank-you Le palais for a memorable stay.

George Redelinghuys.
Helsinki,
Finland

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

An excellent hotel for business and leisure, very well trained staff and efficient management. Know many 5-stars Hotels in Prague but this one is still the best. Especially ask for the petit suites (junior suites), very charming and roomy.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KArbi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,GB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

We stayed at the Le Palais hotel on the last weekend in January. I’ve planned our trip to Prague for some time and wanted that to be really perfect as I meant it as a surprise for my wife. The Le Palais hotel didn’t let me down, they helped me to organize the airport pick up, booked us in for a spa treatment, dinner at their restaurant as well as recommended another places to try. Overall very nicely decorated hotel – I loved the library with a fireplace – it’s very nice and cozy. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly (we were even escorted to the room by a manager); I can only compliment the food in the restaurant and was very satisfied with the spa treatment too. Will definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank London_GBJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

I have chosen Hotel Le Palais Prague after reading the reviews here and I was not disapointed!
The hotel is wonderful with cozy ambience, we had dinner one day in restaurant with the fireplace and the meal was excellent.
The Spa is new and the Spa treatments take you to heaven!
But what made the biggest impression was the staff - everyone we met was so nice and helpful, they were always smiling and you could feel that they really care of you.
I look forward to come back one day!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank akathleen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

We went for four night break and were not disappointed with this upmarket hotel. Massive bedroom and bed, spotless beautiful bathroom with underfloor heating !
Electric blackout blind ensured we could have a good lie in as first night away from baby !
Bed and breakfast basis and it was a superb spread, best of all breakfast served until midday !
Although not in the centre of Prague the walk into town is only ten minutes, if you dont get the tram.
The mini bar is free and topped up daily.
Nothing negative to say about this hotel. One minor point is that if you use the hotel shuttle service it costs alot more than if you shop around before hand.
A classy hotel, friendly and efficient staff which is well worth the extra cost.

  • Liked — All of it !
  • Disliked — Distance to centre, however that is a very minor thing and only put this as nothing else !
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 1537harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

My wife and I stayed at La Palais for five days over New Year. We booked a special package that included a room upgrade and full use of the Hotel Mercedes. We were welcomed at the airport by the driver who took us straight to the Hotel. First impressions were promising, and we too were offered a complimentary drink in the Library which was very nice. The reception area, Library and Bar are all very nicely appointed. After the drink, we were shown to our room, which again, was very inviting and clean, but we were dissapointed that it was qite small (especially as we had paid for the upgrade). We rang reception to check, and after some deliberation, they apologised and took us to an executive room. The room rates at La Palais include free use of the mini bar, a nice touch, but try not to get too excited. There is a couple of cans of beer, wine, fruit juice and water, and a couple of chocolates. On the whole, we liked the room and bathroom. The package also included a meal at their restaurant. We had a lovely meal, and the breakfasts were also lovely with plenty of choice and as much as you can eat. The staff were also very efficient and polite.
On the night before New Years Eve, we were alseep in the room at about 1am, when an evacuation warning started playing. We got dressed and went to reception, but nobody seemed to know what was happening. Eventually, the problem was traced to some very hot water coming out of a pipe in one of the ground floor corridors. We all went back to bed, and had just gone back to sleep when the alarm went off again. We again got dressed and went down stairs, but the staff were still clueless. Again, it was teh same problem. This event, and teh problem with the room upgrade prevent us from giving a rating of 5

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a7ftt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
#45 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,654 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#37 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#39 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boscolo Prague, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palais Art Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palais Art Hotel Prague

Property: Le Palais Art Hotel Prague
Address: U Zvonarky 65/1, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Palais Art Hotel Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1841, restored from 1888 until 1897, the luxury Le Palais Art Hotel is a striking example of Belle Epoque architecture. The historic ornamental stucco and magnificent wall paintings help to create an unforgettable impression. A special atmosphere can be found in the spacious rooms and suites at our luxury hotel in Prague. The intimate size of le Palais (72 rooms) guarantees a different approach to our guests, a personal, refined approach in every single detail. This attention to the details, the personal touches and guest oriented assistance distils in a uniquely Italian artistic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Palais Art Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing