We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old beauty in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa
Ranked #334 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Mikkeli, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old beauty in good location”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was our third stay in this old hotel in Prague. The location of this hotel is the best possible in town.
Breakfast was good , miscellaneous and sufficient, room and bathroom clean and big enough and view to the Venceslas sguare was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartkova, Director of Sales at Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your good comments. We are happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and it feels great to read you had a wonderful stay with us. Again thank you and we look forward to welcome you back to the Ambassador Zlata Husa hotel.

Wish you Happy New Year!

Your Sincerely,

Stanislava Bartkova
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    309
    185
    81
    58
See reviews for
163
341
40
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Fantastic location with one drawback regarding this coming back late one night , noticed a group of nefarious looking characters hanging around outside the entrance, later found out there is a brothel below the hotel,
The hotel has real character but smells musty , had a upgrade to the vip breakfast room and it was excellent however first day the toaster wasnt working , I mentioned it to a member of staff , who to be fair were very pleasant , it still wasnt fixed or replaced when we left,
From pleasant staff in the breakfast room , the bar area was the exact opposite , rude was a understatement, I booked a taxi one evening to visit a retaurant called pilsna urquart , from reception, a nice vw passat turned up , and the driver spent about 5 mins chatting to the receptionist , I guess a realative or friend the taxi wasnt licensed , and like fools we got in the car , on arrival yes we were over charged , based on the return taxi fare , the guy in the restaurant told me only get into a AAA taxi , I would never return to this hotel even for free.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank korkster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartkova, Director of Sales at Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay in April 2013 at Ambassador Zlata Husa Prague.

it was very disappointing that your experience wasn't as enjoyable, especially regarding transportation services. I am truly sorry for the fact that you were not feeling valued and appreciated however I would like to assure you that this kind of experience does not reflect on our usual service. You can be asured that this will not happen again in the future.

All the best and Happy New Year 2014 !

Sincerely,

Stanislava Bartkova
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had an outstanding stay in the Hotel Ambassador-Zlata Husa, when we stayed here with my boyfriend on a romantic stay. THe staff was really nice and we enjoyed the great spa, inlcuding all differnet Thai massages. We than had a lovely dinner at the french restaurant. The great think about this hotel is the location, it is situated right in the center, so you are close to the sightseeing places and also to the shopping area. Plus you have a lot of restaurants and bars and clubs around. The national theatre is just 5 min by walk, which also fantastic. When we come back we will definately stay in Ambassador-Zlata husa again...:)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lida699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartkova, Director of Sales at Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for investing your time and sharing such a positive review regarding your recent stay at the Ambassador Zlata Husa Prague, Prague with the TripAdvisor Community.

I am very delighted to hear that you keep spending wonderful time at our hotel, your kind and enthusiastic comments are our best reward - rest assured that your compliments have been shared with the rest of the team.

Happy New Year 2014!
Looking forarw to welcome you again soon.

Stanislava Bartkova
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Hotel is in good location. Besides nothing good about it. Front desk male staff were extremely rude and unhelpful. My wife was pissed off completely by their behavior. To be specific if you ask a second time for directions the answer was I already told you yesterday. As most of the names are new, tourist are bound to ask again but this kind of behavior was unacceptable. Rooms and bathrooms are not five star. Breakfast is okay. There are cheaper and better hotels available as we found out later.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartkova, Director of Sales at Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,
First I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay at Ambassador Zlata Husa Prague. Even the bad comments are very helpful. Of course it was very disappointing that your experience wasn't enjoyable.
Your comments regarding the behavour of our reception staff has been taken very serious. We have informed the relevant department head and measurements have been taken in order to avoid similar situations in the future.

Wish you Happy New Year!
With best regards from Prague,

Stanislava Bartkova
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Why would I stay anywhere else? The Hotel was wonderful. Great location. The suite was
perfect, large with beautiful view. The staff was extremely friendly, professional and helpful.
Valet guys were fast and smiling. I would recommend the Ambassador Hotel!! High class and
luxury!! I shall return!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartkova, Director of Sales at Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a complimentary review regarding your stay with us.

I am very delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay at Ambassador Zlata Husa Prague.
Thank you for your recommendation and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Happy New Year 2014!!
With best regards

Stanislava Bartkova
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinsheim, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Location is indeed perfect and you get valet parking, which in the center of Prague would be otherwise very challenging. Is minutes away from all attractions and restaurants, so ideal for city trips. Breakfast buffet is good and rich. And it is clean. Was nice to have a whirlpool in the bathroom.
The bad is: as a couple, twin beds are a nightmare. They have many rooms with view to the other side of the building, which is awful if you keep curtains open. And many rooms still with old, bulky CRT television sets. Furniture probably still original and not renewed since emperor times (no, not talking about antiques, just about old furniture without value or design). Towels were broken, bath robes were plain from so much washing. And service..oh well. Bellboys were very polite and nice, but in the restaurant..they were pulling pants up and shirts in in the middle of the restaurant, stepping over you at buffet or pushing you away to refill something. Obviously, never trained.
I would not recommend it. Rather go for a tiny 3* in the center, there are plenty of them, cheap and clean.

Room Tip: Do insist to get another one if room doesn't fit you. The ones facing the square are good isolat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartkova, Director of Sales at Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review regarding your stay in our hotel as even the bad comments are very helpful. Of course it was very disappointing that your experience wasn't enjoyable.

It is disturbing to hear about your disappointments especially regarding the stafff, I would like to assure you that this kind of experience does not reflect on our usual service. I have already passed your comments to my colleagues. We are provide the regular training to all our staff for guest relation, where we already discussed your review.

Wish you Happy New Year,
With regards from Prague,
Stanislava Bartkova
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I've been in the Ambassador hotel for two nights due to a business trip. The personell was more or less friendly, the rooms were huge and nicely decorated. The breakfast was chaotic, crowded and loud so it was not much a relaxing atmosphere. The bar was actually okay and the hotel itself has some kinde of nice "old fashioned" flair. The best at this hotel is its location as it's located absolutely centrally in Prague. So e.g. to the Chain Bridge, I would say, it's a 10 minutes walk.

In total I would go there again for a city trip but I would then have breakfast and other meals outside of the hotel - there are better places.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mattsiefert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartkova, Director of Sales at Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay at Ambassador Zlata Husa Prague. It feels great to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your appreciative comments about our breakfast, I passed your feedback to my colleague from F&B Department.

Indeed, the convenient location of our hotel is an advantage since it provides accessibility to many points of interest, such as those you mentioned in your review.

Wish you Happy New Year and hope we will meet you again in Ambassador Zlata Husa hotel.

Stanislava Bartkova
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Adria Hotel Prague
Adria Hotel Prague
#168 of 649 in Prague
636 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Esplanade Prague
Hotel Esplanade Prague
#235 of 649 in Prague
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#72 of 649 in Prague
708 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jalta Boutique Hotel
Jalta Boutique Hotel
#114 of 649 in Prague
1,253 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#38 of 649 in Prague
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa

Property: Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa
Address: Vaclavske namesti 840 / 5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Prague
#45 Spa Hotel in Prague
#227 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Nouveau style building - Hotel Ambassador - Zlata Husa***** is located in the city center on the pedestrian zone of famous Wenceslas Square boulevard, surrounded by renowned historical and cultural monuments as well as a commercial district, department stores, luxury shops and a large number of private restaurants, cafes and clubs. Tastefully furnished comfortable rooms are all air-conditioned, they have private marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi bath and separate shower. All rooms are equipped with minibar, SAT TV, direct dial phone with voice machine, free wi-fi connection, safety deposit box and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ambassador Zlata Husa
Ambassador Zlata Husa Hotel
Top Hotel Prague
Prague Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing