We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and strange structured building...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa
Ranked #342 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The location is wonderful, just 10 minutes walk to old town. There is supermarket "Albert" in walking distance. I'm afraid I can't say that it is 5 star hotel, because the building is old, room was not clean, fridge was out of order. Also, the structure of the building is weird。My room was located in 1st floor, but I had to go up to 2nd floor, then down stairs to my floor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank yanyan-doggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

On arrival at this hotel on Wednesday 9 July my expectations were high - soon to be disillusioned. We are part of a tour group of 39. The hotel is on Wenceslas Square, great for seeing all the sights and public transport, also as we discovered, for live entertainment. Our room was on the 3rd floor at the front in the Zlata Husa part of the hotel. Very dated, hot, extremely noisy even with windows tightly shut and when the live music started the whole room vibrated and we had to shout to each other across the room. Enquired at reception how long it would be going on for and was told 9 pm. Returned to hotel at 9.30 and it was still going on, asked to move rooms but receptionist not sympathetic, felt like we were being a nuisance, he said it would finish at 10 or the police would come and shut it down - it did finish at 10 thankfully. Receptionist said it would also be on for the following 2 nights of our stay but only until 7 pm - lies, finished at 10. Also on first night the bed covers were turned down and a cheap chocolate placed on pillow. Opened bedside draweres only to find an old lollipop and, of all things, a tube of lubricant! After fellow travellers telling me that other guests were bringing prostitutes into the hotel I shouldn't have been surprised. It just shows the rooms are not cleaned and checked properly between guests. For a 5 star hotel it left a lot to be desired. The bath towels I would only use as rags, the bathroom floor was dirty as were the surfaces in the bedroom. The staff on reception not very helpful or interested. The breakfast not that brilliant though the pancakes were good. No tea/coffee facilities in room. Toiletries in bathroom quite good. Free wifi excellent. Prague itself we will return to, this hotel definitely not.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here as part of an organised holiday but hated it the moment we went upstairs to our room. Very, very dated with old fittings in the bathroom. No air conditioning despite the temperature being 30 degs. I scratched my leg on the springs sticking out the side of the mattress - there were several springs like this. Breakfast was okay. Some of the staff were surly and did not look at us when we spoke to them. I couldn't wait to leave!

Room Tip: Don't think any room would be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank YvonneJ495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Spent 3 nights in early July whilst in Prague. Location fantastic to see the wonderful sights of the city. Rooms disappointing, very old bed falling away on one side. Easy to roll off. No air-conditioning, had to leave window open 24/7. Breakfast range was very good, however staff were unhelpful and unable to smile. Complimentary drink vouchers were a waste of time, allowing only Sangria and juice to be chosen. Bar staff and porter were rude and require training. Could not telephone for a taxi from reception and were requested to return to room to call personally only to find that phone in room was broken. Enjoyed the location however.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emars2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It's location is very convenient. Train station is walking distance, shopping and restaurants are all around the hotel.Places of interest are also within walking range. Staffs were helpful too, the concierge even walk us right to the doorstep of the restaurant that he recommends. A good choice recommended by Beautiful World Travel agency.

Room Tip: Rooms behind has more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here. Hotel has 'old world' charm which may not appeal to everyone but location compensates. Breakfast, although not the most extensive we have experienced, there was sufficient choice. Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 401Robert_S545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you want to be in the happening area of Prague, then this location is the very best for shopping, clubbing, or whatever that takes your fancy. Very touristic and right in the heart of the action. Dated hotel, however the location makes up for everything. The house keeping definitely needs to be improved.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MosheKohli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Adria Hotel Prague
Adria Hotel Prague
#194 of 648 in Prague
713 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#73 of 648 in Prague
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jalta Boutique Hotel
Jalta Boutique Hotel
#113 of 648 in Prague
1,322 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Kings Court
Hotel Kings Court
#47 of 648 in Prague
2,984 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#26 of 648 in Prague
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa

Address: Vaclavske namesti 840 / 5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Prague
#46 Spa Hotel in Prague
#229 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £73 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Nouveau style building - Hotel Ambassador - Zlata Husa***** is located in the city center on the pedestrian zone of famous Wenceslas Square boulevard, surrounded by renowned historical and cultural monuments as well as a commercial district, department stores, luxury shops and a large number of private restaurants, cafes and clubs. Tastefully furnished comfortable rooms are all air-conditioned, they have private marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi bath and separate shower. All rooms are equipped with minibar, SAT TV, direct dial phone with voice machine, free wi-fi connection, safety deposit box and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ambassador Zlata Husa
Ambassador Zlata Husa Hotel
Top Hotel Prague
Prague Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing