We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice in Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Marcello
Ranked #162 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Solid choice in Prague”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Situated in a fully renovated old building, this family style hotel is close to Old Town Sq. and easy to get to. The popular new Beer Hall style pub "Lokal" is one corner away, as are the highly rated "Postel" and "La Degustation". Our rooms were ok. It had two baths, which would be nice but we didn't use the full tub. More seating would have been more practical - there was only one chair in the suite. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leviakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    249
    83
    25
    11
See reviews for
107
329
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate his 50th birthday. I had emailed the reception to ask them to arrange taxi transfer from the airport and also to put a bottle of champagne in the room! Both were done for us. The taxi was cheaper than if we booked it through BA. Upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a suite! The rooms were super, great bathroom which was very clean and modern. We had a wonderful view from our room of St Agnes church which at night was all lit up! Bed was large, super clean and very comfy. Fab mini bar and a tv if you wanted to watch it rather than explore the wonderful city of Prague. I will admit to being concerned when I saw the graffiti just outside the hotel but once we had explored Prague it was evident that it was a problem throughout the city! Breakfast was great! So much choice all lovely and fresh! We would like to return to Prague one day and would definately stay at Casa Marcello again. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knighttessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, Essex UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Having read some of the other reviews we were a bit concerned with what to expect for our 3 night stay. We noticed the graffiti on a lot of walls & 2 drunks opposite by the church. The location is in a quiet area but no noisy traffic. Not your typical style of hotel, very different. We were welcomed in reception & were given room 11 where you went through a door, down some stairs & up a few which led outside to a courtyard. Room 11 was on the ground floor. First impressions were a big room, modern bathroom with a shower cubicle but no bath, clean towels, even towelling bathrobes. I did notice there were no tea/coffee facilities which would have been nice if they considered this to be 4*. A big TV but a bit hit & miss if you found 2 of the English speaking channels without losing the signal. We found the kingsize bed took a bit of getting used to as the mattress was flat (maybe foam?), no springs & it had 2 SINGLE DUVET COVERS rather than the correct size for the bed. You wouldn't get this in a real 4* hotel. But it was QUIET. My previous hotel stay was near a more busy road, here it is quiet so we slept well. Because of the room location you don't get direct daylight quite so much. We found the breakfast met our expectations. Choice of juices in a jug but not cold although there is an ice bucket to cool it, fried eggs, bacon, sausage, grilled tomatoes & green beans. The hot food are in metal containers but was not always hot as I think the thermostat wasn't turned up high enough. The toaster only worked on 1 side of the slice of bread, so you had to turn it around to cook the other side. Haven't seen this before....!! Good choice of fresh fruit, cold meats, cheese. Some cornflakes or choices of muesli. Coffee machine & some sliced cake. Breakfast lasts till 10.30am which was very good. Scrambled eggs would have been a nice change or as well as the fried ones.
You are within a 10min walk to the Jewish Quarter & the square. We would stay here again for a short break if our other choices were not available.
The only negatives really are that on the last night of stay, we returned to find our room had not been cleaned, beds unmade or towels changed. On contacting reception, the guy Carlos was very apologetic & couldn't explain why this had happened. However he brought some clean towels & offered some drinks which my husband had a Sprite & I had wanted just a cup of tea. I had to explain that I wanted just for them to put the tea bag in a mug or pot, some hot water & leave the rest to me. They said they would bring the drinks to our room. Cold drink fine, tea pot with tea bag removed so undrinkable tea & a waste of time. So facilities in the room PLEASE...! Also some of the walls are in need of repair & re-decoration, especially by the door leading downstairs to the courtyard & room 11. Looks tatty.

If you are interested in boat trips, the tourist office will tell you about the ones down the bottom of the road off the square. However if you walk down to the Charles Bridge, there are smaller boats which take you where the larger ones can't, even down canals like being in Venice! You also get a drink & ice cream included & a more personal explanation of the locations. I like the way they are dressed as sailors as well! I don't know why these boat trips aren't more publicised?

So overall a comfortable stay in an usual style of hotel. Just change the mattress & perhaps provide some towelling slippers to go with the bathrobes! Could then become 4*?

Room Tip: Room 11 ground floor, quiet, but a bit tucked away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherHawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at Casa Marcello on our travel agent's recommendation but i have to say we were disappointed. Staff were pleasant but neither proactive nor informative. We asked for directions a couple of times but struggled to get any sensible responses. In the end we took our maps and just got on with it. A movement activated light shone directly into our room from the stair well outside our room and we over heard conversations from everyone coming and going. The bed had the wrong sized linen (it was a king size bed with double size linen), this was strange. There were also quite bad marks on the ceiling from previous water damage. It was clean and tidy though. It was hard to work out when the restaurant was open or closed as they also seem to have private functions. We did eat there on our first day though and the food was good. Communications with guests could be markedly improved. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Stay away from the stairwells
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueEllenW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a smaller hotel on a back street, so it is quiet, but still only 5-10 minutes from Old Town Square in one direction and about the same to two major shopping areas in another direction. The first room they assigned me was smaller than a solitary confinement cell at Terezin concentration camp, it had not been cleaned from the prior occupant, and half the lights did not work. It seems to be a common habit in many European hotels to give a single female traveler a substandard room because they think we won't complain. I did, and was given a much better nicer and larger room overlooking an interior courtyard. Overall, a good hotel, as long as you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent.england
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Our first time in Prague. Loved the city amazing architecture. Casa Marcello was perfect . Massive room queen size bed all decorated beautifully spotless large modern bathroom cleaned daily. Clean towels daily. Breakfast . Was great lots to choose from all fresh. Would love to go back . Great place 5 minute walk to old town .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fire-fly1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Where do I start? Booked for a 3 night stay. We didn't stay for one ,we moved to another hotel,also a 4 star how you can compare is beyond me!! ( maxamillan hotel superb 4 star)
Just a little insight into our experience . Booked through Kirker,not sure why they use this place !!
Sofa bed for a young adult was a plastic coated mattress,no more than 3 inches off the floor. To make the bed appear longer there was a duvet folded over and covered in a sheet . The spare pillows stuffed in a trunk along with a duvet cover were filthy.( photos taken)
The duvet for the sofa bed was thin grubby and had no cover.( photos taken)
Bathroom was clean,but no shower,only a hand held shower.
Our linen on our bed looked clean.
Carpet and room looked very tired.manger was called several times never made an appearance !!

Room Tip: Don't stay there it's awful.Go round the corner,to maxamillan a really Fab hotel worthy of 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#81 of 649 in Prague
534 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#140 of 649 in Prague
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
2,349 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#220 of 649 in Prague
612 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#72 of 649 in Prague
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Marcello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Marcello

Property: Hotel Casa Marcello
Address: Rasnovka 783/1 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Prague
#139 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#154 Business Hotel in Prague
#197 Family Hotel in Prague
#199 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Marcello 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa Marcello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marcello Hotel
Casa Marcello Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing