We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Prague
Ranked #100 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Booked directly on hotel website, selected for 2 Executive rooms with 38sq. meters for my family of 4 but were given two different size rooms. Worst still, one room with scaffolding outside window but with no warning that hotel is under renovation. Spoke to manager on duty re: sizes of rooms and its like talking to a wall. From est. calculation, one room is approx. 31 sq. mtrs. Will lodge official complaint with hotel HQ. Great location though, all attractions and landmarks within walking distances.

Room Tip: Select Classic Room for EUR160 instead of Executive at EUR220.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank s00ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear s00ng,

thank you for taking your precious time sharing your experiences on tripadvisor. I am very disappointed to read that you were not at all satisfied with your rooms at our hotel. You are right that our executive rooms have different sizes, due to its location within the building, but I can assure you that the minimum size including the bathroom is 38qm.
Nevertheless I hope that we will get the chance to welcome you again and show you that we can offer much more than only the best location.
with kind regards
Oliver Geyer
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,863 - 1,869 of 2,731 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

Nice hotel by the river and on the boutiques street. If you are going for shopping in Prague - the best place to stay.
Not far from metro station - about 7 minutes to go.
A lot of places to eat in this area so no problems if you want to go out for a dinner.
The room (standard one) is good, clean, good service. Very nice breakfast.
Compare to the other hotels where i stayed in Prague - this is the best one, i can recommend it for staying.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vereshchagin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Vereshchagin,
thank you very much for your positive feedback on tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that we are your favorite hotel in Prague. I hope we will see you soon again.
with kind regards
Oliver Geyer
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

after driving for 6hrs from frankfurt to arrive at 2AM, i arrived to a very unfriendly Mr Jarda at reception. No smiles, no greetings, no offer to assist or answer any usual touristy questions, then without asking, he gave us a smoking room.
there's only 3 things good in this hotel - location, breakfast and gym. everything else is 3* and below.
and parking at EUR40 is just crazy when hotel next door is charging EUR28, and street parking is free on weekends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank khiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

Dear khiang,

thank you very much for your honest and candid feedback. I am very disappointed to read about your experience with our front desk staff and you can be assured that we take this serious and will make sure that this is not happening again.
Furthermore the prices for Garage are comparable to similar hotels in the city center. Our garage is 24 hours supervised not only by cameras also by security people.
I hoep you will give us another chance to show you that we can do better in the areas you mentioned.
with kind regards
Oliver Geyer
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment and even now, during this period the hotel is a pleasant place to stay.

The location of the hotel is great. A mere stroll from all the attractions and more importantly, located over looking the river.

We had a double aspect suite, great size sitting and dining area, two bathrooms with jacuzi's and a huge bedroom. The views from all the areas were nothing short of stunning.

We ate in the hotel and the food was very good, the service was a little slower at the busier times, but the staff were very pleasant.

I have stayed here twice before and will return.

Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M3N_XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

Dear M3N_XX,

thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with other travellers.
You are absolutely right that we can offer great views either to the river Vltava, the castle or to the 100 pikes of the city.
We cleaned this autumn parts of our facade, which caused scaffolding in some areas. They are gone in the meantime. I am very happy to hear that you nevertheless felt comfortable during your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you hopefully back soon.

with kind regards
Oliver Geyer
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Every one talks about the great location and they are right on. But in addition I found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and knowledgable. The gourmet restaurant and buffet were excellent. The last 2 visits were with my sons who had never seen Prague. This May I am taking my wife back for our 29th anniversary. She has never seen Prague and the hotel with its spectactulor views of the castle and river will be a great introduction. The hotel has a very large lobby with sitting, eating, and drinking areas which is unusual in todays newer hotels.

Room Tip: The larger rooms with views of castle and river are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

Dear steve s,

thank you so much for your positive feedback on tripadvisor. I really appreciate especially your comment about our staff and our restaurant Zlata Praha in the 9th foor, which has the best views n town.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and your wife back in Prague.

with kind regards
Oliver Geyer
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I spent 3 nights at the Intercontinental Prague during the second weekend of September and it was a very pleasant stay. My reservation was made by AMEX Platinum Prime Travel Tour and I received an upgrade to a Junior Suite with great views of Vlatava River and Prague Castle + daily buffet breakfast + late check-out until 16h + €85 credit for dinner at the fine restaurant of the hotel, Zlata Praha.

The hotel is perfectly located right in front of the Vlatava River and one of the main streets of the Old Town - Parizská Street - where you will find a lot of shops with the finest brands. You are also a few minutes walking from the Charles Bridge and the Old Town Square with many restaurants, shops, the Tyn Church and the Astronomical Clock (you must see the light show at night there, it's awesome!!).

Prague is not a large city, so if you are a walker like me, you are walking distance from every sightseeing places in the city, including the Prague Castle. But if you don't like to walk you can take the tram which is very efficient and cheap. Many people in Prague advised me to NOT TAKE TAXIS in the streets, the taxi drivers are not nice, they cheat you and make your run very expensive. The only trustable company is the AAA taxis and if you need one just ask for the Concierge and he will call a trustable one for you. Or you can do the same as I did twice, use the hotel Limo, they have a very reasonable price.

Let's talk about the hotel, they offer a large fitness center, an indoor pool with glass roof, so you can have some sun bath, a SPA (I didn't use it) and 2 main restaurants: the Primátor where they offer a huge buffet breakfast and it's also open to lunch and dinner; the Zlata Praha, the fine restaurant on the top floor with great views of the Old Town, open only for dinner (dress code and reservation are required). They also offer a Bar for drinks and cocktails beside the lobby.

The nightlife in Prague is very nice (and crowded), you must experience the dance clubs and have some fun at least one night to see the local traditions. You should also try the U-Pavoulka restaurant with its medieval dinner and dance performances, very nice!!

I must say that the service at the Intercontinental is good but not exceptional as at the Mandarin Oriental or the Four Seasons hotels and some top 5-star hotels around the world where you are pampered all the time. The staff is a kind of cold and impersonal, much turned to business, but they were kind and it served to my needs during my stay.

Yes, there is a Mandarin Oriental and a Four Seasons in Prague but the MO is a little bit far from the city center, and the FS is more than double the price of Intercontinental. So, for these reasons I've chosen the Intercontinental to stay. I highly recommend this hotel because of the cheap rates and specially for its perfect location, I would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river and castle views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RodolphoBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear soszeus,

thank you so much that you took your precious time to write such a detailed report about your stay. I am very happy to read that almost everything was to your satisfaction. Certainly I will address your feedback about the staff attitude being cold und impersonal.
I really hope we will see you soon back in Prague.
with kind regards
Oliver Geyer
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

if you are looking to visit Prague, you would be hard pressed to find a better place to stay, if you want a 5 star hotel.
I have just returned today and must say, this hotel is in a fantastic position, within the city, the facilities are excellent within the hotel and the service offered was 1st Class, right from check in through to check out, it was hard to find anything that could have been done better.
The hotel limosine service is also very good and worth using, you may think you pay more, but if its reliabilty, comfort, and safety you want, its well worth it.
This Interconti, for service, in my opinion, is right up there with interconti in Amsterdam and Abu Dhabi.
If you want to go to Prague, what is a fantastic city and you want 5 star, give this hotel a go, you wont be disapointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubaiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Dear dubaiman,

I appreciate your positive feedback through Tripadvisor. It makes me proud to read that you evaluate our service as nearly perfect. My team is committed to be every day better than yesterday and try to exceed our guests expectations.
with kind regards
Oliver Geyer
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#95 of 646 in Prague
3,356 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#146 of 646 in Prague
5,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#51 of 646 in Prague
2,080 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Prague Marriott Hotel
Prague Marriott Hotel
#87 of 646 in Prague
2,339 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boscolo Prague, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Prague

Address: Parizska 30, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Prague
#55 Business Hotel in Prague
#86 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £97 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presiding regally above the hilly banks of the Vltava River, the InterContinental Prague is the landmark choice of Prague hotels, providing a sophisticated setting for all types of travel. Experience the City from its premier location - in the heart of the Prague’s historic Old Town. Magnificent accommodations provide the perfect base from which to explore the shops, restaurants, and architectural treasures that give the region its distinctive character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Praha Hotel Prague
Intercontinental Hotel Prague
Intercontinental Hotel Praha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing