We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a sleeping factory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Prague
Ranked #97 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great location for a sleeping factory”
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The IC is located in Josefov, a very posh but beautiful neighborhood of Prague. Just like any Hilton or Marriott, the IC is impersonal, cold and too big. On the other hand, breakfast is very good and diverse, gym is great, swimming pool is rare in Prague and service is not bad. So, if you are coming to Prague for business, it is a wise choice. If you come to visit Prague, you can do better, even if the location is very good. Also, if you like hotels "McDonald's" style, where everything will be the same whether the hotel is in Asia or the Czech Republic, you will like the IC. No charm, no surprise good or bad, the IC is good for families, old people and busy businessmen. Prague lovers, romantic couples or backpackers will go somewhere else. Also, the rooms facing the river can be very noisy, ask reception if you want a quiet room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
We appreicate the feedback. Our aim is to provide an authentic Prague experience and to share our local knowledge as an extension of the service levels you expect from an InterContinental hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    880
    215
    51
    26
See reviews for
346
988
127
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

My husband and I were in Prague for vacation from the States. We found this hotel to not only deliver what was expected, but far exceed our needs. Everything from booking to check-out was an ideal experience. Upon arrival at the hotel we were promptly greeted and taken to our room. The hotel is spotless and the rooms offer much more than expected overseas. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time. The location could not be better. You are walking distance to everything. Old Town Square and some great shopping and restaurants are just 1 block away. I will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WAltizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Prague in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Intercontinental in Prague and was generally very disappointed in my stay. The hotel is ideally located for a city break and has its good points one being an excellent breakfast buffet but unfortunately some of the staff and the service really let the hotel down. When we arrived at the hotel there was nobody there to greet us and we had to haul our bags to our rooms (have never experienced this at a five star property before). The door porters when they were there were generally rude and unfriendly and the staff on reception whilst polite only spoke or smiled when you addressed them and it never really seemed genuine. I understood from the hotel website that the hotel had a 24 hour gym however when we enquired we were advised that the facilities were available from 8am on weekends and when I did finally get there the staff were so unhelpful with directing me though the maze of facilities that I just left. We tried to book dinner at the restaurant and it was fully booked on both Friday and Saturday night for private parties. The hotel is generally dated and is exceptionally busy with tour buses arriving every half an hour. The whole place felt soulless and the service felt forced. I got a really good deal thorough Amex so have no complaints about value for money but I would certainly never return and would be more than happy to pay a little extra for five star service. If you wish to be centrally located and head out for the day having had a good breakfast and you get a good deal then it is a good option however if service is important to you don’t even consider it. In summary a Travelodge with an excellent team of chefs.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
We are sorry to hear of your unfortunate service experience at our hotel, but grateful for the feedback. Please know that your experience does not reflect our usual attention to customer service, and for that we apologize. The fitness center is in fact available to hotel guests 24 hours. We do hope you will provide us with another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We stayed here for three nights before leaving on a River Cruise and found it to be an ideal location. Within easy walking distance of all the major attractions, plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants withing walking distance. The bedrooms were large and we were fortunate to have a river view from ours. The beds were so comforable it was difficult to stir in the mornings! We wanted different pillows to those on the bed and had not trouble in getting them, very fast service. All the staff were charming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent. Buffet breakfast - but we never had any problem with overcrowded seating or difficulty in obtaining hot food.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this review, 21 June 2010
We are extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Prague in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Nice hotel but nothing special apart from standard services. But fabulous location for any walk downtown. Fine breakfast.
Bit lonely though for solo travellers. Do they know you are there, do they care? Three times a free bottle of wine, but no opener provided in the room (and cannot take in your hand luggage). Extra bed but solo anyway, so what is the use?
No real complaints. But there are better options if the location is less important. Very convenient though if you only want nice walks in the city!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this review, 21 June 2010
Thank you for your comments. We aim to provide personal service to every one of our guests, and hope for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World-wide Traveller
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I staid 12 nights there. As Royal Ambassador, I was welcomed to a beautiful suite (a bit sad though that I did not receive lounge access). To summarize what everyone said before, in an accurate way: ugly outside, but very good quality inside, great beds, not far from the city center but still relatively quiet, extra service and very expensive internet and laundry (which is the common policy of most hotels here).
Now my little secret, if like me you prefer a nice, small and quiet breakfast to the overcrowded mega breakfast buffet. In the bar, usually deserted, you can ask for the special continental breakfast at Czk 195 (starting at 8 am only). Now you can sit down, watch from your cocoon the crowds rushing to the other room with the buffet, and enjoy a very good fresh orange juice (no concentrate!), a good croissant and 2 freshly baked rolls (sometimes they bring another bread not very appetizing, so insist to get the rolls), with an assortment of nice honey and rose apricot jam, and a very high quality tea. Considering the quality, I can guarantee you that you will not find anything better or cheaper in Copenhagent (except of course if you want a bohemian sausage...).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanLouisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
Thank you for sharing your positive experience and insights – our business breakfast in Duke’s Café is in fact good value, high quality and in a quiet and peaceful setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Welcome in the 70s ! Hotel in huge, corridors and decoration are very 70s.
However, our corner room has a fantastic view on the river and large!

Bed very comfy, had a great night sleep. The hotel is conviniently located near the metro stop (10 mins walk). Easy to get to the city (walking 15mins) and easy to get to the airport (metro + modern bus).

Breakfast was suprisingly very good: locally cooked delicatessen.

Not the best Intercontinental, but a very good hotel!

tip: mind to "break" your note before hopping on the bus (need coin to buy the ticket)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axelgfrsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
We appreciate the comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#96 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,071 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Prague Marriott Hotel
Prague Marriott Hotel
#88 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#130 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,685 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Kings Court
Hotel Kings Court
#53 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Prague

Property: InterContinental Prague
Address: Parizska 30, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Prague
#55 Business Hotel in Prague
#67 Family Hotel in Prague
#85 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#87 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presiding regally above the hilly banks of the Vltava River, the InterContinental Prague is the landmark choice of Prague hotels, providing a sophisticated setting for all types of travel. Experience the City from its premier location - in the heart of the Prague’s historic Old Town. Magnificent accommodations provide the perfect base from which to explore the shops, restaurants, and architectural treasures that give the region its distinctive character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Praha Hotel Prague
Intercontinental Hotel Prague
Intercontinental Hotel Praha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing