We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to visit son in Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Prague Old Town
Ranked #88 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The Hilton could not be a better place to stay. It is very beautiful. The staff is wonderful and very helpful with everything. We were there to visit our son and happened to be the right time for all the Christmas decorations to be out.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,573 - 2,579 of 3,312 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2009

Pros: Great location and the rooms are comfortable. As to whether they are five star, this is questionable.

Cons: Easy to describe, the rudest front staff desk I have encountered. I advise the following:

1. If you book online, bring a copy of your credit card statement. I was accosted when I arrived, and if I had not the presence of mind to bring my credit card statement, I would have been charged a second time. Be careful.
2. Do not use the internet. Incredibly expensive (be prepared to be amazed). There are numerous places to access free WiFi. For example, top floor of the large shopping centre, the Palladium, which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel (can not miss it), where there are several places that offer free WiFi with a drink. So bring a laptop computer. It is worth the hassle.
3. Do not use the phone. The hotel has the nerve to charge per minute even for a local call. This is a trap. Do not fall for it.
4. Do not use the washing service. This is worse than the internet. Bottom floor of the Palladium, there is a laundry service, which charge a much more reasonable fee.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aus2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

I just returned from a five day vacation in the Hilton Prague Old Town hotel. The hotel's location is superb, for it is within walking distance of all of Prague's major attraction. Furthermore, there are numerous restaurants and bars around the hotel, a Czech Airlines' office, a laundry, a supermarket, and two shopping malls.
I arrived at the hotel at around 7 am, and was greeted by a very friendly reception desk, we were given connecting rooms as we had requested, and were let in to the rooms, despite having arrived a good few hours ahead of the regular check in time. The hotel also offers a currency exchange service at the reception which offers very respectable rates, especially since banks charge a very high commission, and exchange offices do not always give you their advertised rates.
The room size is relatively good, however the view is not too great. They are equipped with complimentary coffee and tea but, bottled water is not provided, upon inquiring, we were told that people used tab water in Prague for drinking, nevertheless, a five star hotel should probably include a few bottles. The room also includes an ironing board and an iron. The television is a large Philips LCD that is equipped with a keyboard for internet access with a fee. There is a very small selection of channels (less than thirty) and only around five in English. There were no movie channels in English and we were continually prompted to purchase pay per view films. It would probably have been better to improve the entertainment options a bit, especially since we are paying for five star accommodation. The Air conditioner is also somewhat difficult to operate. Finally, the soundproofing in the room was non existent, one could hear footsteps on the street below clearly, despite being on the seventh floor. We were woken up more than once to the sound of construction work being carried out in the hotel, or to housekeeping cleaning the room opposite to ours.
The cleaning of the room left a lot to be desired, since housekeeping only vacuums when one vacates a room, and not during one's stay. Some tables were even covered with dust, and some dirt on the carpet from before our stay remained. The spoons provided with the coffee mugs remained unwashed for the duration of our stay. One room was not even supplied with slippers and we had to call room service to ask them for a pair. Housekeeping were also somewhat stringy with amenities such as shampoos and soap, and we had to ask them for extras.
The hotel has a free fitness center on the second floor. It includes a very small swimming pool, as well as a small gym with a few treadmills, bikes, dumbbells, and a pull up bar. However, the staff there were very friendly.
Internet access in the rooms comes at a charge, however, the hotel provides two computers in the lobby that guests can use for free. There is also a printer there.
The conceirge was very helpful whenever we asked for directions and information about certain touristic sites. Overall, the staff was relatively friendly.
The breakfast was very good, a typical Hilton breakfast with a buffet, and with the ability to ask for hot plates, however, they have a somewhat different idea of what pancakes are and hence they make them more like crepes.
The restaurant and room service menu were very expensive, a main course cost around 500 CZK, while a burger cost 350 CZK. A Czech dish at a restaurant around the hotel cost about 200 CZK, while a two course meal at the formal Kempinki restaurant, Le Grill, also cost 500 CZK (where every 100 CZK is equal to about 4 Euros).
We had requested a late check out, since our flight was at nine, and being Blue Hilton Honors members, we were given one till 3 pm. The Check out process was very fast, took less than two minutes.
There is not much to buy in Prague other than souvenirs and Bohemian crystal products. Shopping from known brand stores is very expensive. Food is really cheap, and beer is even cheaper. There are a lot of restaurants and bars in the touristic area (Old Town, New Town, Lesser town, etc.) However, waiters can be very rude, especially to foreigners, and lack the patience to explain what certain foods on the menu are. Shopkeepers can also be rude, especially if you ask them something that they think is obvious, for instance if you miss where the price tag is.
In conclusion, the Hilton Prague Old Town hotel is a decent choice when traveling to Prague, despite lacking something that would take it to the five star Hilton level. If I was to travel to Prague again, I would look at other hotels first, such as the Marriott, Kempinski, and Best Western Hotels which are very close to this hotel. The other Hilton is also not too far away, while the Sheraton is right beneath the Charles Bridge, and the Intercontinental is in the Jewish quarter, all within walking distance of the city center. Paying a bit more to stay in the other hotels might be worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mako1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

I stayed at the Hilton Old Town Prague for 5 nights when on vacation. My stay was very good and I recommend this hotel. I was at first given a standard room but when I told the front desk that I could hear the elevator from the room, and that I was awoken early because of noise, they upgraded me to a nice suite without any fuss. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, without being fancy. The staff wasn't warm and fuzzy--in general Czechs weren't that way--but they were efficient and helpful. There are two computer hooked up to the internet and printers off the lobby for use for free, which I found to be a nice plus.

The location is pretty good, about a 10 minute walk to the Old Town Square, and the same distance to the train station, where I went to take day trips.

The hotel isn't fancy, but it was nice and comfortable for my trip and the price was right. I recommend it.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
2  Thank McGee_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

A nice modern hotel close to the center. We usually like to stay in small charming hotels in Europe but we have always been a little disappointed with the places we have stayed in Prague. Found a great sale rate that included a wonderful breakfast. So after a week of quaint countryside hotels in the Czech republic this was a welcome bit of luxury

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

stayed here in the last week of august location was superb but hotel room was small.. the view was terrible(nonexistent) and the hotel could be a lot better. the swimming pool was a joke and i dont think i would stay here again. concierge and staff are very helpful and pleasant! the new hilton which is 3 mins by taxi is FAR better and i would stay there for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltheworld2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Stayed here for our anniversary in February but are a little late in putting in this review

This hotel is in a great location just minutes from the old town square. We got the airport bus shuttle which stops outside the hotel - a good bit cheaper than taxis!

We arrived late morning and fortunately we were able to check in straight away - the room was comfortable with a nice big bathroom and the usual Hilton toiletries and the staff were very efficient and friendly

Breakfast was taken in the main restaurant and it was pretty good, but the temperature in the restaurant was far too high to be comfortable - we were the only people in there with t-shirts, and it was still too warm even though the temperature outside was quite cold - it did snow several times during our stay

The sights are walkable which is the best way to see a city in our opinion - the Castle, Charles Bridge, Wenceslas Square, the Old Jewish Quarter, Rozhiedna (mini Eiffel tower - 288 steps but a great view once you get up there) etc

Highly recommended - go to the old bar "U Fleku" - it is an obvious tourist trap but the beer and the atmosphere are both good - an accordian player and singing keep people amused - great sausages as well!

You simply must try the goulash when you visit - served with raw onion on top which seems daft, but it does work

We managed to get to see a concert at the Municipal House - string octet playing Handel/Mozart etc - first class concert and extremely cheap

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tangerines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#138 of 646 in Prague
5,091 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
InterContinental Prague
InterContinental Prague
#95 of 646 in Prague
2,686 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Prague Marriott Hotel
Prague Marriott Hotel
#83 of 646 in Prague
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#52 of 646 in Prague
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Prague Old Town

Address: V Celnici 2079/7 | Nove Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Prague
#51 Business Hotel in Prague
#72 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#77 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £87 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Prague Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the in the centre of Prague’s most desirable attractions. Its proximity to the oldest parts of the city offers guests the option to fully explore the surrounding area including Old Town Square, Wenceslas Square and Charles Bridge. The hotel has over three hundred well-appointed guest rooms offering high quality accommodations and contemporary interior design, including non-smoking and accessible rooms. All rooms have been carefully refurbished to offer state of the art facilities with contemporary styling and sumptuous furnishings. Prague’s stylish dining spot, Zinc Restaurant features modern European cuisine with Asian flavours is recommended by the Michelin and Gault Millau guides. In its art deco inspired interior, Zinc lounge & bar seats over 70 people. Zinc lounge & bar serves specialty coffees, snacks with Asian flavours and tempting selection of cocktails. The new Prague meetings & events facilities form a great location for a successful business or leisure event in Prague Facilities include twelve meeting rooms as well as the Dvorak Ballroom, which can host up to 340 people. Other facilities include free access to Health & Fitness Center for hotel guests, 24 – hour Room Service, high-speed internet access, with a choice of a wired or wireless connection (Fee applies), underground parking (Fee applies), laundry services, business center, concierge and limousine services. The hotel was awarded with: Certificate of Excellence TripAdvisor 2015 One of Top 35 hotels in middle Europe, awarded by readers of Conde Nast Traveler Awards 2013 One of Top 25 Luxury hotels in Czech Republic, TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards 2014 Restaurant Zinc - TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Prague Old Town Hotel Prague
Hilton International Prague
Prague Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing