We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #30 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent, Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed in Maximilian hotel just for a weekend and I have to say that they really make you feel special!
What should be the trademark of the hotel is its Service. Extremely friendly and helpful staff!
I honestly loved the breakfast because I like to get up late and I believe the breakfast was till 12:00pm, which you can turn into brunch :) The best part is that the staff can prepare for you fresh omelets, eggs and so on.
The rooms are comfortable and stylish. I stayed in a single room, so I can't really tell how their suites are. There are a honesty bar and a little library close to each other, which allows you to have a coffee/or a glass of wine and do your work.
Regarding directions, it is not difficult to find, however this is Praga, so the streets are tiny and you can get easily confused in the center. :(
I will recommend it for a business, friends and solo visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slavynova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

let me thank you for such a pleasant review! It makes us truly happy you have enjoyed the breakfast. I believe that a late weekend morning meal is a great start for the day!
Our team is honored you have mentioned the service. That is what we are here for.

Looking forward to seeing you again in Hotel Maximilian!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,644
    467
    45
    16
    4
See reviews for
329
1,108
132
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We thorougly enjoyed our stay at the Maximilian Hotel. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. Buffet breakfasts had plenty of choice with quality food. Staff were courteous and helpful. Excellent value .
A good choice for walking to all tourist spots, yet set in a quiet area of the old town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Joy,

thank you for the feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and the service.

We wish you a happy 2012 and hope to see you soon in Hotel Maximilian!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at the Maximilian Hotel between 1st-4th January and can't recommend it enough.

We booked through their website and got it on a 'buy 2 nights, get one free' deal and upgraded to the deluxe room.

The hotel is an old building but is designed to be very modern. We were based in the 'Black House; and the room was very spacious with a HUGE and very comfortable bed. The walls are sound proofed which meant we slept far more than planned!

There are DVD players in the rooms and on reception they keep DVDs which you can borrow free of charge - a great touch after walking around Prague all day!

The breakfast was great - a huge selection which always turned into a four course meal (not great for starting a post Christmas diet!) - you can order off the menu - yummy eggs, smoked salmon, fresh fruit smoothies etc and there is also the buffet with hot selections, fruit, cheese, meats, freshly baked cakes, breads etc ... which were constantly being refreshed.

In terms of location, it couldn't have been better - a quiet location opposite a church, with a couple of 'corner shops' for grabbing drinks etc (we emptied the mini fridge and put our drinks in it) and it is about a 3 minute walk to the Old Town Square. Prague is a surprisingly small city so you almost fall over the recommended sites to visit - we walked up to the castle in less than an hour.

Things to watch out for;
- It is true what they say about the pick pockets- someone tried with us in a restaurant as my boyfriends coat was on the back of his chair - thankfully i had everything. The waiter warned us to check our pockets and one of them had been opened - interesting watching the waiter set on the pickpocket!! I avoided carrying a hand bag at all and zipped everything in an inner pocket to be sure.

- Taxis - the price the hotels (not just Maximilian) quote for the hotel taxi is ridiculous - we were quoted 780ck - about £28 to get to the airport (we had all our ski gear with us so couldn't face the tram etc). Thankfully the night before we flew we met up with some Czech friends who called a local firm - Speedy Cars - who use a meter and that worked out as 360ck !!! It took us about 20 mins so would have been horrified had we paid the 780ck quoted! One of the girls we met with works at another big Prague hotel and she was embarrased to confess her hotel charges 850ck!!!

Other than that gripe (which i do think they should sort out) it really was a great stay - so thanks to all the team!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieXH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Katie,

let me thank you for taking time to write such a detailed and kind review!

Hotel Maximilian is just several minutes away from the Old Town Square and truly close to many famous sightseeing places. We are happy to know you have enjoyed your room, and had a good sleep after walking around the city.

As for the taxi, our drivers do their best to provide a high standard of service. All of them do speak good English, and are happy to assist the guest in any troublesome situation.

We are delighted your have enjoyed our breakfast. The temptation of the menu and the buffet is hard to resist - I know exactly what you're talking about!

On behalf of our team, we are wishing you a great 2012 and hoping to see you soon at Hotel Maximilian!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

'Thank you" Hotel Maximilian for an awesome Christmas vacation!!!
Will be back next year!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel is top quality and extremely good value for money! There was nothing I could fault with my whole stay. The breakfast buffet was delicous and the range available was vast. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Peter on reception was particulary helpful, there was no question he couldn't answer and no request that was too much for him. He should be in line for promotion!!! If you are going to Prague then this is the only hotel I would recommend!!!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view then go for the 'Black' hotel rooms. If it's quietness y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. It was my pleasure to help you with your questions and planning your trip in Prague. Our reception team constantly strives to meet all of our guest's wishes. I am also glad to hear you enjoyed the other aspects of Maximilian. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at some point in the future. Happy travels!

Peter Szabari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed for five days at maximilian. We enjoyed the large, quiet and comfortable rooms, the wonderful common rooms with complimentary wifi and soft music. Breakfast is great: good buffet and some daily choices "a la carte". The staff is very welcoming and helpful. In five minutes you can reach the Staromeske namesti square by foot. Recommended hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacattivastrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure for us to learn you have enjoyed your room, the breakfast and the music.
Our staff is always happy to help and assist our guests, and we truly appreciate you mentioning the service.

We wish you a happy 2012! Looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We spent 4 days at this amazing hotel 23-27 December, and loved everything about it. The room was lovely, all the staff were so helpful and friendly, and the position of the hotel was perfect for exploring beautiful Prague. Breakfast at the hotel was one of the best we have experienced- fantastic choice and fresh and delicious, and got us through the entire day until dinner time. Loved the library and honesty bar- nice feature.

Would recommend highly, and if ever back in Prague would certainly return to Maximilian .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim-Boz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

we truly appreciate your kind review, mentioning the staff and the location. I hope you had a great Christmas in Prague, and happy you have enjoyed your holiday trip.

We are wishing you a great 2012 and looking forward to your next stay!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#27 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing