We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 4 Star Hotel with the Service, Amenities and Facilities of a 5 Star Hotel”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #29 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A 4 Star Hotel with the Service, Amenities and Facilities of a 5 Star Hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Maximilian Hotel offers the Services, Amenities and Facilities that many 5 Star Hotels in Prague with much more expensive rates don't offer.
I spend 5 days at Maximilian and this was one of the best choices of a Hotel that I ever made. From the moment that I enter the doors of this Hotel until I left the Hotel everything was just perfect.
The location of this Hotel is excellent. It is centrally located only a short walk from the old town square and the Palladium Shopping Centre. There are many good restaurants near to the Hotel.
The rooms are modern and comfortable with all the amenities. I stayed at a superior deluxe room and it was perfect. The bed was big and very comfortable, among other things the room had a DVD/CD player, Plasma T.V., sofa and Nespresso machine. Daily water was also offered.
The lounge area and honesty bar(with free tea and coffee all day) are very modern and comfortable. The Hotel Restaurant was also outstanding with excellent buffet breakfast with daily specials to order from the menu.
The Staff of Maximilian is another big plus. All of them were really friendly and pleasant and always willing to help with a big smile. The service of the Staff remains at the highest levels from the moment you enter the Hotel until you leave. Something that at least for me proved that the Staff cares until the last minute is as follows: On my last day when I went down to check out early in the morning around 5:30 A.M. since I had an early flight the receptionist was waiting for me with a big smile and a bag to take with me with a complete breakfast.
Once again this Hotel is outstanding and it was one of the nicest Hotel experiences that I ever had. For sure I will become a frequent customer of Maximilian and I would highly recommend it to all my friends and relatives that will visit Prague!!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room choose a corner room facing the courtyard at the red house building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_P_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,785
    495
    48
    17
    4
See reviews for
380
1,199
139
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We wanted to spend two days in the old section of Prague after staying in Hrncire in SE Prague for over five weeks. The Maximilian came up on the ratings as a very pleasant place with great buffet breakfasts. This turned out to be true as far as we were concerned. The foyer is a little unassuming and yet it had a certain feel to it that was positive. The interior was quite good and we enjoyed our room on the second floor looking out at the very old street and church across the cobbled road. The room we were in was a little small but the bed was comfortable and the bath was very nice. The breakfasts were fabulous and the staff were just great. The location of the Maximilian Hotel can't be beat as it is very close to the Old Town Square, The Powder Tower, the airport shuttle pickup spot, and the Old Jewish Quarter. We really enjoyed staying in this unique spot and we'd recommend it to anyone who wants a little luxury along with a great location.

Room Tip: Room looking out over the cobbled street and the old church was just fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for staying with us during your Prague visit.

I am happy to know you enjoyed our convenient location. Our staff is always happy to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, so it is great to know they contributed to your stay. I would also like to thank you for mentioning the breakfast.

We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed here for two nights in January. The rooms were a good size, although on the top floor you are in the attic, so ceilings are short and slanted! Good breakfast included in the room rate and an "honesty bar" located in the lobby which did come in handy over new years. Quick walk to the main sights and good restaurants and bars close by.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kath91982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for the review, mentioning your room, the location, breakfast and honesty bar.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Lovely place to stay, nothing was too much trouble. Very central location and helpful staff. Relaxing in house spa offering reasonably priced treatments. Good range of non smoking rooms including library. Honesty bar for drinks and snacks. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for your review. It makes us truly happy you enjoyed your stay, namely the location, the staff, spa and the bar.

We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Let's start with price - great deal! Breakfast included? Yeah, that too and it's delicious and buffet style or made to order. Yum.

Friendly, helpful, and smiling staff. Best part?! Location, location, location! We walked everywhere from here and it was a pleasant walk. On average, about five minutes to everything since hotel is right in Old Sq. Only time we took a taxi was to the airport which was less than $30 and about a half hour ride. Would definitely stay again. Book with no hesitation.

Oh, the bose docking station was a nice touch!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontapiaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Maximilian. Thank you for mentioning the staff, breakfast, location and the ipod docking station.

We are pleased to know it all made for making your stay enjoyable.

All our team is looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We arrived at the hotel and its ambience is not typical of a European hotel. I was taken a little aback. However, that soon changed. The staff, in particular, Andrea, was welcoming and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean, with the most comfortable bed and bedding. The room and bath looked newly redone. Breakfast included a huge buffet complemented with menu items, such as, Eggs Benedict and Quiche. The reception area always had water, coffee. homemade cookies or treats. The hotel is well located, close to Old Town Square. A nearby restaurant, suggested by Andrea, called the Red Wheel was well appointed with excellent Czech food and service. It was very authentic. We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filippina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for taking time to write such a kind review, mentioning the location of the hotel, your room, breakfast and the staff, namely Andrea.

We are happy to know it all contributed to making your stay memorable, and are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Va.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Great location! 5 minutes to Old Town Square but quiet at night. Safe neighborhood.
EXCELLENT breakfast. No hurry. The people at the Concierge desk take care of you in the way that hotels must have in days gone by. Tomas, Andrea, Ladya, Martine, Michael..all top notch. My friend and I were there for 6 nights and they helped us with every kind of question or problem you can come up with:-) And they were happy to do it. This is a boutique hotel which is part of its charm. Just the right size. We were sightseeing a lot and did not use the spa services but I heard from other guests that they were excellent as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for such a great feedback. It makes us happy to know you enjoyed your stay, namely the location, breakfast and the staff.

Our team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,299 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 649 in Prague
2,477 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#11 of 649 in Prague
740 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing