We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, quiet hotel in the centre of beautiful Prague”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #28 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous, quiet hotel in the centre of beautiful Prague”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed at the Maximilian for a week in August 2012. It is one of the best hotels we have stayed at anywhere. The rooms are comfortable and stylish, as is the hotel as a whole. All staff - from the front desk to the breakfast room - are friendly, accommodating, and very helpful. The breakfasts were great, with a wide variety of food available, and the menu changed from day to day. The Maximilian is located on a quiet square, just a quick walk from the historic centre of Prague. Many good restaurants are a stroll away. We would definitely stay at this fabulous hotel again if (when) we travel back to Prague.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank West_coast_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear West_coast_17,

Thank you for your nice review!
We were happy to read that you found the atmosphere friendly and accommodating, and that you liked our breakast, the staff and the location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maximilian Hotel in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,711
    483
    47
    16
    4
See reviews for
345
1,160
135
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This hotel is a gem. I found this hotel when in Prague using the TripAdvisor App and 'Near me now'. Wow... what a find. From the minute we walked into the reception to enquire about a reservation we knew we would stay. The staff were so pleasant and helpful from the first minute to the end of our stay.

The hotel in general is so bright and warm which is just what you require in the cold weather. We were moving from a nearby hotel and enquired on availability, price, and they even let us check the room before confirming. We went to drop our bags at 10am but in fact they allowed us to check-in at that time. The room was really nice, a fine comfortable bed, and a really big desk to work at and free wifi. All was exceptionally clean and really 4 star plus standard. They have free DVDs in English which you can borrow and watch really comfortably in your room - either from the bed or the couch. When we were leaving for the evening we would pick a DVD and they would bring it to our room while we were out.

The breakfast was really lovely. And ran till 11.30 if you wanted a late one! Fresh fruit, specials you can order from the menu (no extra cost) and the standard pastries, juices, cold meats, hot buffet, teas etc. The staff were great in here also and I would say again closer to 5 star standard than 4 star.

The location here also is perfect, only 3-4 min walk to the Old Town Square. But at a price which is more than acceptable.

I really haven't come across such great staff in such a long time. We used the hotel driver to return us to the airport and again a great experience. The hotel is a credit to the team, really really comfortable, clean, and has everything you would need. The staff here really make this a very very pleasant stay. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoisinOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear RoisinOD,

Thank you for recommending the Maximilian Hotel on TripAdvisor!
We are glad to know that we made your stay pleasant and that you liked so many features here, such as the atmosphere, your room, the complimentary DVDs, our breakfast and the hotel car service.
We hope you will choose us again if you are planning to return to Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in Prague, look no further. I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights during our time in Prague and we could not have chosen a more wonderful and accommodating place. First of all, we booked our room using the online "chat" session, where someone from the hotel answered all of our questions about location, price, etc. Upon arriving, we got a short tour of the hotel and were showed the complimentary bar, a lounge, and the breakfast/dining area, all very contemporary. During our stay, the staff was knowledgeable, friendly, and offered to make dinner reservations for us at different recommended restaurants. Our room had a beautiful street view, wonderful shower, and flat screen TV with several channels. You can even ask for a complimentary goldfish in your room - which we did :)

Be sure to head downstairs for the complimentary breakfast. The hotel has an amazing breakfast buffet, but also has a menu of omelets, fruit crepes, smoothies, etc. Everything was amazing! Five stars.

PS- Walking distance from Prague Castle, Old Town Square, Dancing House, Pubs/ Restaurants, and Train Station

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear jnm88,

Thank you for recommending our hotel on our TripAdvisor page!
We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay here. We are glad that you found the chat service useful and our staff knowledgeable. Thank you also for mentioning that you liked your room, the goldfish, our breakfast and the location of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Had 3 nights here. Large, very comfortable room. Excellent breakfast buffet, served till late morning. Really helpful pleasant staff (thanks Andrea!). All the main sights are in easy walking distance, and there are some excellent restaurants nearby for an evening meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear John J,

Thank you for your nice review! It is delightful to know that you liked your room, our breakfast and that you found our staff helpful. We are really happy that you enjoyed staying at the Maximilian Hotel.
We definitely look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
202 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

You get the feeling that this hotel is that bit different as you check in at the office style desks where you sit down and are offered fresh coffee, apple cinnamon tea, hot chocolate or lime water to drink. The staff speak perfect English and are very friendly and helpful. We arrived at the hotel at about 11 am and had no problem checking in early. The hotel had a modern feel to it with very comfortable furniture and fittings. The heating/air conditioning system was powerful and very effective with everything finished to a very high standard from the bed sheets to the toiletries and even the toilet paper being thick and soft. The rooms had thick bathrobes and slippers to use as well. In reception and the honesty bar hot drinks were free all day and cake/strudel was brought out at around 5pm. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of teas and coffees to drink a large buffet table ranging from fresh fruits to cereals, smoked salmon up to eggs and sausages. A printed menu was also available which included omelettes, pancakes, eggs benedict etc all cooked to order and brought to your table, all of this was included in the breakfast.
The overall feel was of relaxed class and comfort with the feeling that they were not trying to get every extra penny they could out you
This hotel is in an excellent location for the old town and old town square with plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance and Prague’s good public transport network close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HairyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear HairyO,

Thank you for taking your time to post such a nice and detailed review!
We are delighted to know that you liked the refreshments during check-in, your room, our breakfast, the atmosphere and the location of the hotel. We also appreciate your nice words about our staff, and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed at Maximilian for 2 nights and booked 2 rooms for family holiday Excellent hotel with good locations. Very modern and with free wi fi and breakfast throw in. Nice clean room and hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended and will stay again when in Prague

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear CC h,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback! We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at the Maximilian Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I used to live in Prague and booked a lot of friends at the Maximilian. Since moving it is my home away from home in Prague. The rooms are contemporary but not cold, simple but not sparse, breakfast is great, lounge is comfortable and has a great honour bar and the staff do try to make everyone happy. Avoid the single rooms unless you like single beds, splurge for the deluxe rooms with nespresso machines and bose sound docks and blow the budget for their suite if you are planning a romantic weekend- the glass bathroom is seriously sexy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handspiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Handspiker,

Thank you for your feedback and nice words about the Maximilian Hotel! We are always happy to welcome back our returning guests, and it is great to know that you enjoy staying here.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,669 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,452 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, MyHotelShop, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing