We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we'll certainly be coming back”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #29 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“we'll certainly be coming back”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

That's the hotel I will be recommending to my friends visiting Prague. having been to many other hotels and flats in prague before, this is really the best value you can get in such a convenient - though quiet - location.
The service is really great, expecially when travelling with a 1 year old.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Catherine S,

Thank you for your kind feedback.
We were glad to read that you had a pleasant stay here, and that you appreciated the quality of service we provided you with.
We definitely look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    477
    46
    16
    4
See reviews for
341
1,141
133
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My family and I all agree that if we were ever to come back to Prague we would stay here. The staff were extremely helpful - selling us tram tickets and advising us which trams to get for the different things we wanted to see and reccomending great restaraunts. We even got a free goldfish in a tank in our room when we requested it (this is a free optional extra which the hotel offers). The rooms were lovely and luxourious. However the highlight of our stay here was the breakfasts. They had everything you could possibly want to eat from pancakes to aausages and srambled eggs to fruit salad. If anyone is coming to Prague they should stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Marge978,

We would like to thank you for providing us with your nice feedback.
We were all really happy to read how much you liked the Maximilian Hotel, and that you appreciated so many aspects of your stay - it is also lovely to know that you decided to have a goldfish in your room.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateauroux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

After many searches, we have choosen the Maximilian Hotel, due to its location in the city and the offer "3 nights booked = 1 free". What a nice hotel ! the staff is very friendly (special thank to the French speaker Tunisian man at the breakfast for his kindness !).

The room was well equiped, big enough for 2 persons.

The location in the city center is really perfect and we also enjoyed a meal at the Josef brother hotel, with a nice welcome and lunch.

The breakfast was so delicious, varied and good.

Well, we will really really recommend the Maximilian, you can not be disappointed !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Emilie P,

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor, and for taking the time write and post your review regarding your stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It makes us happy to know that you had a great time here, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is well located & clean; the beds are comfortable and the rooms are large enough and nicely decorated. Furthermore, all of the staff are kind, friendly and helpful. I found Staff in Reception to be wonderfully helpful, and very able to make dinner or tour recommendations. Upon arrival in our rooms, we were pleasantly surprised by a small card which said, "Do you miss your pet? If yes, we will be happy to bring some goldfish to your room." Of course, our kids went right downstairs to request a fish. As soon as they reached reception, the staff members correctly predicted, "So, you would like a fish?" This was just excellent!!! The entire weekend was pleasant and the breakfast was far better than most with fresh Czech pancakes and other items made to order. Would definitely recommend the Maximilian if you are going to Prague.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Kimberly K,

It was delightful to read your wonderful feedback, thank you for posting it on TripAdvisor!
We are all really glad to hear how much you liked your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel, and we are especially happy to know that your kids appreciated the option of having a pet goldfish in the room. Thank you also for highlighting how helpful our staff were, it makes us proud to know that we managed to make your stay a memorable one.
We truly hope we can see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have traveled to most of the major metropolitan European cities on various trips. I don't think we have and a better experience than our stay at the Maximillian. We stayed for 6 nights. During that time we interacted with most of the staff and each of them were extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel was conveniently located with nice amenities. Best breakfast by far! They arranged to pick us up at the airport. Definitely took good care of us. One of the best hotel experiences we have encountered.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear William C,

Thank you for your lovely review! We were delighted to read your kind feedback, and we are really happy that you had a pleasant and enjoyable time here. We would like to thank you also for highlighting how much you appreciated the helpful and friendly attitude of our staff.
We hope we will have the opportunity to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is an absolutely wonderful, wonderful hotel!! After reading all of the incredibly positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we had high expectations, and the Maximilian did not disappoint! The hotel is very clean and bright. The rooms are just spacious enough, with large bathrooms and the most comfortable mattresses we have ever slept on. We also really enjoyed the view from our window which faced the cute little church across from the building. We also appreciated the Aveda bath products, as well as the little "travel diary" left for us on the desk so that we could record our daily impressions of the city.

The hotel breakfast deserves some sort of fan page! There is a wide selection of breads, deli meats, cereals, yogurts, eggs, juices, cooked and fresh veggies, fruits, and pastries, as well as a "hot" a la carte menu that includes a variety of (amazing) coffee drinks, teas, omelettes, porridge, and (fantastic) Czech crepes with a jam of your choice. New savory and sweet treats are also featured in the menu each day. This is by far the best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel. In fact, I myself am not a breakfast person and rarely have more than some toast or cereal and fruit, and yet I found myself consuming a multi-course breakfast everyday.

To top it all off, cookies, and tea, coffee, and/or lemonade are served all day in the lobby. There is also an honesty bar with coffee and tea facilities, as well as a selection of alcoholic beverages. From 5-6pm each day, guests of the hotel can come down for complimentary marble cake or strudel, usually served by a staff member or manager.

The location of the hotel is also wonderful. We stayed at the Maximilian during the flood and so the metro was closed down on our third or fourth day in the city. However, our trip remained completely unaffected by the closure because we could walk to most of the sites within minutes.

Of course, while all of the aforementioned features of the hotel helped make our stay wonderful, it is the staff that makes the Maximilian a truly remarkable hotel. Each and every staff member seemed to genuinely adore their job and was willing to bend over backwards to assist a guest. Charles, who told us about Prague as he drove us to and from the airport, William and Michal, who always served us breakfast with a smile, Vika, our warm and friendly housekeeper, and Peter, who always made sure my mom had her tea, even when the honesty bar was closed for a conference, all did their very best to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. Sonia, Dalila, and especially Andrej, were always not simply ready, but genuinely eager to address any question or concern we may have had. Even the managers are very involved and always ready to assist their guests personally. For instance, when we had trouble doing our online plane check-in, Martin, the operations manager, quickly checked in for us on his computer, instantly printed our boarding passes for us, emailed us copies, and arranged for a taxi and complimentary packed breakfast for our early plane ride.

Overall, the Maximilian, with its outstanding staff and phenomenal breakfast, provided us with a wonderful and unforgettable stay, and we look forward to returning when the opportunity arises!

Thank you, Maxi!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the church are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LND90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear LND90,

We would like to thank you for your gorgeous feedback, and for taking the time to write and post it on our TripAdvisor page.
It was delightful to read your wonderful comments, and we are pleased that you found so many aspects of your stay to your liking. It makes us proud to know that we lived up to your expectations.
Thank you also for your recognition of our staff for their professional and friendly service they provided you with; they were all really happy to read your kind words about them.
We look forward to seeing you here again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Varas, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in the best district of Prague, very closely of the most top sightseeing.
All the hotel, rooms and service are really good. One special remark for the kindliness and great preparation of the personal, always prepare to help and resolve our different requirements.
We really enjoy our stay at Maximilian Hotel included the wonderful breakfast.
Excellent to spend nice`s days of honeymoon in Prague.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRISTIAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear CRISTIAN D,

Thank you for having chosen the Maximilian Hotel for your recent stay in Prague for such a special occasion as your honeymoon.
We are happy that you liked our hotel, and we really appreciate your kind comments about our staff - we are pleased to know that we managed to contribute to a memorable experience.
We hope we will see you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#37 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#26 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing