We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in an excellent location”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #27 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I stayed here with my wife for 3 nights in July 2013. We picked this hotel because of its excellent location in the heart of the old town and beacuse of the excellent reviews. The room was spotless and very spacious by European standards. It was the most peaceful sleeps I've ever had in the centre of a large city. It was located only a few mins walk from the old town square so was really close to lots of bars and restaurants. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We got fantastic directions for using the trams. The breakfast was fantastic, great selection and everything was kept fresh. I would recommend the airport transfer service as it took all the stress out of getting from the airport to the hotel and was quiet reasonable. I would highly recommend this hotel and this city, perfect for a weekend break!

Room Tip: The lift didn't go all the way to the top floor but the room was extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Philip C,

Thank you for providing us with your kind feedback that you wrote about your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It is delightful to hear that you had a nice time here, and we are happy that we could be your host for a great weekend in Prague.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,345 - 1,351 of 2,456 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Maximilian for a long weekend. I'm 5.5 months pregnant, so relaxation and ease was key. Based on the TripAdvisor reviews we had read beforehand, we had very high expectations - and they were definitely met!

Our room was immaculately clean, large bed and bathroom. It was on the smaller end, but with the picturesque views of the red rooftops below it had a cozy feel. The in-room minifridge and safe were much-appreciated. Cable TV and free Wi-Fi meant that we could stay connected.

The common areas were just as pleasant. They offer nice touches that added something special to our stay. We loved the flavored iced water and snacks in the lobby. There are two lounge areas - one with a kitchen with a free espresso machine. There are also two free computers, and a free printer (handy for printing out boarding passes).

We also got massages in the Planet Zen studio on the -1 level. Not the cheapest but there is a 20% discount before 3 pm.

The staff was superb. We checked in with Tomas - very helpful, and he personally escorted us to our room (even brought up our suitcase himself!).

Location was perfect. Tucked along a sidestreet, it was very quiet day and night - but a 5-minute walk to the Old Town Square and Jewish quarter. 10 minutes to the metro that goes towards the airport and a huge Western-style mall.

If we ever come back to Prague, we will definitely return to the Maximilian. We're recommending it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoshanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Shoshanna S,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review with us on TripAdvisor.
We were pleased to read your detailed feedback and we are glad that we met all your expectations so you could have a pleasant and enjoyable your stay here. Thank you also for your recognition of our helpful staff - Tomas was especially happy that you mentioned him in your post.
We truly hope we will have the opportunity of seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I visited Prague for one night in June 2013. Because we were only going to be in Prague for a short time, we wanted a hotel in a great location. The Maximilian really fit the bill. When we arrived, the hotel staff took us on a guided tour of the town which was lovely. The hotel recommended Lokal restaurant for dinner - delicious and authentic! The room was spacious and the bed was huge. We visited the sister hotel property in the morning and used the gym facilities there - a quick 5 min. walk from the Maximilian. Breakfast was delicious as well. Would definitely return to this hotel on a return trip to beautiful Prague.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear lovetotravelle,

Thank you so much for posting your lovely comments about your stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It makes us proud to know that we managed to contribute to a memorable experience, and we are happy that you found so many features to your liking here.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was a perfect hotel for us. It is in a great neighborhood that is a couple blocks off the tourist trail but walkable to everything. The hotel is contained within an impressive renovation of a few buildings. The room with a king sized bed and the common areas were excellent. It has the best breakfast we have ever had anywhere. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve4721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Steve4721,

We would like to thank you for sharing your kind review with us on our TripAdvisor page regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It was delightful to read that you liked so many features here, and we would especially like to thank you for mentioning the helpfulness of our staff.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our biggest regret about Prague was that we didn't stay longer! The staff at the Maximilian Hotel were fantastic and welcoming from the very beginning. The hotel is beautifully modern, with spacious rooms and the most comfortable bed! Their added touch of having a goldfish in the room was such a neat addition to the room that I wish all hotels did that. Their spa was amazing, the breakfast room was beautiful and the food was great too! They took care of us every step of the way from making us a tour reservation to making dinner reservations and even setting up a private car to take us to the airport. We took a shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel and wish we had done their reasonably priced car service instead because it was so easy and inexpensive!. Though I would come back to Prague for the beautiful city, I would hands down come back to Prague to stay in this hotel. Added bonus: You get a beautiful hotel and great staff without breaking the bank!

Room Tip: The room with a church view was great! We were worried about potential noise and there were no issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Colin S,

What a gorgeous review, thank you for posting it on our TripAdvisor page.
Your detailed feedback is a great motivation to us, and we are glad that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay. We would also like to thank you for mentioning how helpful our staff were.
We all look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was by far the best hotel of our recent trip!

The hotel staff was friendly and efficient. We had to leave for the airport very early and paid the evening before to save time. The kind gentleman asked if we'd like breakfast to go since we would miss out on the buffet. What service!

The rooms were spacious with modern and large bathrooms. Plenty of amenities like coffee maker and even an umbrella which came in handy! Free Wi-Fi worked great and the room had plenty of outlets for charging. The breakfast buffet matched any that you'd pay top dollar for in the states. Each day there was a special of the day that would be cooked to order if you chose. The waitstaff was quick to serve coffee and make sure you had everything you needed.

The location couldn't be better. It a short 10 minute stroll to the clock but away from the crowds. The area was full of restaurant options within an easy walk.

We were able to book a special buy 3 get 4 deal making the price of the hotel very reasonable for the accommodation. A definite winner -- on my top 10 list.

We'll fondly remember our visit to Prague and our stay at the Max.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandJRedmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear KandJRedmond,

We were pleased to read your nice review on our TripAdvisor page, thank you for taking the time to write and post it.
It is delightful to know that you found so many aspects of your stay to your liking, and we were all really glad to hear that we can be part of your own top 10 list.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. We traveled around Europe for a month and
I would rate this hotel as the best. The staff and their attention to detail was outstanding. Location was great, rooms were comfortable and
breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsrcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear jsrcampbell,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Maximilian Hotel for your stay in Prague, and for sharing your kind review on our TripAdvisor page.
We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations, and it makes us proud to know that you found our hotel to be your favorite during your trip.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 648 in Prague
1,681 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 648 in Prague
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 648 in Prague
2,514 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#21 of 648 in Prague
738 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#26 of 648 in Prague
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £89 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing