We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #29 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
rockford
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Hotel staff made me feel at home and helped make reservations for the tours. Hotel is a five minute walk to the center square there are closer hotels but this was a nice hotel except for the all night bar next door (a little noisy). Request a room away from the front of the building or as high as possible and it would be fine. Breakfast was good there was a good assortment of food to choose from the buffet but they also have daily specials which I found I liked the most. If you go during a hot period over 90f (does not happen often) ask for another key so you can keep the room cool (makes for a cooling location).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear ben h,

We would like to thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at the Maximilian Hotel. We were pleased to read your positive feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,785
    495
    48
    17
    4
See reviews for
380
1,199
139
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

wonderful hotel with a very hospital staff, ideal stay for its strategic central position in the city heart while enjoying peaceful rooms, brakfast buffet and unfailing service. Minimal and distinguished elegance of the hotel
the only thing I missed was a swimming pool

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear marina c,

Thank you for posting your kind feedback on our TripAdvisor page about your stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience here, and we hope to see you in Prague again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed in the 'Black House' of the hotel and the room was spacious and clean, with a safe, minibar, air conditioning, Espresso coffee machine and free Wifi for the duration of our stay. Breakfast (which was included in the room price and available up to 11.30am) was amazing, buffet style laden with hot and cold food, various breads, cheeses and cold meats, cereals, fresh fruit etc, also orders from the menu such as eggs Benedict/Florentine, pancakes, eggs any way you like - something for everyone! Bassan - one of the breakfast staff was particularly attentive and greeted us each morning with a big smile and a smoothie! Reception staff (in particular Dalilia) were polite and helpful when asking for restaurant recommendations and directions. The hotel has an honesty bar, computer room, library and coffee machines available 24/7 and even serves cake at 5pm each day free of charge (unfortunately we missed this due to exploring Prague!). As our flight home was not until 8pm after checking out at noon, the hotel stored our suitcases and welcomed us to still use their facilities (computer room, honesty bar etc) which I thought was most generous. All in all a marvellous hotel, great staff, central to everything in Prague whilst still remaining in a quiet area away from the hustle and bustle. I am surprised it is not ranked higher!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr and Mrs H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs H H,

Your gorgeous review has captured so much about our hotel - thank you for sharing it with us and other readers.
Our staff were really glad to read your kind words, and it is great motivation to know that you appreciated their attentiveness and helpfulness.
We all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Staff was helpful in checking in, helped in giving directions to the many places we wanted to see. Room was clean and quite. Food was good. Walking distance to the main square and stone clock tower. A lot of restuarants and bars. Very good mix of old and new. Overall wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 76bruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear 76bruno,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we would like to thank you for having chosen the Maximilian Hotel in Prague.
We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I stayed here with my wife for 3 nights in July 2013. We picked this hotel because of its excellent location in the heart of the old town and beacuse of the excellent reviews. The room was spotless and very spacious by European standards. It was the most peaceful sleeps I've ever had in the centre of a large city. It was located only a few mins walk from the old town square so was really close to lots of bars and restaurants. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We got fantastic directions for using the trams. The breakfast was fantastic, great selection and everything was kept fresh. I would recommend the airport transfer service as it took all the stress out of getting from the airport to the hotel and was quiet reasonable. I would highly recommend this hotel and this city, perfect for a weekend break!

Room Tip: The lift didn't go all the way to the top floor but the room was extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Philip C,

Thank you for providing us with your kind feedback that you wrote about your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It is delightful to hear that you had a nice time here, and we are happy that we could be your host for a great weekend in Prague.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Maximilian for a long weekend. I'm 5.5 months pregnant, so relaxation and ease was key. Based on the TripAdvisor reviews we had read beforehand, we had very high expectations - and they were definitely met!

Our room was immaculately clean, large bed and bathroom. It was on the smaller end, but with the picturesque views of the red rooftops below it had a cozy feel. The in-room minifridge and safe were much-appreciated. Cable TV and free Wi-Fi meant that we could stay connected.

The common areas were just as pleasant. They offer nice touches that added something special to our stay. We loved the flavored iced water and snacks in the lobby. There are two lounge areas - one with a kitchen with a free espresso machine. There are also two free computers, and a free printer (handy for printing out boarding passes).

We also got massages in the Planet Zen studio on the -1 level. Not the cheapest but there is a 20% discount before 3 pm.

The staff was superb. We checked in with Tomas - very helpful, and he personally escorted us to our room (even brought up our suitcase himself!).

Location was perfect. Tucked along a sidestreet, it was very quiet day and night - but a 5-minute walk to the Old Town Square and Jewish quarter. 10 minutes to the metro that goes towards the airport and a huge Western-style mall.

If we ever come back to Prague, we will definitely return to the Maximilian. We're recommending it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoshanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Shoshanna S,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review with us on TripAdvisor.
We were pleased to read your detailed feedback and we are glad that we met all your expectations so you could have a pleasant and enjoyable your stay here. Thank you also for your recognition of our helpful staff - Tomas was especially happy that you mentioned him in your post.
We truly hope we will have the opportunity of seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biarritz, France
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I visited Prague for one night in June 2013. Because we were only going to be in Prague for a short time, we wanted a hotel in a great location. The Maximilian really fit the bill. When we arrived, the hotel staff took us on a guided tour of the town which was lovely. The hotel recommended Lokal restaurant for dinner - delicious and authentic! The room was spacious and the bed was huge. We visited the sister hotel property in the morning and used the gym facilities there - a quick 5 min. walk from the Maximilian. Breakfast was delicious as well. Would definitely return to this hotel on a return trip to beautiful Prague.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear lovetotravelle,

Thank you so much for posting your lovely comments about your stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It makes us proud to know that we managed to contribute to a memorable experience, and we are happy that you found so many features to your liking here.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,299 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 649 in Prague
2,477 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#11 of 649 in Prague
740 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing