We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #29 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Everything was wonderful at the Maximilian Hotel! Two couples stayed three nights in rooms 204 and 304. Rooms very well organized, good beds, large and modern bathrooms with very deep tub and great shower. Breakfast was amazing! All the staff were helpful and cheerful. The location is perfect - about 5 minutes walk from Old Town Square in a quiet area. Small convenience store next door and many good restaurants. Don't miss Chez Marcel and U Cerveneho Kola. Steps away from Lokal. Laundry around the corner, and tram station just a couple of blocks. It's perfectly located! You will not be disappointed with the hotel - it's a real gem!

Room Tip: Rooms 204 and 304 overlook the church. The AC is good, but the windows also open! Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skidaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear skidaddle,

We would like to thank you for reviewing our property on our TripAdvisor page.
It was great motivation to read your wonderful feedback, and we are really happy that you found the Maximilian Hotel so suitable for your stay in Prague.
We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,383 - 1,389 of 2,524 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Very good boutique hotel. It is in an ideal location! Quiet street, walking distance to Jewish area and good town. The hotel is very sleek and modern. Bedrooms are adequate but on the smaller side. Our teenagers and we enjoyed staying there. The front desk staff answered all of our questions, but not overly helpful. Lots of spacious lounges to relax in. Breakfast buffet was outstanding and delicious. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldenretrieverny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear goldenretrieverny,

We were pleased to read your nice comments - thank you for posting your review on our TripAdvisor page.
It is great to hear that you were satisfied with the service provided here, and we are proud to know that we could contribute to a pleasant and enjoyable stay in Prague.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We recently returned from a trip that included Prague....the Maximilian was a perfect stop on our month long trip because we had all the luxuries so often associated with a U.S. hotel - the room was huge with all the amenities one could want, modern and new. Location was superb...we walked to the square in 3 minutes and all the sites were within a close range. Breakfast (included) was over the top amazing by any standards.

The only constructive criticism I would give is that upon check-in (and throughout our 5 day stay) we had to find out the wonderful hotel offerings on our own. We walked by the Honesty Bar - "what's this?"...we didn't know where to find breakfast our first day. When we got to (wonderful) breakfast, we didn't find out there were additional menu items (included) until after we completed the (amazing) buffet offerings...too late. Menu was on the table but no one instructed us when we walked in. By day three I figured how it all worked and ordered DELICIOUS porridge from the menu, all menu items are included.

If I were to return to Prague, there is no question this would be my hotel of choice...just would have liked a bit more of an orientation throughout our stay.

Room Tip: We faced the church...great location and it was very quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibbyLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear LibbyLovesTravel,

First of all, please allow us to thank you for sharing your nice review with us and other readers on TripAdvisor.
We were all really happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Maximilian Hotel, and we appreciate your kind comments regarding the location and our breakfast.
We are sorry to know that you felt like you were not provided with more orientation, but we do hope we can see you again so we will have the chance to prove that our staff are there to assist you at all times.

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We we arrived at midnight the staff were able to check us in quickly and were very helpful. When we checked into our room we were blown away with the facilities and modern style of the rooms. Great comfortable beds, lockable safe, spacious bathroom and great wifi access in our room. My wife had lost her luggage and hotel staff were exceptional in helping us and calling the airline. We received our luggage back within 48 hours. Breakfast had a great selection with bagels, toast, fresh breads, eggs, bacon, mushrooms, fresh cakes, fresh pastries, cereal, yoghurt and fresh fruits to choose from. You could also order your eggs any way you pleased with other items such as bacon, mushrooms, tomato, ham and onion etc. You could also your tea and coffee but the service was exceptional. When we come back to Prague we will be staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Tim B,

Thank you for having chosen the Maximilian Hotel for your stay in Prague, and for sharing your kind feedback with us.
It was delightful to read that you liked so many aspects and features of the hotel, and we would be glad to see you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Hotel staff made me feel at home and helped make reservations for the tours. Hotel is a five minute walk to the center square there are closer hotels but this was a nice hotel except for the all night bar next door (a little noisy). Request a room away from the front of the building or as high as possible and it would be fine. Breakfast was good there was a good assortment of food to choose from the buffet but they also have daily specials which I found I liked the most. If you go during a hot period over 90f (does not happen often) ask for another key so you can keep the room cool (makes for a cooling location).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear ben h,

We would like to thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at the Maximilian Hotel. We were pleased to read your positive feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

wonderful hotel with a very hospital staff, ideal stay for its strategic central position in the city heart while enjoying peaceful rooms, brakfast buffet and unfailing service. Minimal and distinguished elegance of the hotel
the only thing I missed was a swimming pool

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear marina c,

Thank you for posting your kind feedback on our TripAdvisor page about your stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience here, and we hope to see you in Prague again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed in the 'Black House' of the hotel and the room was spacious and clean, with a safe, minibar, air conditioning, Espresso coffee machine and free Wifi for the duration of our stay. Breakfast (which was included in the room price and available up to 11.30am) was amazing, buffet style laden with hot and cold food, various breads, cheeses and cold meats, cereals, fresh fruit etc, also orders from the menu such as eggs Benedict/Florentine, pancakes, eggs any way you like - something for everyone! Bassan - one of the breakfast staff was particularly attentive and greeted us each morning with a big smile and a smoothie! Reception staff (in particular Dalilia) were polite and helpful when asking for restaurant recommendations and directions. The hotel has an honesty bar, computer room, library and coffee machines available 24/7 and even serves cake at 5pm each day free of charge (unfortunately we missed this due to exploring Prague!). As our flight home was not until 8pm after checking out at noon, the hotel stored our suitcases and welcomed us to still use their facilities (computer room, honesty bar etc) which I thought was most generous. All in all a marvellous hotel, great staff, central to everything in Prague whilst still remaining in a quiet area away from the hustle and bustle. I am surprised it is not ranked higher!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr and Mrs H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs H H,

Your gorgeous review has captured so much about our hotel - thank you for sharing it with us and other readers.
Our staff were really glad to read your kind words, and it is great motivation to know that you appreciated their attentiveness and helpfulness.
We all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,713 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#7 of 646 in Prague
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#26 of 646 in Prague
1,756 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 646 in Prague
2,550 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#15 Family Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#27 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £70 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing