We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service !”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #28 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I rated 4 stars as it Good for Boutique Hotel category and not your usual Big and Luxury hotel category. If you like modern & convenient boutique hotel , I would suggest this hotel, as the price is just above EUR100. It has a nice and popular Spa with Thai and Indonesian staffs for the massage.

It is walking distance to old town in about 10mins, Charles bridge is about 20mins walk and a nice Cezh restaurant with a red wheel behind the church. The hotel is opposite the church. There is a big shopping centre about 5 mins walk away on the main road.

The lobby and room both has a modern look unlike other Europe hotel. (See other Europe review). The lobby has a small drinking station which you can help yourself to lemon flavoured water and fruits. There is another room which you can have free tea or coffee during the day in a lounge setting ( not sure the time). I was out most days so did get a chance to use it.

The Buffet has your standard items, different juice like, apple, orange and multi-vitamin juice, cereal and bread, bacons etc. You can also order egg omelette, smoothie, and pancake. I like that they set the table with a small paper informing the weather. This gives you an idea how warm or cold the weather is for the day.

Staff were helpful in arranging transport and it cost about EUR33 from airport to Hotel. For a 8 hrs car hire and driver, is about EUR120 which can sit 4 persons comfortably. This is a good deal to have your own car where you can choose to visit attractions at your own pace especially for Elderly people. In 8 hrs we managed to cover a short tour of the Palace, had lunch at Celeste in Dancing Hall and a brief stop at the Railway station to reserve seat, photo stop of the clock tower at old town and shopping at the mall instead of Old town due to rain in the afternoon. We had a terrific professional driver called Charles, who was also was very attentive and look out for my elderly dad. He also was kind enough to give us complementary commentaries which was not part of his job as driver.

I had also booked for a 90min 1 for 1 massage package, but had problem getting booking as we required 2 female masseurs at the same time. Peter at Maximilian came down to the basement Spa and sorted it out and managed to get us 2 female Masseurs on our last day for 60mins instead. I asked if I could find one nearby on the day of my arrival due to pain in the shoulder and he found one about 5mins walk away.

The service in this hotel is fantastic from Reception to Buffet Breakfast place, always with a smile. I like that Tomas at reception was helpful with the bags as my parent were surprised in the earlier hotel that in Europe we had to carry our own bags to the hotel room. He even suggested 2 Czech food restaurant which we managed to try ones of them, and food were to our liking and prices is cheap for Europe standard.

This hotel staff is very attentive to little details such as using colored pens to marked out attractions on the city map, individual weather info on your breakfast table, free water at lobby and hot drink at their honesty lounge. Even lend you a Gold fish in your room as a pet. Just remember not to take out your card key when you leave the room and unplug the pump of the fish tank. This will kill the fish.

I hope to be back in this hotel in my next visit to Prague and hopefully a longer visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freqtripbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Freqtripbug,

Thank you for sharing your review with us and other readers on TripAdvisor.
Your nice and detailed feedback captured so much about the Maximilian Hotel regarding the location, amenities, and service. We are really happy that we managed to contribute to a memorable experience, and we would especially like to thank you for your kind recognition of our staff for their help they provided you with during your stay here.
We truly hope you had a wonderful time in Prague, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 2,459 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Roomy, clean contemporary rooms, responsive, knowledgeable and helpful staff and a location where you can walk to almost anything or get to public transportation easily. We really enjoyed our stay here for five nights.

With temps hitting 90+ F in the city, the ice-cold A/C was essential for a good night's rest. The breakfast buffet is great and everyone here is friendly, pleasant and helpful. We'd stay here again in a heart-beat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KilgoreTrout53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear JohnKcpa,

We would like to thank you for posting your positive review on our TripAdvisor page.
We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay at the Maximilian Hotel, and we appreciate your kind comments about our staff as well. It is always a great motivation to hear our guests' feedback, and it makes us proud to know that you appreciated our team's helpful attitude.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Delightful hotel. Large quiet room. Beds comfortable, nice toiletries. Breakfast one of the best we've had. Excellent wifiLocation excellent. Staff were superb, warm and helpful no matter what their role. Would recommend highly

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Jillian G,

It was delightful to read your kind words regarding your stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It is great to hear that you liked so many aspects here, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed a single night, while in transit. The room, staff, and surround were all great. Great location. They have a nice quiet library, and an internet room. Breakfast was ample. Great value. I was directed there by another hotel I'd liked, when it was full. I'd happily return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank listener312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear listener312,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write and post your positive feedback about the Maximilian Hotel.
It was delightful to hear that we managed to contribute to a pleasant stay, and we would be happy to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Everything was wonderful at the Maximilian Hotel! Two couples stayed three nights in rooms 204 and 304. Rooms very well organized, good beds, large and modern bathrooms with very deep tub and great shower. Breakfast was amazing! All the staff were helpful and cheerful. The location is perfect - about 5 minutes walk from Old Town Square in a quiet area. Small convenience store next door and many good restaurants. Don't miss Chez Marcel and U Cerveneho Kola. Steps away from Lokal. Laundry around the corner, and tram station just a couple of blocks. It's perfectly located! You will not be disappointed with the hotel - it's a real gem!

Room Tip: Rooms 204 and 304 overlook the church. The AC is good, but the windows also open! Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skidaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear skidaddle,

We would like to thank you for reviewing our property on our TripAdvisor page.
It was great motivation to read your wonderful feedback, and we are really happy that you found the Maximilian Hotel so suitable for your stay in Prague.
We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Very good boutique hotel. It is in an ideal location! Quiet street, walking distance to Jewish area and good town. The hotel is very sleek and modern. Bedrooms are adequate but on the smaller side. Our teenagers and we enjoyed staying there. The front desk staff answered all of our questions, but not overly helpful. Lots of spacious lounges to relax in. Breakfast buffet was outstanding and delicious. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldenretrieverny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear goldenretrieverny,

We were pleased to read your nice comments - thank you for posting your review on our TripAdvisor page.
It is great to hear that you were satisfied with the service provided here, and we are proud to know that we could contribute to a pleasant and enjoyable stay in Prague.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We recently returned from a trip that included Prague....the Maximilian was a perfect stop on our month long trip because we had all the luxuries so often associated with a U.S. hotel - the room was huge with all the amenities one could want, modern and new. Location was superb...we walked to the square in 3 minutes and all the sites were within a close range. Breakfast (included) was over the top amazing by any standards.

The only constructive criticism I would give is that upon check-in (and throughout our 5 day stay) we had to find out the wonderful hotel offerings on our own. We walked by the Honesty Bar - "what's this?"...we didn't know where to find breakfast our first day. When we got to (wonderful) breakfast, we didn't find out there were additional menu items (included) until after we completed the (amazing) buffet offerings...too late. Menu was on the table but no one instructed us when we walked in. By day three I figured how it all worked and ordered DELICIOUS porridge from the menu, all menu items are included.

If I were to return to Prague, there is no question this would be my hotel of choice...just would have liked a bit more of an orientation throughout our stay.

Room Tip: We faced the church...great location and it was very quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibbyLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear LibbyLovesTravel,

First of all, please allow us to thank you for sharing your nice review with us and other readers on TripAdvisor.
We were all really happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Maximilian Hotel, and we appreciate your kind comments regarding the location and our breakfast.
We are sorry to know that you felt like you were not provided with more orientation, but we do hope we can see you again so we will have the chance to prove that our staff are there to assist you at all times.

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 648 in Prague
1,683 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 648 in Prague
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 648 in Prague
2,521 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#21 of 648 in Prague
742 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#27 of 648 in Prague
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#26 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £88 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing