We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #29 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Would not return”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We purposefully requested not to be on the 6th flr because of other reviews we had read about the flight of stairs and the slanted roof. We paid extra to have a superior deluxe room to make sure we did not get a room on the 6th flr. I emailed the hotel well in advance that we would be arriving late and then called the day of our arrival to remind them we would be late. Apparently they must have given away our room because when we arrived at 1:30 am, we were given a room on the 6th floor in the red tower. I was told that they were fully booked and that this could not be rectified til the next day. We had to carry our 3 heavy suitcases up a flight of stairs. The room was old and because of the slanted ceiling which the windows were on, the drapes were swooped into the room significantly reducing the size of the room. The next morning, we were moved to a smaller regular room on the 5th flr in the black tower that had small basement sized windows and was not a Superior Deluxe room because it said on our reservation that all of their Superior Deluxe rooms have a convertible sofa. I pointed that out to the manager and he said that the Superior Deluxe rooms were not ready and that they would move our luggage to another room when one was clean, which they did. I was not happy and they seemed annoyed that they had to move us again. No compensation was offered for our trouble and the staff was pretty cool with us after that with the exception of the breakfast staff who were always cheerful and friendly. We had requested a goldfish which we did not get until the second night because they had run out, but they gave us a tank with a broken pump. It was very loud and kept me up half the night. The third day I requested a new pump and they replaced it with one that worked and was very quiet. We found the maid service to be poor as our toiletries were not replenished and the bathroom didn't appear to be cleaned. I think all she did was replace the towels and make the bed. The ipod dock was useless to us because we both had new iphone 5s and they said they only had docks that fit the older ipods.

Now the positives about the hotel: We loved our fish - such a great and unique idea. Upon arrival, you are greeted with strawberries and chocolates in your room. When we were finally moved to the superior room, it was very spacious, bright and clean with a nice bathroom. It had free wifi, a safe, a mini bar fridge. Rooms have A/C. The sofa was great to have. One night the manager left a bottle of chilled, sparkling wine in our room for my birthday with a nice note. Breakfast was good since you could either eat from the buffet and order off the menu - all included in the room rate. Parking is limited and costs 27 euro per night so reserve when you book. Their location in the Jewish Quarter is excellent - just a 10 minute walk to the main square and on a quiet street.

Unfortunately, because of the trouble we had and the staff response, we would not book here again.

Room Tip: Request not to be on the 6th floor. The black tower seemed to be better than the red. Hopefully yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbug041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke B, Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
I would first of all like to apologize for the negative aspects of your trip. We obviously made several mistakes and were not able to rectify them during your stay. I am truly sorry for this and will make sure to speak with the reception staff to prevent similar situations from happening in the future.
I am was also glad to hear that you enjoyed our goldfish among other services we offer. We do hope that if you will return to Prague you will give us another chance to prove we are able to exceed your expectations. If you do decide to visit Prague please contact me directly. Once again, I would like to apologize for the negative aspects of your stay.

Best Regards,
Luke Bodenschatz
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,785
    495
    48
    17
    4
See reviews for
380
1,199
139
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very welcoming after our train ride. The receptionist had a room ready for us upon our arrival and helped us get settled for the day. Rooms are a good size and clean.

Breakfast is great and the staff sweet.

Everything is a 9 minute max walk from here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LuvDZnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear LuvDZnee,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Prague, as well as for your nice review.
We were pleased to read your kind comments and it makes us really happy that you liked the Maximilian Hotel.
It would be a pleasure to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My 2 twenty-something kids and I recently stayed at Maximillian otel in wonderful Prague. We arrived late by train and our ride,arranged by the hotel,was waiting at the station for us !! It was a relief after a long day of travel. The breakfast is not only a fantastic deal- (we never ate again until dinner), it was also consistently delicious. The hotel's location is perfect for site seeing and night life. We always felt safe in Prague, even when walking back to the hotel late at night. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvstheadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Luvstheadventure,

We were delighted to read your nice and detailed review regarding your stay at the Maximilian Hotel - thank you for sharing it with us and other readers.
It makes us proud to know that we managed to contribute to a great time in Prague, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Although we had a little hiccup with reservation upon arrival, we were treated courteously and compensated reasonably for the trouble. The room was very spacious with modern decoration and appliances, and the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel (buffet plus special order on the menu). I would stay with them again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Eric C,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your gorgeous review on our TripAdvisor page.
We are truly happy to know that you were satisfied with the compensation and that you liked so many aspects of your stay here.
We truly look forward to seeing you again, should you return to Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, MA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We just stayed at the Hotel Maximilian for a few days. It is an excellent hotel - great location, very friendly and helpful staff, very nice rooms and facilities (and very clean)....and of course that wonderful breakfast that other reviewers have commented upon. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a centrally located hotel from which to walk to virtually anywhere in the Old Town, the New Town, or anywhere in between.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Black House - overlooking the church. Very quiet except for daytime musicians play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear ginaf,

Thank you for posting your kind review on our TripAdvisor page regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It was delightful to read how much you appreciated so many features here, and we definitely look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Alm, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times. Sometimes I am responsible for a group of students from Arizona State University, USA. If they had had problems with the hotel, they would have told me, but the comments were always very positive and there were no complaints.

I've had rooms on the first and the top floor. The only problem was to turn off the light while lying in bed - everything else was perfect, including an umbrella in the room, very useful when it rains! Breakfast was very good and especially the service is excellent - from changing money to giving information about events in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank immersonntags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear immersonntags,

First of all, please allow me to thank you for being our returning guest at the Maximilian Hotel, as well as for posting your nice review.
It makes us really happy to know that both you and your students like our property, and appreciate the service we provide you with during your stays here.
We truly look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Overall the hotel Maximilian was excellent. Upon arrival we were told that due to water pressure problems we were being moved to the sister hotel Josef, which was a two minute walk. I can also highly recommended hotel Josef.
After the first night in hotel Josef we were told that we could return back to hotel Maximilian for the remainder of the trip, we found the hotel and services as follows:

Cleanliness = Very very clean.
Staff = Very polite and friendly.
Food (breakfast) = excellent, wide range of food and long hours 06.30 till 12.30 at weekends!!!
Location = Perfect, 5 mins from old town square, 15 mins to Charles bridge.
Facilities (Room) = Bose sound dock, nice touch. Nespresso machine good, Nice toiletries (Elemis)
Price = Reasonably good value when booked on hotel Maximilian website.

Overall very happy with our stay in Prague and would happily stay there again! 5 ☆☆☆☆☆

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Ash550,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your nice and throughout positive feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to know that you also liked our sister property, and we were really glad to read how were satisfied with all the aspects you mentioned about the Maximilian Hotel.
Thank you once more for sharing your review with us and other readers, and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,299 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 649 in Prague
2,477 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#11 of 649 in Prague
740 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing