We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally Located and Ideal to Stay At”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #28 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ideally Located and Ideal to Stay At”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic 4 day trip trip to Prague and we are very pleased that we stayed at the Maximilian Hotel. They provided a car from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel back to the airport. A bit more expensive than a regular taxi but comfortable and reliable.
The hotel itself is perfectly located to make visiting all the tourist sights very easy on foot. Most places are within an easy walk from the hotel. Old Town Square is only 5 minutes away and from there everywhere else that you would want to see is easily accessible. Old Town Square itself and the surrounding streets contain a wide choice of eateries and watering holes to suit all tastes and wallets. There are also many guides there offering both free tours (tip if you want) and paid for tours. You can choose what you want to see and they are certainly very knowledgeable in terms of the buildings, architecture and history and convey the information in an interesting manner. You can of course do your own thing but it is sometimes nice to hear the story behind what you are seeing.The local Czech cuisine has to be tried but is certainly not for those watching their weight. Dumplings are a speciality which should be tried.
The hotel itself is clean and bright and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is plentiful with a wide choice of hot and cold items and is served in a bright and airy room. The service there was excellent.
The fact that the hotel has free wifi in all areas is an added bonus. You can facebook and tweet to your heart's content and let your friends and followers know what you have been up to. (I'm @gaznipper). Follow if you wish.
Please note that every day at 5pm in the lounge the guest relations team serve tea and coffee with a freshly baked cake. We only discovered this on our last day. The cake was delicious and if you are in the hotel at that time you should partake.
Prague is a great place to visit with so much to see and the Maximilian Hotel is an ideal base to use.
Stay there and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GazNipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear GazNipper,

Your nice and detailed review captured so much about our property, thank you for sharing it with us and other readers!
We are glad that you have great memories of your stay at the Maximilian Hotel. It was also delightful to read how much you liked our 5 o'clock Coffee and Tea, among so many other features that you appreciated here.
We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,711
    483
    47
    16
    4
See reviews for
345
1,160
135
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This small, stylish hotel is situated in the Old Town near many good restaurants--and for that matter within walking distance of many sites. One only has to look up at the neighboring buildings to relish the architecture. Clearly, the inhabitants are proud of their city's landscape and maintain the buildings with their ornate paint jobs beautifully. Maximilian starts it's guests off with a wonderful buffet breakfast. The service everywhere--breakfast room, concierge, etc--was top notch. Rooms were simple and designed with care. We loved this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papapapenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Papapapenny,

Thank you for your kind review and for having chosen us in Prague.
We are really glad that you had a pleasant time here and we look forward to seeing you again for a future stay!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Prague was an amazing city, and so by nature of such an incredible destination, it attracts many people! But each time we came back to Maximilian for an afternoon siesta and again in the evening, it was a little piece of calm to relax. We stayed there for 3 nights. The service and amenities are top notch, including a hot breakfast, free access to computers and printers in the business centre, a nice library to sit and relax, and the honesty bar where you can get alcohol for a fee, or all the coffee or tea you want for free. The room itself was very comfortable, a little bit larger than your average European hotel room, nicely decorated and a good quality bed. The little touches were great - strawberries and chocolate upon arrival, the ability to buy city train tickets, and friendly staff (who spoke great English) that can point you in the right direction. The location of the hotel was perfect. Close to everything you could need including the train stop, the square and the Charles bridge. If we ever go back to Prague we would definitely stay here again. The only negative thing I have to say is that the hallways aren't that nice! And you know you've found a great hotel if that's the worst thing you can think to say about it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgaryish0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear calgaryish0me,

Thank you for providing us with your wonderful review about the Maximilian Hotel.
We are really happy that you had a great time here and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

If a hotel could be awarded six stars, the Maximilian in Prague would certainly be a candidate for this honor. First class in all ways, this small, well situated hotel bent over backwards to make us feel welcome, pampered and special. Probably because we were traveling during the off-season, they were able to give us three nights for the price of two, arrange for a driver to meet us at the airport, offer us a free breakfast on our arrival at 9:00 a.m. and let us check into our rooms early. All of this and a bottle of wine to boot. Besides the sleek, spacious rooms, the breakfasts served were the finest we encountered in all of Europe. Not to mention the charming staff, both at check-in and at breakfast.Our three nights at the Maximilian were the one of the highlights of our European vacation.

Room Tip: If you'd like, they will furnish you with a goldfish to keep you company in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear anthompson,

Thank you for posting your throughout positive reveiw on our TripAdvisor page.
Your kind feedback is a great motivation to us and it makes us really happy to know that you have such good memories of your stay in Prague.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Excellent location, clean/nice room (ask for the goldfish), delicious and diverse breakfast buffet, incredibly helpful and friendly staff, thoughtful evening coffee/tea/snacks and attractive décor. Absolutely no complaints and really enjoyed The Maximilian !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Arn S,

Many thanks for your nice feedback, and also for having chosen the Maximilian for your stay in Prague.
We are pleased to know that you liked our hotel and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

our stay at maximilian hotel was perfect! the reception area was clean and modern with little perks - complimentary tea and cookies in the morning - and flavoured water throughout the day. a few stairs up there are two computers with internet (however the hotel also has free wifi) and a little further down, the beautiful breakfast room. again, very clean and modern with a great offering - yummy food and a fantastic selection. unfortunately we didn't have enough time to hang out in the other common areas but they also looked nice. our room and bathroom were clean and a good size. we stayed on the first floor overlooking a church, where people seemed to be sitting around day and night. i will say that it got a little noisy at night but we used our earplugs so it wasn't a big deal. the location was also great, within walking distance to most of the sites. you get your selection of a free gift when booking through their website (we chose a bottle of wine) and upon early morning checkout, they had packed breakfast for us since we were going to miss it. hotel maximilian is one of the nicest hotels we've stayed at for a very reasonable price. oh, i almost forgot the cute touches - little weather report in your napkin at breakfast and the possibility of "renting" a goldfish if you miss your pet at home. just stay here!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peeleege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear peeleege,

Thank you for sharing your review with us and other readers on TripAdvisor.
We were really happy to read your nice comments and positive feedback, and it is delightful to know that you had a pleasant stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay in the Maximilian Hotel. Chose it because of the reviews on tripadvisor and it certainly lived up to its reviews. Room was excellent, clean towels every day and complementary toiletries. The breakfast was outstanding with a large selection of choices from the buffet as well as being able to select from a menu. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We felt they went out of their way to make sure that our visit was perfect in every way. Thank you for your excellent hospitality on our first visit to your beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sylvia A,

Thank you so much for your nice review as well as for having chosen the Maximilian Hotel in Prague.
Your wonderful feedback is a great motivation for us and it makes us proud to know that we managed to make your stay a pleasant and enjoyable one.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,670 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,453 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, MyHotelShop, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing