We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel a short walk from the Old Town Center”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #29 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little hotel a short walk from the Old Town Center”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Nice, modern property about 5 minutes walk from the Old Town. Rooms are simple, yet spacious and clean. Nice touches like welcome chocolates at check-in, an on-site spa, a reading room, and good breakfast. Dalila at the reception provided 5-star service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kona2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Kona2005,

Thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Prague as well as for your kind review on our TripAdvisor page.
We are pleased to know that you liked the Maximilian Hotel and we appreciate your kind recognition of Dalila for her efforts in making your stay a pleasant one.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,785
    495
    48
    17
    4
See reviews for
380
1,199
139
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We were really impressed with our stay in Maximilian Hotel. There was nothing that we could fault, and everything we could praise. When we first arrived at 9 in the morning, we were greeted by friendly reception staff, and to our pleasant surprise there was a room ready for us to check in this early and refresh ourselves after an overnight train ride. What a bliss. The room was very nice, modern, clean, and reasonably spacious. It came with a nespresso machine and pod refills every day. We were also offered a pet gold fish to stay in the room with us, which was a nice touch actually. The bathroom was reasonable size also. The bed was a little bit soft for our liking, but that is a subjective matter, nevertheless we got a decent comfortable sleep every night. The sheets also felt new. Overall, it was a comfortable stay.

There are a few little perks in this hotel, for example they do late afternoon teas downstairs at 5pm. You can also borrow a DVD from their library, free of charge. One slight negative (but also a positive) is that you can't turn up the TV too loud. Eating a bag of crisps and hearing the TV was impossible, but then neighbours won't hear it either. Although being solid walls, they could let the TV go up a little bit higher without affecting anyone outside.

As part of our stay (for our anniversary) we booked the zensation 90 minute couples massage, done professionally by Balinese masseurs. It was really relaxing and well done.

The location of the hotel is great. It's in a quiet part of town, yet only five mins walk to the town square. Our room was facing the street, and it was fairly quiet at night, we slept with the window open.

The breakfast is fantastic! I've been to many hotels in the last two years, by far their breakfast is one of the best, if not THE BEST hotel breakfast I've ever had. Firstly the scrambled eggs were actual scrambled eggs, not that dry stuff most hotels make out of powder. There is a huge selection in the buffet, from hot and cold, but in additional to all that, there is an ala carte menu for make to order as well (order as many as you like). Things such as eggs Benedict and Florentine, pumpkin gratin, pancakes, as well as all sorts of egg things, omelettes, sunny side up etc. There was even a nice smoothie on the menu. Seriously, wow, all tasted delicious and made our stay in the hotel that much better, looking forward to the breakfast every morning.

All staff were really friendly, it was a pleasure talking to them.

I totally recommend this hotel, and I'd happily stay there again. We were 100% happy with everything. And Prague is a beautiful city worth visiting.

P.S. Thanks Dalila for the anniversary note that came with our champagne and strawberries.

Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Dan C,

We would like to thank you for your very nice and detailed feedback regarding the Maximilian Hotel. Please allow us also to thank you for having chosen us for such a special occasion as celebrating your anniversary.
It was great to read how much you appreciated so many aspects of your stay; we are proud to know that we managed to contribute to a great time in Prague. By the way, Dalila was really happy that you mentioned her in your feedback.
We hope to have the opportunity to see you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and it was a standout! The service, rooms, breakfast, location ticked all the boxes for us. The staff went out of their way to assist you and we did the complimentary walking tour as soon as we got there. There are a number of good restaurants close by such as the Lokal, The Red Wheel and La Degustation. It was definitely a great place to stay to kick off our 4 week Eastern Europe holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peppermintgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear peppermintgirl7,

It was delightful to read your kind review on our TripAdvisor page, thank you for sharing it with us!
We are grateful for your kind comments and it makes us really glad to know that you enjoyed our short Neighborhood Orientation tour.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at this charming little hotel. The location is in Old Town but in a quiet area, so you can walk to everything and still be away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms were a very nice size. The best part of our stay had to be the incredible breakfast that was available each morning. It's quite a spread and has something to please everyone. The afternoon teas and cake, and the wine and cheese were also a welcome respite after a full day of sight-seeing. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room that faced the rear of some other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Debbie E,

We were so happy to see your positive feedback! Thank you for posting it as well as for having chosen us in Prague.
It was great to hear how much you appreciated our service and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Recently stayed here, we are on our honeymoon & they had provided wine & chocolates upon arrival which was a nice touch. This hotel is in a great location, couple mins walk to Old Town Square. Buffet breakfast is decent & staff are friendly and very helpful. Also their day spa is lovely. We Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diversi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Diversi86,

We were pleased to read your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel; thank you for posting it on our TripAdvisor page.
We are truly happy that you had a great time here and we are proud to know that we managed to contribute to a memorable experience.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I recently spent 4 days at the Hotel Maximilian before moving to an apartment when my family joined me in Prague. Pretty much everything has been said already about this hotel.

* Location - right in the Jewish Quarter just an easy stroll to the Town Square
- just around the corner from Lokal ( best beer in Prague )
- not too far from Charles Bridge
* Breakfast - great buffet selection plus dishes to order
- good coffee
- serving till 11.30am
* Staff - friendly
- super helpful
- will go out of their way to help you

I was here in a wheelchair and their disabled room was very comfortable. Enough room to move around in and a nice large bathroom. Lift access no hassles, lift small but big enough. Entry to and from their building easy, staff always willing to open the doors. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would stay again. Tickled to receive a postcard from Max my temporary pet goldfish.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tez28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Tez28,

It was delightful to read your kind words; we would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your nice and detailed feedback on our TripAdvisor page.
It makes us glad to hear that you have good memories of your stay at the Maximilian Hotel, and we are so happy you liked the postcard from our Goldfish.
We would be happy to see you again here!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Class act all the way. Excellent service, both via internet prior to trip and onsite, clean and modern rooms, comfortable bed, great breakfast, quality toiletries, Nespresso machine in the room, and even a goldfish if you want! Honesty bar was maybe a little overpriced for Czech standards, but there are plenty of other bars and restos nearby, and a convenience store next door.
Quiet street about a 10 minute walk to Old Town square, bridges, and all the other sights with want to see.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YULwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear YULwoman,

Thank you for having chosen the Maximilian Hotel for your stay in Prague and also for recommending us on TripAdvisor.
We were really happy to read that you liked our property and that you appreciated the small details.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,299 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 649 in Prague
2,477 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#11 of 649 in Prague
740 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing