We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a wonderful hotel!”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #29 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I can't think of one single negative thing to say about this hotel - it's just a wonderful hotel With everything you need. Very friendly and helpfull staff, Extremely good breakfast. Great rooms With Nespresso machine, IPOD docking, Plasma tv and dvd player. They even gave us Our own gold Fish in the room! Very Close to old town and restaurants (4-5 minutes walk). No noise outside. So pleased With this hotel, will for sure choose it again if returning to Prague. :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjørn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Bjornah,

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your kind comments. We are really glad you enjoyed our facilities. We are especially happy to know that you found our team helpful and friendly.
We will look forward to your return visit!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    477
    46
    16
    4
See reviews for
341
1,141
133
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Having booked 2 months in advance following the reviews on TripAdvisor, we understood as from our arrival that we did it all right! It was simply "perfect".
location: 5 minutes (not more) from Old Town Square and Astrological Clock, but more important, this hotel is so well situated that it is in the middle of Prague's nightlife. 2-3 minutes from famous nightclubs and bars as James Dean, Bombay club or Roxy! So no need to take any transportation to go back, you're arrived in your room well quickly.
Staff: Smiley, very helpful and listening to every single request. We requested for a late check-out on Sunday following a crazy Saturday night, done and accepted without any fee!
Rooms: spacious, bright, very clean and big bathroom with quality amenities, very comfy beds, nespresso machine with free coffee! Bose speakers and Led TV, gold fish on request :) I am not kidding. And of course, free Wi-Fi.
Breakfast: good choice for a 4* hotel, fresh ingredients and possibility to order special dishes as pancakes or sunny side-up eggs. Very good selection of cheese (most of them organic)
Overall: We were simply delighted with this hotel which also has a very good value if booked slightly in advance. This is the place I'd definitely choose to stay if I come back to Prague.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Eren O,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback on our TripAdvisor page regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We are really glad to know that you had a great time here and we truly appreciate your kind comments regarding all the aspects you liked here.
We would be happy to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Ideal hotel; lovely location, close to Old Town Sq, with great quality restaurants and bars within minutes' walk. Funky and fun facilities and features; cake & bubbles on my (unannounced) birthday were a great surprise and treat. Superb breakfasts, and nice 'honesty' bar. Other bonuses included the Wednesday complimentary cheese and wine tasting; also the in-room goldfish. Great job, team!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Kenny M,

Many thanks for your kind review as well as for having chosen us in Prague.
We were really happy to read that you had a great stay at the Maximilian Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Maximilian Hotel for our wedding anniversary. Chocolates, berries and champagne were waiting for us upon arrival. The hotel is beautiful, the breakfast amazing (both buffet and off the menu), and the staff was very helpful.

Our room and bathroom were huge! There was a nespresso machine, robes and slippers, and a pet goldfish waiting for us. One note: if you get the goldfish, which was very fun, also be prepared to hear the buzzing of the aquarium all night, and my husband and I had to cover the tank with a book to keep out the light.

Great location, about a 5-7 minute walk to old town, about a 10 minute walk to Namesti Republiky (there is a closer tram stop than this one). Good restaurants nearby too. Argentinean place (with iPad menus!) and Lokal, a very popular place for foodies. A good place for Czech food was the Red Wheel behind the church in front of the hotel. The mall in Namesti Republiky is also great, and there's a market in it too.

This was my best stay ever in Europe, and I have stayed many places. Would only stay here if I come to Prague again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank faithc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear faithc,

Thank you so much for staying with us and also for posting your kind and detailed review on our TripAdvisor page. We would also like to thank you for having chosen the Maximilian Hotel for such a special occasion as celebrating your anniversary, and we are truly happy to know that you appreciated the surprise we prepared for you.
We were pleased to read your kind words about our property and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Everything was perfect. The room was spotless and beautiful, the bed extra comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, with special seasonal treats.
The extras are what make this hotel different: the free wifi, the coffee and cake served at the end of everyday in the salon, the friendly and helpful service, the chic decor.
The location is perfect, in the Jewish quarter, a short walk from many of the interesting spots. Lots of cafés and good restaurants all around, the only problem is to choose.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeleneC819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Helene C,

Thank you so much for providing us with your really nice feedback on our TripAdvisor page.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel and that you liked so many features here.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

The best hotel we've stayed in europe to date. Could not fault anything in the 3 nights we were there. The room was modern, clean, and has all the essentials.

But what made the difference were the small touches the implemented. Example: umbrella in room, free nespresso machine, gold fish tank, little weather notes on the napkins. This made our stay JUST that little more comfortable. Other positives:

- 5 min walk to Old town square
- 5 min walk to shopping
- Beautiful 15 minute walk to Charles Bridge
- 25 minute walk to the palace

Keep up the good work guys!!

Helpful?
Thank JaseX
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear JaseX,

It was delightful to read your kind feedback, thank you for sharing it on our TripAdvisor page!
We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Maximilian Hotel and that you appreciated so many aspects here.
We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

A complete unexpected surprise. Close enough to walk everywhere, yet quiet enough at the end of a long day when you want to escape the crowds. Room was exceptionally clean and stylish - loved the Nespresso machine. Staff went above and beyond from reservations ahead, to helping us track lost luggage, to sight seeing advice - thank you. Took me a while to do this review(we were there in summer 2012) but if he is still there - Peter was amazing. Breakfast was excellent - large, quality buffet selection. Thanks Peter, Sonia and Andrea.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottaluvsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Gottaluvsummer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your positive review regarding your stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We are especially grateful for your kind recognition of our team and we are glad to know that we managed to contribute to a memorable stay in Prague.
We all look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#37 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#26 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing