We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and breakfast fit for kings”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #27 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel during July. It is a great hotel, excellent location close to the center of the city and surrounded by restaurants and shops. The staff was very nice, always provided a helping hand.
The lobby has a very cool ambience, clean and bright.
The rooms are not that big, this is after all a hotel perched in the middle of a medieval city. But that room has it all Tv, a/c, nice bathroom with bathtub a great place to rest after hours of walking and exploring the city.
The breakfast was Amazing! Great variety of quality foods. We had such good breakfasts every day, that we skipped lunch and only had a snack. Highly recommend the ham they sell by the astronomical clock as the snack to go to.
We also decided to take care of one of the fishes they have in the hotel. That was an added bonus for our little one, who is a great traveler and she always remembers this hotel for her pet fish, Mabel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josearnaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, General Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Josearnaldo,

Thank you very much for having chosen us in Prague and also for leaving the above review on our TripAdvisor page.
It was my pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay at the Maximilian Hotel. I truly appreciate your positive comments about all the features you were satisfied with and I am glad you also liked the goldfish - it is delightful to know that we made your child's stay more memorable with this experience.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay!

Best Regards,
Manfred Tobolka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,173 - 1,179 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated in old town, we walked around Prague every day. No need for taxi at all!!! We booked a room with a view of the church and it was super, big windows in which we sat at night looking out and read a book or paper. We also booked a golffish, our little pet which we enjoyed talking to during our stay :-)
The breakfast was excellent!! So nice with the window roof! You even had a meny where you could order your own omelettes and smoothies!
The staff are all very serviceminded and helpful!!
I can recommend this place if you're going to Prague.

The spa is great, but the staff at the reception is not as serviceminded as the hotel staff. Do not order treatment by the Indian male, he has a very strange mindset regarding womens rights.
Make sure that you only book treatment through the hotelwebsite or the hotelstaff themselvs!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the old church, big windows! Dont forget to order the free of charge go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nattro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear nattro,

First or all, please allow us to thank you for reviewing our hotel and for providing us with your really nice feedback.
We were delighted to read your kind words regarding our location, breakfast, the nice view from your room and our staff. We are also really happy that you had the chance to have one of our pet goldfish in your room and we are happy you enjoyed its company.
It was our pleasure to hear that you liked our spa, however your feedback about the massage therapist really surprised us as we had never heard of such experience before. Thank you for bringing it to our attention - the issue has been discussed with the concerning department.
Thank you once more for your comments regarding your stay at the Maximilian Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very close to Old Town. We even walked to Prague castle from here. Breakfast was wonderful, a lot to choose from, and you could even order omelets. A great King size bed too. Good size bathroom, but the towels were a little worn. There is no closet with a door, but a rod where you can hang your clothes. The "closet" has many shelves to place folded clothes on. We were there end of March, and the room was a little too warm for us. Though we adjusted the thermostat, we couldn't get it cool enough, so we opened the window for coolness. Our only disappointment was on our last day there. The night before we asked for a breakfast to go for the next morning, since we were leaving at 5am. Unfortunately, on the morning we left, the receptionist told us that he knew nothing about the breakfast, so we left with just an apple.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ataylornana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear ataylornana,

Thank you for your feedback on our TripAdvisor page regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We were really happy to read your positive comments regarding our location, breakfast and your room - it is great to know that you enjoyed so many features of our property. We would also like to thank you for your honest feedback about our towels.
Please allow us to apologize for the inconvenience regarding the negative experience you had on the day of your departure. The concerning department has been informed and we will do our best not to have this issue occur again in the future.
Thank you once more for posting your review and we hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The service we received at the Maximilian hotel was second to none. From our initial booking of our room through to checkout nothing was a problem, you could not have asked for more.
Every person we met during our stay, that represented the hotel, greeted us with a smile and could not be more helpful. From the front desk, restaurant and even the cleaner all were very friendly and professional.
I'd like to thank Tomas on reception for a smooth check in and departure. I would also like to thank whoever arranged for a cake and wine to be left in our room to celebrate my wife's birthday. I had not asked for this to be done and shows that the hotel staff really want to make your stay an enjoyable experience.
The hotel itself could not be in a better location with nearly all of the sightseeing reachable by foot. The hotel is very clean and is of a very high standard. My wife travels through Europe with work and always comes home complaining of uncomfortable hotel beds. Not this time, she thought it was probably one of the most comfortablest she had ever slept in.
I have told friends and family that if they are ever lucky enough to visit Prague then they should book into the Maximilian Hotel. They will not be disappointed. I know my wife and I will return.

Mark Q, Slough, UK.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 555MarkQ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear 555MarkQ65,

We were so glad to read your wonderful comments on our TripAdvisor page regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel! Thank you very much for posting your review here.
It was our great pleasure to have you staying with us for such a special occasion as celebrating your wife's birthday and we are truly happy to know that you appreciated the surprise we left for her in the room.
We are delighted to know that you found your bed so much to your liking and that you were satisfied with other features of our property as well. Thank you also for your kind recognition of Tomas for the the efficient service he provided you with, it is a great motivation for him to read such nice feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Located on a quiet street, across from a church, yet just blocks away from the main square and many, many cool (and hot) bars. Property has an intimate feel. Staff is knowledgeable, helpful and efficient. Breakfast was very good. Loved being able to walk out right into heart of Prague, and loved being able to come home to great place for great night's sleep. Overall a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear COtraveler09,

Thank you for sharing your really nice review with us and other readers on TripAdvisor.
It is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, and we would like to thank you also for your kind words regarding our staff.
We look forward to seeing you again in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We really wanted to try a Boutique Hotel in Prague, we selected the Maximillian Hotel for the good reviews, tiny prices and location (the hotel is 5 minutes walking distance from the Old Town Hall Tower & Astronomical Clock, so convenient for a weekend there).
And we were not disappointed at all!

Prior our check in, the Guest Relations were really helpful and fast to answer for details arrangements.
We ask for a pick up car from the airport that was really convenient after our flight (approx. 30€).

We were welcomed by sweets birthday amenities in the bedroom and it was so kind of the Maximillian Staff to organize this (thanks for the happy Bday written on the helium balloon!).

Buffet breakfast was just beyond expectation, just the perfect way to start your day! And staff very kind!
Also, I had a full body traditional Ayurveda massage (90’), nice spa, experience and Asiatic Staff.
We really enjoyed the coffee breaks available each afternoon at the lounge and fell in love with the White Tea Fujian Peach.

The only point to comment was regarding the in room details. We had a rose on the bed upon our arrival and put it in the Champagne Ice bucket for the night, the bucket stayed there during our 4 days stay with the used napkins and bathroom amenities kits were not remplaced after being used…

Well, to conclude a really nice hotel in Prague to recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camille L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Camille_LRL,

First of all, please let me thank you for providing us with your detailed feedbak and for taking the time to write and post this review on our TripAdvisor page. I would once more like to thank you for having chosen us for such a special occasion as celebrating your birthday and I would like to congratulate to you on behalf of the whole team.
I am so happy that you were satisfied with the communation prior to your arrival and thank you also for mentioning how much you appreciated the surprises in your room. It was aso great to hear that you enjoyed our prime location, the wide breakfast selection and the 5 o'clock Coffee and Tea in our Honesty Bar - by the way, the White Tea Fujian Peach is indeed really nice! I am also glad that you also had a nice experience at the massage center.
It is my pleasure to know that you had a nice birthday celebration, however I am truly sorry to know that the issue you mentioned in the last part of your review caused some sort of inconvenience. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, because this will give us the chance to improve and we will do our best to avoid further occurence.
I look forward to seeing you again in Prague whenever you decide to return!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I am very happy that I decided to stay this hotel (I normally stay with major 4 star hotel as Marriott, Westin, Hyatt)
If I will come back again, of course I will choose this hotel again, excellence !!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, General Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Lisa C,

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Maximilian Hotel in Prague as well as for leaving your feedback on our TripAdvisor page.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Manfred Tobolka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,683 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,519 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#21 of 649 in Prague
741 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#26 of 649 in Prague
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £89 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing