We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay in Prague”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #29 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Kilcullen, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay in Prague”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a 4 night stay in the Maximilian Hotel in Prague. I have to say that we were both very impressed and would highly recommend it. The hotel is perfectly situated less than 5 mins away from the Old Town Square and pretty much all tourist attractions are within walking distance. I had emailed the hotel prior to our stay with some room requests (upper floor with church view), all of which were granted. We were even provided with strawberries, chocolates and a bottle of wine in our room on arrival. The room itself was spacious and very clean, as was the bathroom. We were also given a pet fish for the duration of our stay! My only criticism of the room was that I didn't find the pillows very comfortable. Breakfast was one of my highlights. There was an excellent buffet breakfast with an a la carte menu that included eggs benedict, waffles, pancakes etc. all of which were included in the room rate. The staff of the hotel were very friendly and welcoming, especially Dmitri, our waiter at breakfast and his female colleague. I would have no hesitation in returning here or recommending it to someone else. A great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in on the 5th floor in the black building with a view of the church. Nice and quiet. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POC-CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear POC-CW,

Many thanks for recommending us on TripAdvisor as well as for sharing your positive feedback with us and other readers.
We were so happy to read how much you liked our hotel and also that you appreciated the service we provided you with. Dmitri and Katka were especially glad to hear that you mentioned them in your review.
It is our great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our facilities and we would be pleased to welcome you back to the Maximilian Hotel!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,752
    490
    48
    16
    4
See reviews for
363
1,183
137
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This charming hotel is set in a pretty, peaceful pocket of Old Town, within a comfortable walking distance to Prague's many attractions. The hotel's biggest asset is the staff, who are friendly, professional and very obliging. It makes such a difference - each time you leave and return you are greeted warmly and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was delightful and once again staff really engaged with us. Our superior room was very comfortable. Our only small complaint were the old towels and pillows. Overall, a most wonderful stay in this superb city. Thank you Hotel Maximillian!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Julie O,

Thank you for taking the time to post the above review on our TripAdvisor page. We were very pleased to receive your positive feedback about the team and they were delighted to hear they met your needs during your stay. We are also grateful that you have shared your kind comments regarding our facilities, it is great to hear you enjoyed the central location of the hotel! Thank you for bringing to our attention the condition of the towels as we can now improve upon this for the future. We truly hope you had a fantastic stay here in Prague and we hope that we will welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked this hotel during their stay 3 nights and receive the 4th night free offer and what a deal that turned out to be.

The front desk was quick to reply to my emails before our stay and they accommodated our respect for a quite room with a bathtub. Check in was handled promptly and we were given a map of the city with the restaurants we had inquired about circled.

Our room was on the top floor, room 501. Loads of space and even though the view was of the ally behind, the noise level was zero. We couldn't believe we were in the middle of the city with how quite it was, we even slept with the window open and were never disturbed. Bed could have been a tad more comfy but by European standards it was great. Bathroom was spacious and the room had all the amenities you could want. We used the Nespresso machine almost every morning and night.

Each day we were treated to the BEST Hotel Breakfast, served until 11:30 on weekdays and 12:30 on the weekends. The late breakfast allowed us to take our time in the morning and was an added bonus I hadn't read about online before going. We had the Eggs Benedict from the menu, as well as our fill of fresh fruit, cheese, meats, pastries, bread, eggs, sausage, and cereal. Also, the staff were quick to bring your choice of Hot Drink, the lattes are great!

After breakfast we would stop by the front desk and ask for a dinner reservation to be made for us each night. The staff got us a table at our requested time in every instance. We ate at Chagalls, Aldente, & U Kroka (I've wrote reviews of all three.) The hotel's location is FANTASTIC. You are a 5 min walk from the square and from there you can get anywhere. The area surrounding the hotel is filled with restaurants. Chagalls and Aldente were around the corner, and U Kroka was a 200Czk ride away. The taxi was also arranged through the hotel.

We also booked the Zensation Package for 2 in the Spa. The massages and bottle of Champagne were icing on the cake for an already excellent stay.

You won't be disappointed with a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarBailey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, General Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear CarBailey123,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a wonderful and detailed review of our hotel. I truly appreciate all the positive feedback regarding our facilities, location and service and I am especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Furthermore, thank you for your kind comments regarding the front office team. I sincerely hope you had a fantastic time in Prague and we hope to see you again at Maximilian Hotel!

Best Regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This family friendly hotel offered outstanding service, full-buffet breakfast with chef's specials, evening snacks and excellent room amenities. The bed and linens were equivalent to any High end American hotel. We have stayed in many European hotels and this is by far one of the best at a reasonable price. The well staffed reception and dining area goes beyond your expectations will accommodate even the most critical tourist. The location is very close to the main square, many excellent restaurants and the Jewish district. The hotel arranged for airport pickup and drop-off.

Room Tip: We were happy with our two rooms(deluxe).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Lyn C,

Thank you for posting such a pleasant review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased that our facilities have exceeded your expectations and we are grateful that you have taken the time to share your kind comments with us. We are delighted also to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast.
Thank you once again for staying with us in Prague and we hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Hotel, and agreed with all the other reviews. This hotel is very good, warm and comfortable. The staff make the whole experience worthwhile. No matter what role they are in, all the staff are friendly, very professional and provide assistance in any way that they can be of service to you. We highly recommend this Hotel for service, great location to the main sights in Prague and clean and comfortable room. The coffee and cake provided each afternoon at 5pm is a really nice touch too :) Thanks for a lovely stay in Prague.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiesOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear AussiesOS,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.
We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding your experiences with the Maximilian team and we are especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed our coffee and tea evenings!
We truly hope that you had a wonderful time in Prague and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights this week, everything was excellent. Rooms were sizeable, comfortable and quiet.Location fine for walking to most places. Breakfast buffet offered lots of variety and tasted good. Little touches like free tea and cake in the afternoon also appreciated. Finally my girl firms loved having a goldfish in the room! Overall couldn't fault our stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mauegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, General Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mauegt,

I would like to thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the service our team provided you with and that you enjoyed our facilities.
I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Best Regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a quick work gig.
The location is great, about 7 minutes walk from the old town square and 15 minutes walk from the Karl bridge. Although centrally located, it is very quiet. No great view from the rooms.
Modern clean room and very comfortable. The bathroom is more simple and no so pampering, but convenient and functional.
Nice breakfast and very friendly staff.
'Lokal' beer place is just around the corner as well as another famous beer drinking place called 'Beer museum'. A few groceries just next door and plenty of restaurants.
Also shopping area in 10-15 minutes walking distance.
You can even ask for a small fish tank for your room in case you are missing your pet at home.
They also have hotel Josef which is the same ownership accros the corner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Netta S,

Many thanks for sharing your review with us and other readers on TripAdvisor.
It was delightful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Maximilian Hotel and we are glad that you liked so many aspects here. We appreciate your kind comments regarding all the features you liked and we truly hope that during your short work trip you also had time for a little sighseeing.
We hope to see you again whenever you would return to Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,699 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,464 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#12 of 649 in Prague
733 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#26 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing