We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Prague!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #32 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Prague!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I spent and enjoyed 4 days in the Maximilian. Great location, very close to all the sights that you have to see and discover in this beautiful and wonderful city.
The service, the friendly staff, the breakfast and our room were splendid!
What a great find!
Thank you very much!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebipla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear sebipla,

Thank you for taking the time to post your above response on our TripAdvisor page. It is fantastic to hear that you appreciated our central location and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We are also very grateful for your kind comments regarding the service that the team provided you with during your stay. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Prague and that we will welcome you back to Maximilian Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,644
    467
    45
    16
    4
See reviews for
329
1,108
132
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice room, comfortable lounge with honor bar, ample breakfast with American scrambled eggs, close to the Old Town and very helpful staff. Harriet was particularly helpful. They provided a car back to the airport and would have arranged transport to the hotel - but we were unaware this was an option.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank build259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear build259,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments on our TripAdvisor page. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding our facilities, location and breakfast and it is a pleasure to hear that the hotel transport was convenient and useful for you. Furthermore, we would also like to thank you for your encouraging feedback regarding the service that the team provided you with. I was also extremely pleased to hear that I was of great assistance during your stay. We sincerely hope that you enjoyed your stay with us in Prague and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I enjoyed 4 nights at the Hotel Maximilian. The location is terrrific as is the customer service. Everyone we encountered, who worked there, was super friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, and very clean. We loved the coffee maker in the room. We also appreciated the wine glasses (not plastic) in our room when we wanted a glass of wine. The breakfast buffet was amazing. The number of food choices was awesome. From different coffee and bread options to fruits, yogurts, cheeses and juices. We truly loved our stay and can't thank the staff enough for all they did to make us feel at home!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaxterPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear BaxterPortland,

Thank you very much for your above response regarding your recent stay at Maximilian Hotel. It has been a pleasure to see how much you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, including the breakfast and facilities within the room. Moreover, it is especially encouraging to hear your positive feedback regarding the team and we are pleased that you were satisfied with the standards of service. We sincerely hope you had a fantastic time in Prague and we look forward to seeing you again!

Best Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We are getting ready to check out if this fantastic hotel, but I don't want to leave without posting a glowing review. Everything about the Maximilian Hotel is wonderful. The location, a quiet street that's only a short walk to the Old Town Square, cannot be beat. Our room was in the Red House, and although we were on the first floor, we were never bothered by noise. The ultra-modern decor in the entire hotel is relaxing and a nice contrast to the city outside. Rooms are of a good size and nicely equipped. Breakfast is served in a large tastefully decorated room bathed in natural light. The breakfast spread is fantastic with a large buffet plus a delightful menu of cooked to order selections.

But as wonderful as this is, nothing can top the level of service given to the hotel guests. Shortly after we checked in, a lovely little tank with a goldfish was delivered to our room. The staff is always pleasant and ready to answer any question. We got terrific recommendations for dinner restaurants that were just a stone's throw from the Maximilian.

Unfortunately, I arrived in Prague with a very uncomfortable gastrointestinal problem, but lucky for me, the staff was wonderful. Not only was I given excellent advice in obtaining medical care, there was even an offer to be available to translate if needed! (No translation was necessary as almost everyone speaks at least some English.) One very nice young man even brought two bananas to my room! I am a seasoned traveler, and I have NEVER experienced this level of care!

A friend of mine recommended the Maximilian, and I have already passed that recommendation along to other friends. This hotel is a gem!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Spartantartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Spartantartan,

Please allow us to thank you for leaving this really nice review on our TripAdvisor page. It was lovely to read that you liked the Maximilian so much that you wrote your recommendation even before your departure from here.
We were pleased to hear your positive comments regarding all the features you were satisfied with, such as our design, our breakfast selection and that upon request we also provide our guests with a pet goldfish for their stay with us.
It is especially wonderful to know that you thought the service provided by our staff was outstanding and that you also liked our team's recommendations. We truly hope that you had a fast recovery and a pleasant time in Prague.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Before moving to Prague, I used to stay here and now I use it when available for people who visit me. It's located near a popular bar & restaurant street, only a block away, however, conveniently tucked away in a small plaza where it's silent and beautiful with a small church in front of the Hotel.
Very nice French Restaurant just a few meters away and it's walking distance to most touristic destinations in the city. The staff is always very friendly and professional, which is not always the case in Prague. I specially like their breakfast and everybody who stays there comments the same. The rooms are very clean, well equipped and comparable to most boutique business hotels around the world. Internet is Free which is always a plus. They have a Bar named "Honesty Bar" which many may know which is, no Barman, you just grab and write down your consumption, which at least to me, gives me a good feeling. I know it's a calculated business strategy, but a good one. :) Price per quality/location/service is one of the best in Prague.

Room Tip: If they have the rooms looking towards the church, would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jun O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Jun O,

We would like to thank you for providing us with your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel. It is our great pleasure to know that you used to stay with us before moving to Prague and thank you also for recommending our hotel to your visitors.
Your nice comments made our entire team really happy and we are glad that you have good memories of your previous stays with us.
We look forward to meeting you again!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
155 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were disappointed upon arrival that because of an electric storm our room wasn't available. We were moved to a sister hotel within walking distance for one evening. We did spend 3 nights at the Maximillian Hotel and we were comfortable in our quiet, clean room. There was a conference going on during our stay which meant the honor bar was not available to us one evening.
Management went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Special thanks to Egow Hampl.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanSpruceHeadMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear JanSpruceHeadMaine,

We would like to thank you for providing us with your positive feedback regarding your stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It was our great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our facilities and also that despite the small problem in the beginning you had a pleasant and enjoyable time here.
Egon was really happy to hear your wonderful feedback and he sends his best regards to you.
We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandeville, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The staff was fluent in English and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The room was neat, clean, and modern. Very close to Old Town Square. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room in the "Red House" overlooked an interior courtyard, which is currently being wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Anna S,

Thank you so much for your lovely recommendation on our TripAdvisor page. We were delighted to read that you liked the Maximilian Hotel and we appreciate your kind comments regarding your positive experiences during your stay here.
We would also like to thank you for bringing to our attention the issue about the noise from our courtyard reconstruction. We hope that this did not affect your stay in a negative way, and we would like to kindly note that the reconstruction work has been finished.
We look forward to seeing you here again!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#33 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing