We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #28 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in Prague at the Maximilian hotel in the middle of July 2014 and stayed for for 3 nights. We booked Superior room thru their web site, and got one on the second floor (actually on the first floor, because the reception is at -1). There was a complementary bottle of Champagne waiting in our room from the staff, with a congratulations note- very nice gesture! The room was great size, clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The reception staff gladly helped us with restaurant bookings and other things. Location of the hotel is just perfect, if You are interested in exploring Old Town. Walking distance to everything. Breakfast was included in the rate, and was good. Only slight drawback was the air condition that did not cool the room properly. But i guess that +33c outside temperature had something to do with it (we did actually not mention this to the hotel, since it's no biggie, so maybe it was only our room 212) On our departure we discovered that our car windshield was washed, another nice gesture! If we return to Prag, we will definitely stay at Maximilian again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PekStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Pekka S,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Maximilian Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you appreciated the small surprise that was prepared for your wedding anniversary celebration and we would like to congratulate you once more! Furthermore, it was fantastic to read that you also enjoyed the central location of the hotel, breakfast facilities and assistance provided by the reception. It was also especially pleasing to read that you appreciated the fact that your windshield was cleaned. We would also like to take the opportunity to address and apologise for the issue that you had with the air conditioning during your stay. We wish that you had informed our reception as we would have done our best to ensure that the temperature was cooler to make it more comfortable in the room. Once again, we would like to thank you for choosing Maximilian for your visit to Prague and we hope that we will welcome you back in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,711
    483
    47
    16
    4
See reviews for
345
1,160
135
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We just came back from our first visit to Prague. Our hotel was wonderfully located (center of town), with walking distance to sights and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and efficient (front staff and breakfast staff).

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivetfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Olivetfr,

Thank you very much for posting the above review on our TripAdvisor page and also for choosing Maximilian Hotel for your stay in Prague! It was an absolute pleasure to read your kind feedback regarding our central location and the team. We hope that you enjoyed your first visit to Prague and we hope we will see you again!

Best Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We selected this hotel for our four day visit to Prague based on the positive trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed! Location, value, and service were all superb. Breakfast was included in our room charge and it was the best we've encountered in Europe.
We will stay here every time we come to Prague.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear George T,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your warm comments regarding your recent stay at Maximilian Hotel. It was a delight to read that you thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast facilities and that our central location was most convenient. We hope that you had a fantastic visit to Prague and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I like to get the important question out of the way before I get into the details. So yes if you are looking for a hotel that is very clean and friendly with a great location and super staff and brilliant breakfast buffet, then you should stay here.
Is it luxury? No
But it makes your trip memorable in many other ways.
For example, you are greeted with a smile and everyone speaks english. That really helps.
They are happy to help and will take time to explain things to you again and again.
There are delicious cookies in the reception and free tea/coffee and cake from 5 to 6 pm
Also if you are missing your pet, they will send up a Goldfish? Really? Really.
We called for one and we fell in love with her.
It is a 5-6 minute walk from the old town square and 10 minutes from Wenceslas.
Just two minutes from the hotel is a lovely bakery called The Bake Shop and a very cool and affordable Czech food place called Lokal.
Both within two minutes of this hotel.
Our trip to prague was that much more fun because of the place that Maximilian is.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good windows. At first we got a room with an attic sort of a window and that did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kainaz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear kainaz22,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your kind and detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at Maximilian Hotel. It was truly a pleasure to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, including our breakfast buffet, location and coffee and tea evenings. Moreover, we were also thrilled to read that you enjoyed the company of your goldfish and that the team were able to make your stay in Prague memorable. We truly hope that we will welcome you back again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a four night stay at the Maximilian Hotel, Prague. This hotel has the convenience of being less than a five minute walk from the centre of the Old Town with a great choice or restaurants yet situated in a quiet residential area.

The staff are extremely friendly, courteous and eager for you to enjoy your stay. They have some great tips on places to go and some great local and international restaurants. Every time you pass in or out of the hotel, you received such a warn and heartfelt greeting.

We requested a room on the sixth floor but to be honest, every room looked to be of the same high standard. Our room was spacious, nicely designed and the bed was extremely comfortable and well serviced throughout our stay.

We were celebrating a special birthday and the unexpected generosity of the hotel was a delightful surprise when we landed into our room on the first day of our trip. While the hotel, its fantastic hot and cold buffet were excellent, all 5 star; it's the staff, from reservations, reception, waiting and room service, are the most customer friendly I have ever experienced.

Do not look beyond Maximilian for a luxury yet affordable stay in Prague, we certainly won't.

Room Tip: We were in the Red House on the sixth floor. Room was spacious, bed extremely comfortable and excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear PhilipTipp,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a detailed and wonderful review on our TripAdvisor page. It was truly a pleasure to read your fantastic comments regarding our room and breakfast facilities and it is also great that you were able to use our central location to the fullest! Furthermore, it was especially pleasing to read that the whole team were most accommodating and exceeded your expectations during your stay! We truly hope that you had a fantastic birthday in Prague and we look forward to welcoming you back to Maximilian Hotel!

Warm Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and I would strongly recommend the hotel. The location is fantastic. Very close to the old town square and yet in a quiet area. The room though not big is spacious. Try to get a room with a big window. We got one on the first floor and that made all the difference. The bathroom is large in comparison to the room and neat and clean. The staff is very helpful and conversant with English. I loved the breakfast spread. They give you a goldfish if you are missing your pet which is a sweet gesture. The wifi is very good and there is a business centre too. Most places of interest are within walking distance. We felt quite at home after 7 days here

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalyan-finelychopped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Kalyan-finelychopped,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel!
We loved to read your positive comments about the features of our hotel you were satisfied with and we are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

loved our stay at the maximilian. concierge desk so helpful with wonderful restaurant suggestions and general service. outstanding breakfast. comfortable and clean rooms. great location for sightseeing! highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear julie f,

We would like to thank you for recommending us on our TripAdvisor page as well as for sharing your experience about the Maximilian Hotel.
It is our greatest pleasure to hear that you loved staying here and we would be happy to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,667 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,451 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, MyHotelShop, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing