We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a delightful hotel”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #25 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed at the Maximilian 3 years ago when in Prague on business and loved it. So when my husband and I had to return for an 8-day business trip in August, I booked us in again. Very happy that I did! The hotel was even better this time around, impeccably clean, charming, thoughtfully-designed rooms and amenities, comfortable beds, flatscreen tv, excellent & ample breakfast and fast wifi - all at a very reasonable price in a beautiful location. If you visit Prague in summer, you want air-conditioning, and Maximilian offers it. Wifi was reliable, fast and free. They also have two computers in a common area for guests to use, with a printer - great for printing out boarding passes before departure. There's a small spa in the basement offering a variety of massages (we didn't use it, so can't comment). The hotel has beautiful goldfish in lovely aquariums that can be put in your room upon request - a lovely, quirky touch to have your own little pet for the duration of your stay (which is fed & cared for daily by the maid who services your room). The hotel staff are charming, responsive, friendly and efficient, only too happy to make recommendations, provide directions, help you in any way. This is not something one can take for granted in Prague! Whoever trains the staff of international young adults for this hotel is to be highly commended, they are to a person wonderful. The breakfast included with room rate is lavish, fresh, delicious. Eggs (made to order if you prefer), ham, bacon, fresh fruits, meusli, assortment of breads and pastries, cheeses, yogurts, cereal all on a big buffet. And they serve breakfast until 11:00 - so those with jet lag can sleep in and still have breakfast... which was usually enough to last us through lunchtime, too. The honor bar is open all day and into the evening with help-yourself-and-write-it-in-the-book drinks and snacks. There are free cookies, apples and flavor-infused waters available in the lobby all day.
Since we would be staying there for over a week, we paid just a little bit extra and upgraded to a Superior Deluxe Double which gave us tons of room (sofa plus large chair) and two tall windows flooding the room with light. The shower had good water pressure, and I was pleased at the quality of the hair-dryer and the length of the cord (having just spent a week in Paris where the cord of the hairdryer attached to the wall wasn't long enough to be able to look in the mirror while blow-drying).
The Maximilian is located in a quiet square across from a lovely church in the Old Town on the edge of the atmospheric old Jewish quarter, close to all the tourist highlights in Prague, 5 minutes' walk from Old Town Square & its famous astrological clock, 10 minutes walk to the Charles Bridge.
If I had to find some small imperfection, it would be that the elevator can take a bit of time coming, especially at popular check-out times - so just give yourself a minute or two extra. At least this elevator is big enough for several people, and luggage too!
Having stayed at several of the international chain hotels in Prague over the past decade of annual business trips there, I am happy to have found my true "Prague home" and can't imagine staying anywhere else. Luxury, friendly service, comfort, convenience, pet goldfish, fast wifi and great breakfast at a reasonable price - why would anyone go elsewhere?

Room Tip: Pay just a little more for the extra space in the Superior Deluxe Doubles
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sailgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear sailgirl,

We were delighted to read your really nice and detailed review about your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel on our TripAdvisor page. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and other readers! It is especially lovely to know that we had the pleasure to have you staying with us for the second time in Prague.
We are pleased to hear that you liked so many features and appreciated many aspects here, such as your room, our breakfast, location, the assistance of our team and we would also like to thank you for your honest feedback about our elevators.
It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back for the third time at the Maximilian Hotel!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,379)
There are newer reviews for Maximilian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 2,380 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

I liked this hotel despite few minor details. Location is near our favourite spots in Prague. And it's quiet here, even if you choose to sleep with open windows. We had room at the sixth floor. Modern and spacious, nice bathroom, tiny TV (not that I missed TV watching).
Towels and carpets should be changed if the hotels wants to keep the fifth star.
Breakfast similar to the one we've got in Josef Hotel - but unforunately not as good.
Receptionist, waiters - probably the nicest and most helpful based on my experience with hotels bring this hotel back to the fifth star, and beyond.
ZEN spa - very good massage for reasonable price. Lovely spa area.
No training facilities as I could see, but few novelties like "borrow a pet" that you can have in your room (gold fish) and "honesty bar" where you can help yourself to drinks, and pay honestly by check out.
Perfect place to stay for weekend, but maybe not so perfect if you wish to celebrate special occasion, or feel spoiled.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank THREOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear THREOslo,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your positive and detailed feedback on our TripAdvisor page!
It was delightful to hear that you appreciated so many features of our hotel and also that you enjoyed our facilities.
Thank you also for your comments about our carpets and towels - we are currently working on these issues in order to be be able to provide a better experience and keep up the standard of our property.
We hope to see you again for a future stay with us!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in August 2014 and had two rooms on the 5th floor facing the rear. Quiet, great beds, modern design, very attentive staff and a great breakfast. We felt very welcome. Thanks again !

Room Tip: top floor facing the rear
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Oliver W,

Thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor! We were so happy to read that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to seeing you here again!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel, great location, only 5 minutes away from Old Town Square. The breakfast was excellent each morning - having since stayed at a much bigger 4* hotel in Prague for work, I realise how good it was. Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were well maintained and clean. The hotel had a few little touches that made a big difference, such as the weather forecast at breakfast, goldfish, flavoured water, the honesty bar...the list goes on. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Trish1088,

Many thanks for sharing your review with us and other readers on TripAdvisor! We are so happy to know that you appreciated the little touches and liked so many aspects of your stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We hope to see you again in Prague!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The staff at this hotel were really pleasant and helpful. The location is great - just 5 minutes walk from the Astronomical Clock, Town Square etc. Breakfast was superb. WiFi was free and worked well. I parked overnight on the street outside with no trouble, although I'm not sure you're supposed to do that. Room was spacious and modern. Everything worked well, including the AC. Price was reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribbean7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Caribbean7,

We were delighted to read your positive comments about your stay at the Maximilian Hotel - thank you for leaving your review on our TripAdvisor page.
It would be lovely to have you staying with us again!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Maximilian Hotel in Prague. I would highly recommend it. The room was well appointed and modern, with free WIFI and an espresso machine in the room. The sound insulation in the rooms is excellent, so we had a great nights sleep. The free breakfast is quite nice with a wide variety of options. What stood out the most, was the excellent customer service. From the moment we booked the reservations, they were in contact to see if we needed help with anything. That deep customer approach continued through our entire visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Paul M,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our TripAdvisor page about your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel!
We truly appreciate your wonderful comments about the service our team provided you with and also about other aspects you were satisfied with.
We are glad to know that you had a pleasant time in Prague and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our stay at the Maximilian exceeded all superlatives. It started with a request for an early check-in, which we made a few days beforehand. As expected, we arrived at noon, and they cheerfully checked us directly our beautiful room without any delay whatsoever. The room was well-appointed, roomy (we got the 2nd level of room), and very elegant. They'd even provided a US/European plug converter in case it was needed. The room was quiet, well air-conditioned (and it is needed in June), and we took a nap since we'd left our previous location quite early. When we left for the afternoon, we saw a little sign asking if we wanted a goldfish, and so we said yes, and when we returned their was a beautiful aquarium with a large goldfish! In the afternoon, there was a lovely reception with coffee and cake, and a gentleman in the staff (sorry, can't think of his name!) was quite personable and really tried to get to know us. The next morning we discovered the absolutely incredible breakfast (included). Not only did it have all the standard buffet items, but they also offered tapa-sized made-to-order specialty items which were wonderful (e.g, special french toast, breakfast crepes, etc). Continuing with the royal treatment, I asked it there was a laundromat nearby, and was directed to one just around the corner. Unfortunately, the owner only spoke Czech, and I had some special instructions, so I asked the front desk if they would write out a small translation for me. This same gentleman on the staff instead offered to come with me and translate directly! And, last but not least, the hotel offered a "group-run" of about 5K one morning which I signed up for and enjoyed tremendously. The girl taking me on the run was the same one who had arranged the early check-in, so it seemed to be completion of the full-circle royal treatment. So if you haven't figured it out yet, I HEARTILY recommend that you stay at the Maximilian!!

Room Tip: We did enjoy getting the one step up for an extra 10 Euro, which has a couch and a sitting area.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GreeceStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear GreeceStars,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback about your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel. It is delightful to know that we could meet and exceed your expectations and we are proud that we managed to contribute to a memorable time in Prague.
Thank you also for mentioning all the aspects you were satisfied with, such as the possibility to check in earlier and the other little touches we add to our guests' stay to ensure a pleasant and enjoyable time in Prague.
We hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 648 in Prague
1,306 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 648 in Prague
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 648 in Prague
2,486 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 648 in Prague
1,143 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 648 in Prague
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#23 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £91 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing