We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and ambiance”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #28 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location and ambiance”
Reviewed 6 December 2008

My criteria for a great hotel - location, non smoking, comfortable bed, soft sheets and pillowcases, clean rooms and bathroom, quiet, helpful and polite staff. The Max filled all my wishes. We loved the location, a couple of short blocks to the city center, the jewish center, the metro. We were on a non-smoking floor, very quiet. The bathrooms were lovely, really appreciated the radiator in the bathroom - good for drying undies and socks and kept the bathroom warm while we slept in a very cool room. Loved the beds, especially the very luxurious duvet cover and pillow cases. The breakfast was as described by others-choice of expresso, cappachino or coffee - all were very good. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We used the hotel driver a few times and really appreciated his help at the train station. He parked the car and took us to the correct window to buy tickets and made sure we got the right train. We stayed there twice and wouldn't hesitate recommending. I would stay there again if I returned to Prague



We found several good eats in the area - ra

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SuzanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,690
    479
    46
    16
    4
See reviews for
342
1,144
133
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Stayed at the Maximilian Hotel in October in Prague. Location wasn't bad. In the really close vicinity there aren't many sites but you can walk to the main shopping street Parizska where you can find high end shops and Cremeria Milano - hailed as the best gelato in Prague (and it was very yummy). Other sites like Old Town take a bit of a walk and the closest bus stop is probably a 10 min walk as well.

Overall the hotel was clean and neat with a nice lobby and staff were pleasant enough. However overall found service in Prague to be not great. When to an Italian restaurant Aromi - which was Italian food - it was alright - we ordered a fish baked in salt (one of their specials that night) and ended up eating a lot of sea salt chunks that were still stuck to the fish. Also ate at Kolkovny close to the hotel. This is a chain store with just awful service. They turned away many customers and had many empty tables. Saw this in action as we were waiting 40 minutes for takeout food (which was grudgingly done) and were yelled at when trying to ask for a menu and then order by a waiter who said 'can't you see I'm busy?" So definitely no to that restaurant! Food wasn't even that great and we ordered traditional Czech specials off the menu.

Definitely don't miss Prague Castle and just below the castle at Hotel Neruda is yummy hot chocolate - touted the best in Prague (although service was still less than desirable). Perhaps it was just a statement of the city though. Overall it's a beautiful city and the hotel was definitely up to par in terms of modern styling and design. Upside to being a little bit of a walk is that it's a quieter area. probably would have enjoyed the walk more if it wasn't so cold when we were there.

  • Liked — Modern styling and new accommodations
  • Disliked — Thought it would be more central and it wasn't
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayde88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2008

Had the hotel car meet me at airport. Lucas was the driver. CUTE, and very fast driver. He will get you where you need to go! Price was fair for car. I recommend that. They can put it on your hotel bill. Room was large and modern. Linens nice. Bed comfy. Had triple room. Was large. Bathroom was perfect. Great shower and toiletries. Lots of shelves in room for storage. Reading room was nice to hang out in. Honesty bar was perfect--loved comp coffee and tea, and nice room to sit by fireplace. Breakfast was excellent and the hours were nice so you did not have to get up too early. Great selection of food. Took the walking tour recommended by hotel. It was excellent. Fantastic location. Can walk to everything. I would definately stay here again if I was going to Prague.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Danni0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

Awesome. Polite and stylish staff meet you with a smil at check in and it just gets better from there.

Complimentary espresso bar and "honor bar" for drinks in the lobby.


Room was large, quiet and got fully dark with big heavy shades to draw.

Location perfect.

Was seriously surprised it was as good as it was for the price we paid.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank dergondarkhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 2 nights in November. The staff were great, young, friendly and professional with helpful suggestions, and they also looked after tour and airport shuttle bookings, kept our luggage when we arrived early and left late in the day, and changed our room when a better option became available through other guests leaving early.
The hotel is 5 mins walk to the Old Town Square, but the location is quiet, with a few nice bakeries to tempt you on the stroll back!
The decor is modern (maybe with the exception of the bathroom - a wee bit dated but still absolutely fine), bathrobes, slippers, mini bar, flat screen TV, DVD player, tea/coffee making facilities, really comfy bed and big windows. DVD library and 'honesty bar' in hotel, including free tea and coffee. No restuarant but youre more likely to go out and see prague anyway. Great breakfasts - and till 12.30! at the weekend.Thai massage place downstairs, but didnt have time to try it.
Good quality hotel without the pomp of some posh hotels. Perfect balance for a really relaxing stay. Look out for a deal, we paid 93 per room per night for a double room, It was well worth it. Lovely hotel all around. Will definitely go back.

  • Liked — The bed.
  • Disliked — Cant think of anything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bos78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Prague at the Hotel Maximilian.

We had a fantastic time Prague itself is a beautiful city and the Hotel Maximilian was excellent. Rooms were very spacious clean and modern, even with expresso coffee machine, flat screen tv, dvd player, robe, slippers and lovely toiletries supplied by the White Company. The breakfast was very tasty, plenty of choice and at weekends the restaurant doesn't close until 1230.

The staff were very helpful with information on Prague and also reconfirmed our return taxi for us.

We found some lovely places to eat out in the evenings and i would thoroughly recommend the restaurants actually in the Old Town Square although a little more pricey than others the location and atmosphere are great..make sure you try the Czech goulash with dumplings and the roast knee of Pork followed by Apple Strudel. Delicious!

Would definitely return to Prague and the Hotel Maximilian!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GlozzieLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Finding the right hotel is key to having a great break, and this hotel proved to be an outstanding gem amongst the many available in Prague.

From the genuinely friendly and efficient transfer provided directly from the airport, to the quality and comfort of the rooms and very generous breakfast, this hotel cannot be faulted.

The location is ideal for all the city's main attractions and there are a number of restaurants very nearby. These are a treat, ranging in style and expense, local to international cuisine. Word of advice: keep an eye on the prices as they vary wildly - and some accept only cash...!

Our room was a good size, very quiet, unusually designed with glass walls to the bathroom (privacy maintained with coloured panels...however!), a Nespresso coffee machine and immense comfy bed.

The library, lounge with fire and honesty bar with complimentary tea, coffee and occasional treats was a welcome bonus too. And once again, these facilities were quiet - we barely had to share with anyone else!

The staff was ideal; there and friendly when required but otherwise melting into the background. Good English spoken by almost all.

Outstanding, good value, near perfect.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank See_Jaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing