We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Maximillian.............again”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #27 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2008

Our 4th trip to Prague [we usually get away for a few days every couple of years here] and our second to the Maximillian, and cannot fault the hotel at all.

We used to treat ourselves to high end 5* hotels in Prague, but after our last stay here following a recommendation, knew we would book here again. Got a deal through hotelconnect.co.uk for a 4 night stay for price of 3. Stayed in the Red house this time to the rear of the hotel, so no view of any note, but in all honesty - when in Prague you sight see and enjoy the bars, restaurants and atmosphere.

Staff friendly, helpful on arrival as to be expected.

Breakfast room is low key offering variety of cereals, cold buffet [hams, meats, pastries and more] and a hot buffet offers scrambled eggs, crispy bacon, sausages, mushrooms and more. Omelettes or eggs cooked to order.

The Maximillian is a superb location, a 5 min walk to the north east side of Old Town Square to the eastern edge of the Jewish quarter. Quiet on a night with little passing vehicular or pedestrian traffic.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby, notably Kolkovna [part of Pilsner Urquell group of 5 Prague restaurants offering czech cuisine - ALWAYS busy] being just west of the hotel, Chez Marcelle [french bistro style], Orange Moon [an excellent Thai] one street west plus plenty of others.

The Christmas markets were in full swing having started the week before our stay [3-7/12] and only the Friday was really busy for the St Nicholas festivites [locals come out in force with children for angels and devils to ask the children if they've been good]. A good atmosphere though with all nationalities around.

Did some of the usual sightseeing even though we have really seen it all before - still great sights throughout Prague though and you can help but admire some of the gothic architecture.

In terms of restaurants, we ate during the evenings at
Kolkovna - good typical Bohemian food at good prices.
Orange Moon - was excellent, great service and food.
Cowboys - despite the poor reviews on TA, we found it excellent - Fillet Mignon in peppercorn crust was superb. Not the cheapest but we thoroughly enjoyed it. Waiter very friendly and made the night even more enjoyable!
Starometska Restaurant - probably one of the best on the Old Town Square itself. Variety of choice on the menu, reasonable price for the location, friendly staff.

Worth a mention for lunchtime offerings are;-
Cremaria Milano, Parizka - excellent ice cream, the caffe was superb!
Gourmand - Dlouha [approaching old town square] - excellent cafe bar/ patisserie/ boulangerie - great range of sandwiches, deli range, great coffees and even better cakes.

Alot of people say they've seen Prague and wouldnt go back, we love it and find something different every time. What we have noticed is its becoming more and more upmarket. A little sad to see Parizka becoming overloaded with more and more high end designer stores, even though we do like designer clothing - its forcing independent local stores to close.

Overall, an excellent trip, enjoyed relaxing and enjoying Prague during the lead upto Christmas again. Will definitely return to the Maximillian.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Northern74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,856 - 1,862 of 2,543 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2008

My criteria for a great hotel - location, non smoking, comfortable bed, soft sheets and pillowcases, clean rooms and bathroom, quiet, helpful and polite staff. The Max filled all my wishes. We loved the location, a couple of short blocks to the city center, the jewish center, the metro. We were on a non-smoking floor, very quiet. The bathrooms were lovely, really appreciated the radiator in the bathroom - good for drying undies and socks and kept the bathroom warm while we slept in a very cool room. Loved the beds, especially the very luxurious duvet cover and pillow cases. The breakfast was as described by others-choice of expresso, cappachino or coffee - all were very good. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We used the hotel driver a few times and really appreciated his help at the train station. He parked the car and took us to the correct window to buy tickets and made sure we got the right train. We stayed there twice and wouldn't hesitate recommending. I would stay there again if I returned to Prague



We found several good eats in the area - ra

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SuzanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Stayed at the Maximilian Hotel in October in Prague. Location wasn't bad. In the really close vicinity there aren't many sites but you can walk to the main shopping street Parizska where you can find high end shops and Cremeria Milano - hailed as the best gelato in Prague (and it was very yummy). Other sites like Old Town take a bit of a walk and the closest bus stop is probably a 10 min walk as well.

Overall the hotel was clean and neat with a nice lobby and staff were pleasant enough. However overall found service in Prague to be not great. When to an Italian restaurant Aromi - which was Italian food - it was alright - we ordered a fish baked in salt (one of their specials that night) and ended up eating a lot of sea salt chunks that were still stuck to the fish. Also ate at Kolkovny close to the hotel. This is a chain store with just awful service. They turned away many customers and had many empty tables. Saw this in action as we were waiting 40 minutes for takeout food (which was grudgingly done) and were yelled at when trying to ask for a menu and then order by a waiter who said 'can't you see I'm busy?" So definitely no to that restaurant! Food wasn't even that great and we ordered traditional Czech specials off the menu.

Definitely don't miss Prague Castle and just below the castle at Hotel Neruda is yummy hot chocolate - touted the best in Prague (although service was still less than desirable). Perhaps it was just a statement of the city though. Overall it's a beautiful city and the hotel was definitely up to par in terms of modern styling and design. Upside to being a little bit of a walk is that it's a quieter area. probably would have enjoyed the walk more if it wasn't so cold when we were there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayde88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2008

Had the hotel car meet me at airport. Lucas was the driver. CUTE, and very fast driver. He will get you where you need to go! Price was fair for car. I recommend that. They can put it on your hotel bill. Room was large and modern. Linens nice. Bed comfy. Had triple room. Was large. Bathroom was perfect. Great shower and toiletries. Lots of shelves in room for storage. Reading room was nice to hang out in. Honesty bar was perfect--loved comp coffee and tea, and nice room to sit by fireplace. Breakfast was excellent and the hours were nice so you did not have to get up too early. Great selection of food. Took the walking tour recommended by hotel. It was excellent. Fantastic location. Can walk to everything. I would definately stay here again if I was going to Prague.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Danni0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

Awesome. Polite and stylish staff meet you with a smil at check in and it just gets better from there.

Complimentary espresso bar and "honor bar" for drinks in the lobby.


Room was large, quiet and got fully dark with big heavy shades to draw.

Location perfect.

Was seriously surprised it was as good as it was for the price we paid.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank dergondarkhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 2 nights in November. The staff were great, young, friendly and professional with helpful suggestions, and they also looked after tour and airport shuttle bookings, kept our luggage when we arrived early and left late in the day, and changed our room when a better option became available through other guests leaving early.
The hotel is 5 mins walk to the Old Town Square, but the location is quiet, with a few nice bakeries to tempt you on the stroll back!
The decor is modern (maybe with the exception of the bathroom - a wee bit dated but still absolutely fine), bathrobes, slippers, mini bar, flat screen TV, DVD player, tea/coffee making facilities, really comfy bed and big windows. DVD library and 'honesty bar' in hotel, including free tea and coffee. No restuarant but youre more likely to go out and see prague anyway. Great breakfasts - and till 12.30! at the weekend.Thai massage place downstairs, but didnt have time to try it.
Good quality hotel without the pomp of some posh hotels. Perfect balance for a really relaxing stay. Look out for a deal, we paid 93 per room per night for a double room, It was well worth it. Lovely hotel all around. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bos78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Prague at the Hotel Maximilian.

We had a fantastic time Prague itself is a beautiful city and the Hotel Maximilian was excellent. Rooms were very spacious clean and modern, even with expresso coffee machine, flat screen tv, dvd player, robe, slippers and lovely toiletries supplied by the White Company. The breakfast was very tasty, plenty of choice and at weekends the restaurant doesn't close until 1230.

The staff were very helpful with information on Prague and also reconfirmed our return taxi for us.

We found some lovely places to eat out in the evenings and i would thoroughly recommend the restaurants actually in the Old Town Square although a little more pricey than others the location and atmosphere are great..make sure you try the Czech goulash with dumplings and the roast knee of Pork followed by Apple Strudel. Delicious!

Would definitely return to Prague and the Hotel Maximilian!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GlozzieLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Staré Město (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#26 of 646 in Prague
1,734 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Město (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 646 in Prague
783 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#7 of 646 in Prague
1,802 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#14 of 646 in Prague
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#15 Family Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £75 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing